We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Moroccan experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Marhaba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dar Marhaba to your Saves list
Dar Marhaba
#110 derb Moulay Abdelkader derb Dabachi, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #533 of 1,071 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Authentic Moroccan experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Excellent location in the heart of the medina, with staff helpful in guiding guests towards the location (as it is almost impossible when you first come). Nice rooms and an amazing terrace. There is a mosque quite nearby, so we were woken up at 4.30 am, but manageable as we only spent 2 nights there. Breakfast was poor and morning staff not really involved in their work. But the hotel offers authentic Moroccan furnishings and is really authentic place and spending some relaxing time away from the crowds is really worth a stay there.

Room Tip: The 4 people bedroom on the 2nd floor features an amazing terrace (only a bit far for wifi access, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

All staff were very welcoming and this place is very central. However most of male staff smoke, which makes it impossible to stay here with children as cigarette smoke wafts to all the rooms. We also did not have air conditioning remote control on a very hot night. We asked for the remote control but they only could provide it for the following day. Mosque is very nearby, so expect to be woken at 5am. Breakfast was average, with less selection than in other places.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I stayed at the Dar Marhaba Riad in Marrakech for two nights in february 2014. The riad is located very close to the central square and the market. It is a little confusing to find initially as the streets are narrow and crowded. They offer to pick you from the central square and if it is your first time in Marrakech i would recommend using this service. Once you get to the riad you will be amazed at its location. The rooms are nice and staff very helpful. Totally worth the money. Internet is not too great however this seems to be the general situation in marrakech. All in all.. superb experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

After wandering around alley ways, we finally found what looked to be a hidden gem. We arrive just after check-in time and waited about 10 mins at the door, continually knocking. We believe the host to be asleep. After getting in she let us know that she had people just leave and would have to make over the room to be ready for us. We had no problem waiting. But the lady went into the room that she had showed me (the beds had obviously been slept in and the room well used). She went in to clean - didn't take any new sheets with her or towels. After a while she came out empty handed (no dirty sheets in hand) and said it was all ready. I am not sure what sort of hostel or house thinks it is okay to reuse sheets that other people have slept on, but this one has no problem trying to pass this off as clean... After this whole ordeal was figured out - we came into our room a couple days later and the woman had packed up our bags. We were living out of suitcases and backpacks so we had our stuff around the room, but when we came back our bags were packed, our things all mixed up, and felt very weird having someone else go through out belongings. While the staff were friendly enough, it wasn't a place where we could trust the two employees or the place as a whole after these two very odd and disgusting occurrences. The only good things, if you could overlook the above, were the terrace and the location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Not easy to find in the first time as It is located in the alley. Once you find it, it is easy to access. It is near most of attractions. However, we were followed by a group of teengers who played in the alley. They said something bad to us. Not recommend for female travellers.


We booked a twin bed room which is located in the ground floor. The facility is very basic but as long as it clean, I will be ok. However, at night, my friend found a small cockroach on her bed. And next monring, I found a big cockroah "walking out" from toiet to the room. It is horrible.

When we complaint to the staff and asked for changing to another room. The staff was busy to take picture with other travellers. I waited for 10 mins and told them I would not stay here anymore. Then they called to their boss (i guess) and finally changed the room for us.

Room Tip: Find a B&B near main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I dont recommend staying at a riad inside the Medina in Marrakesh and Fes. You can have this important experience in smaller towns like Chefchaouen in a less stressful way. Said that, if you are sure about staying inside the chaos, this riad is a reasonable one.
It is located very close to the Djeema el Fna square, so you can go there many times a day (and also at night, safely). And in the early morning the taxis can get quite close to the riad, so it is not so difficult to carry the luggage to get a taxi to the airport, for example.
Dont expect a rich in detail decoration, it is very simple.
Sanaa is the manager there, she makes everything at the riad. She cant speek english and I cant speek neither french nor arabic, but she is so friendly that we could understand each other without problems. I would stay there again because of her.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Dar Marhaba is an oasis among the craziness of Marrakech.
We spent our first two nights here, we arrived quite late and had two lovely young men pick us up from the edge of the square, carry our bags and direct us to the room. Instantly, as we walked in, the feeling and the energy of the place was overwhelming and so very welcoming.

We stayed in the Tanger room, it was located on the second floor and was quite warm, therefore I would suggest if its available, to take a room on the ground floor.
The first night we had some noisy other guests stay above us and keep us up all night but this was not a fault of the riads, just a little disappointing.

The breakfast the next morning was absolutely delicious and fresh, we enjoyed very much.
We didnt want to leave the riad and it set quite hight expectations for the following places we were to stay. The only thing I would say that would be slightly negative is that we never saw the Manager until the last day and there was a few things we wanted to talk to him about such as day trips and transport, but other than this, it was a very very enjoyable experience, would most certainly stay there again and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Stay on the ground floor during summer to keep cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Marhaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Marhaba

Address: #110 derb Moulay Abdelkader derb Dabachi, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #533 of 1,071 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Marrakech's medina, just off the Djemaa el Fna square, Dar Marhaba offers an oasis of tranquility. Dar Marhaba offers typical Moroccan comfort as well as professional services. Just let yourself be taken by its charm and you are sure to have a pleasant stay. The riad offers 5 nicely decorated rooms (double and triple rooms, one suite), each with private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Marhaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Marhaba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.