We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Marhaba

Save Saved
You added Dar Marhaba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Marhaba
#110 derb Moulay Abdelkader derb Dabachi, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #551 of 1,037 Marrakech B&B and Inns
milano
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“absolutely recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

very good value: nice, typical, clean, staff always ready to help. Nice breakfast, varied and abundant, with fresh orange juice, yoghurt, pancakes. The location is very convenient, just a few steps from the Jamaa-El-Fnaa square but very quiet and safe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Odense, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at Dar Marhaba for 4 nights. It is located in the middle of the frantic Medina which makes the peaceful atmosphere of the Riad even more amazing. The rooms are clean and the staff are very helpful and nice. None of us knew any french, but this was not a problem at any time during our stay. We paid to get picked up at the airport, and i wold definitely recommend it. I could imagine that the place would be rather hard to find otherwise since the streets of Medina are very entangled. As some of the other reviewers have noted, you should be prepared to be woken at 6 in the morning due to morning prayer.

Room Tip: The sleep quality is poor due to the morning prayer. However this can be heard throughout Medina, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Fantastically located, couple of minutes from the square and right next to the souks. A haven of peace - seating under the Orange tree in the courtyard. Simply decorated, clean and run by really friendly and helpful staff. Having some French is definetly an advantage.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

A wonderful Riad, ruled by a very friendly staff.
Clean, comfy, quiet and well located.
Rooms are spacious and very well decorated in moroccan style.
Breakfast prepared by Sanaa in the patio are really pleasant.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

Myself and 4 friends stayed for 4 nights here, and it was great. We received a very warm welcome and the staff that were on site couldn't do enough for us. It would have benefitted us if we had known a little more French but we managed to get by! I would happily return here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espagne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

The Riad was just fantastic. We were welcome very kindly. The fireplace in the rooms was lit when we arrived, we were also offered morrocan tea and we relaxed on the terrace with a nice view to the Medina. The breakfast in the morning on the sunny terrace was delightful. The owners take care of their guests as if they were their relatives. You feel at home being abroad. The place where you stay enhances the good vibrations of your holidays if your are properly pampered. Worth trying it!
We do absolutely recommend this riad.
Mercè from Spain

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

I spent a week in Marrakech, staying at Dar Marhaba, with a friend.

We were on a budget and picked the riad for it's central location and reasonable price.

We stayed in the 1st week of September, which is low season, so the riad was not full, in fact for about half the time we were the only guests. We found the riad to be surprisingly tranquil - the only thing you could here was the sound of the Muezzins making the call to prayer.

Breakfast - every day we were given (black) coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh bread, butter and jam,
then on different days we were given (in addition) croissants, Moroccan pancakes, and 2 different kinds of cakes.


The room was not particularly large - twin beds, plus an additional bed/sofa and one chair - however, as there is also a communal lounge, plus seating in the courtyard and on the roof the size of the room was not a major issue.

We stayed in the 'Essouria' room which is on the ground floor, with door and window into the courtyard. There was no window to the street and so it felt very safe, as well as being quiet!


The room was air-conditioned (no extra charge was made for air conditioning) and had a en suite bathroom with shower (the wardrobe space was also in the bathroom).

The owner is based in France, and is contactable by phone or e-mail. She speaks good English, however, staff at the riad have only a little English so you will find some French an advantage.

In the room which we had (Essouria) the shower has a solid 'wall' which you have to step over to get in and out of the shower, which might be an issue for anyone with mobility problems - (I think the other rooms are different ) the stairs up to the first floor and roof are also fairly steep and narrow.

The room was clean and comfortable although the decoration was looking a little 'tired' in places!

Good Points.

We found Raja and Hassan friendly and helpful, and although we were offered help organising day trips we were not pressured in any way. We opted to have a Tagine cooked to eat in at the riad only once - while more expensive than eating out the meal was very nice and gave us a much needed opportunity to relax !


The riad is less than 5 minutes from the main Djemaa El Fna Square and anything within the medina is in easy walking distance.

Air conditioning was very welcome in the heat, and although we wanted the shower more for cooling down than anything else we found that hot water was reliable both in the morning and evening, and in the middle of the day.

There is a small safe in the room, and you are provided with a key to the external door of the riad as well as to the room, so you can come and go as you wish.

As our flight home was not until the evening we were able to leave out luggage, and continue to use the room until we left for our flight, although this was after normal check out.

Down sides

The riad is down a very small side street so I would strongly advise arranging to be met at the airport! Because of it's location, car or taxi will not take you to the door so do be prepared to carry your baggage for about 10 mins across the Square and to the riad (I would advice contacting the riad ahead of time if this is a problem!)

This is definitely a budget stay - there is no pool (not even a plunge pool) and you will not find a fridge or cooler in the room. Soft drinks and water (and tea and coffee) are available at extra cost, but no tea or coffee making facilities are available in the rooms (Please note, this is the only riad I have stayed at, so this may be standard)

We noticed that there was a leak in the bathroom, so the surfaces around the sinks were constantly wet, as was the bathroom rug.

Towels and linen were changed just once during the week.
In summary, this was a very pleasant place to stay for a budget holiday, just don't expect enormous luxury!

  • Liked — tranquility & friendly staff
  • Disliked — getting to it on 1st night
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Marhaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Marhaba

Address: #110 derb Moulay Abdelkader derb Dabachi, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #551 of 1,037 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Marrakech's medina, just off the Djemaa el Fna square, Dar Marhaba offers an oasis of tranquility. Dar Marhaba offers typical Moroccan comfort as well as professional services. Just let yourself be taken by its charm and you are sure to have a pleasant stay. The riad offers 5 nicely decorated rooms (double and triple rooms, one suite), each with private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Dar Marhaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Marhaba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.