We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sure about staying inside the Medina?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Marhaba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dar Marhaba to your Saves list
Dar Marhaba
#110 derb Moulay Abdelkader derb Dabachi, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #542 of 1,079 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Campinas, SP
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sure about staying inside the Medina?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I dont recommend staying at a riad inside the Medina in Marrakesh and Fes. You can have this important experience in smaller towns like Chefchaouen in a less stressful way. Said that, if you are sure about staying inside the chaos, this riad is a reasonable one.
It is located very close to the Djeema el Fna square, so you can go there many times a day (and also at night, safely). And in the early morning the taxis can get quite close to the riad, so it is not so difficult to carry the luggage to get a taxi to the airport, for example.
Dont expect a rich in detail decoration, it is very simple.
Sanaa is the manager there, she makes everything at the riad. She cant speek english and I cant speek neither french nor arabic, but she is so friendly that we could understand each other without problems. I would stay there again because of her.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Dar Marhaba is an oasis among the craziness of Marrakech.
We spent our first two nights here, we arrived quite late and had two lovely young men pick us up from the edge of the square, carry our bags and direct us to the room. Instantly, as we walked in, the feeling and the energy of the place was overwhelming and so very welcoming.

We stayed in the Tanger room, it was located on the second floor and was quite warm, therefore I would suggest if its available, to take a room on the ground floor.
The first night we had some noisy other guests stay above us and keep us up all night but this was not a fault of the riads, just a little disappointing.

The breakfast the next morning was absolutely delicious and fresh, we enjoyed very much.
We didnt want to leave the riad and it set quite hight expectations for the following places we were to stay. The only thing I would say that would be slightly negative is that we never saw the Manager until the last day and there was a few things we wanted to talk to him about such as day trips and transport, but other than this, it was a very very enjoyable experience, would most certainly stay there again and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Stay on the ground floor during summer to keep cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hungary
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We wanted to stay in the old Medina near the place Jemma el Fnah for two nights and I really think we made a very good choice.
The hotel (or riad) was hidden in a very small street (we couldn't have found it but as we ordered a transfer from the airport we had a person to guide us there).
As the door has opened we found ourselves in a nicely decorated inside garden with our room just on the ground floor so we could use this garden to relax and also for having breakfast.
The place was clean and with authentic moroccan decoration. The staff was also nice and the traditional moroccan breakfast was a delight!
When we became tired on visiting the town, we just came back and had a little rest in the afternoon (or siesta) and then went back to Jemma el Fnah to have dinner.

Room Tip: If you travel in summer try to choose a room on the ground floor it is cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

What a great find this is! Why do people go to Marrakech and not stop in a riad in the medina like this one? It has a great position just off the main Jema el Fna square from where you take one of the narrow bussling streets and after about 100mtrs you turn off into a very quite back street. The front door is a bit like hole in the wall and very authentic and opens out into a lovely quiet courtyard. Facilities were very good and the staff were very helpful. Breakfast was also good - juice/yogurt etc. Like most riads the rooms were decorated in bright tastful colours which added to the sense of authenticity.

A great find.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

very good value: nice, typical, clean, staff always ready to help. Nice breakfast, varied and abundant, with fresh orange juice, yoghurt, pancakes. The location is very convenient, just a few steps from the Jamaa-El-Fnaa square but very quiet and safe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at Dar Marhaba for 4 nights. It is located in the middle of the frantic Medina which makes the peaceful atmosphere of the Riad even more amazing. The rooms are clean and the staff are very helpful and nice. None of us knew any french, but this was not a problem at any time during our stay. We paid to get picked up at the airport, and i wold definitely recommend it. I could imagine that the place would be rather hard to find otherwise since the streets of Medina are very entangled. As some of the other reviewers have noted, you should be prepared to be woken at 6 in the morning due to morning prayer.

Room Tip: The sleep quality is poor due to the morning prayer. However this can be heard throughout Medina, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Fantastically located, couple of minutes from the square and right next to the souks. A haven of peace - seating under the Orange tree in the courtyard. Simply decorated, clean and run by really friendly and helpful staff. Having some French is definetly an advantage.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Marhaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Marhaba

Address: #110 derb Moulay Abdelkader derb Dabachi, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #542 of 1,079 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Marrakech's medina, just off the Djemaa el Fna square, Dar Marhaba offers an oasis of tranquility. Dar Marhaba offers typical Moroccan comfort as well as professional services. Just let yourself be taken by its charm and you are sure to have a pleasant stay. The riad offers 5 nicely decorated rooms (double and triple rooms, one suite), each with private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Marhaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Marhaba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.