We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Riad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Farah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad El Farah to your Saves list
Riad El Farah
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   el Kasbah, Derb El Oualidine 35, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #433 of 1,071 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Traditional Riad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Really nice traditional Moroccan Riad. Rooms were lovely, clean and nicely decorated. The roof terrace was really nice to sit out on during the really hot times of the day with nice shady spots. Good location to get into the heart of the city in a few minutes walk.
Breakfast was basic, Moroccan pancakes and lots of bread, jam, butter and coffee.
Mohammed works in Euros which is very confusing when the rest of the city is in drihams so watch out for that when he charges you. On our first day he took us out for an excursion around the city which was fine, he did not mention anything about a cost but he then demanded 25euro each from us at the end of our stay. I would not recommend the excursion, it was very basic with little interaction. It consisted mainly of the new city which isn't really worth going on an excursion to as there is not really anything there to see. As a rule in general in Marrakech not just with Mohammed, make sure you clarify everything cost etc before you agree to a deal so you don't get caught out.
All in all a great location to stay, if it wasn't for the excursion we got dragged into I would have given it a much higher rating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    32
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
71
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My wife and I visited Marrakech in May 2014 for our 25th anniversary and what a magical place. Riad El Farah made it even more special, great location right in the heart of the city, with a short walk to all main attractions. The owner Mohamed is a great host and had made us feel at home. The breakfast was great and so is the room, very clean and tidy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

A place you can call home while you are away from home. A beautiful and peaceful Riad tucked away from the extreme noise of Marrakech. If there is one place in this busy city to rest- it's definitely Riad El Farah.

Mohamed, the owner of the riad is a beautiful soul himself. His open heart and welcoming attitude will make you feel safe and in peace. Marrakech is rather difficult place for a foreigner to stroll along, but with Mohamed's time and patience- we knew in minutes where to go and what to avoid.

Anyway, you can always count on Mohamed's support and help.

Riad El Farah is a magical place. It's always clean, quiet and food is fresh. We were in heavens day after day.

Communication with Mohamed via e-mail was easy and straight forward. Each question was answered and he even offered to pick us up from the main station in order not to get lost. What a good man!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

it really was one of the most enjoyable and welcoming places i have stayed, a real gem hidden away from the hustle and bustle of the main square and medina. The decor was clean, comfortable, cosy and traditional. small touches gave it a real feel of home. Great location to all local amenities, with a short walk to the main road and 10mins from the main square and other local attractions.

what made this riad special was mohammed and Amina, with there hospitality and service throughout our stay, made it feel like a family...and other guests we met along the way the stayed over the week made it feel like a home.

5 stars all round, definatley be back here in the near future.

Room Tip: occassionally noisy with the sound of sceeching cats at night, take some ear plugs or request for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed for a week in mid-March. Staying in this riad, within the kasbah, gave us a real Moroccan experience but with the guidance and protection,.as required, from Mohamed the owner. Everything good about the riad and about Mohamed has already been said many times and we agree with it all. It only took us one orientation walk with Mohamed and we were able to find our way back to the riad but we had the safety of having his telephone number in case we got lost or otherwise in trouble. The street market very close to the riad was excellent for buying fruit and bread for lunch. The nearest "road" (opposed to alleyways), the Rue de la Kasbah, has lots of cafes and shops including the useful fixed price shop which can be recognised by the 2 big stone lions outside it. Here everything is priced and so you know exactly what you are paying. My husband walks with a stick but we didn't find getting around and to the Jema el Fna difficult as everywhere is flat. The riad was delightfully atmospheric, particularly at night with the candles lit. Our room was lovely (as are all 4 rooms). The breakfast was pefectly adequate and Mohamed did his best to help whenever we asked. It was a superb holiday.

Room Tip: We liked our room best on the left at the top of the stairs, but they were all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We've stayed in riad el faris for a week. The riad is nice decorated with eye for details. Every day our room was cleaned.
Very friendly staff and we got all the information we asked for. Breakfast was excellent with fresh made maroccian pancakes and orange juice. It has a great rooftop terrace, with a nice view over the neighbourhood.
We really felt welcome and at home. Thanks to the friendly staff! Relaxing atmosphere.
It is a bit of a challenge to find your way in the medina, but it is part of being in Marrakech, we suppose.
If you really get lost, they give you a map and telephonenumbers in the riad, so you can call.
We had a great time in riad el faris , thanks for the hospitality and hope to visit the beautiful riad again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed from 23rd feb to 27th feb. Riad owner Mohamed a gentleman who was polite and courteous with a lovely sense of humour a pleasure to have known. Most helpful at all times. The riad was a lovelly place to stay, quiet and peaceful a good place to retreat to after the hustle and bustle of the markets.
Excellent value for money.
Mohamed, if you read this I would personally like to thank you for everything. The invitation to join you for dinner with two of your French golfing friends was a nice thought and your food was most enjoyable.
.Keith and Julia.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Farah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Farah

Address: el Kasbah, Derb El Oualidine 35, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #433 of 1,071 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad El Farah 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad El Farah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Farah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Farah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.