We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“''A place you can call home''” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Farah

Save Saved
You added Riad El Farah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad El Farah
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   el Kasbah, Derb El Oualidine 35, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #419 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“''A place you can call home''”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

A place you can call home while you are away from home. A beautiful and peaceful Riad tucked away from the extreme noise of Marrakech. If there is one place in this busy city to rest- it's definitely Riad El Farah.

Mohamed, the owner of the riad is a beautiful soul himself. His open heart and welcoming attitude will make you feel safe and in peace. Marrakech is rather difficult place for a foreigner to stroll along, but with Mohamed's time and patience- we knew in minutes where to go and what to avoid.

Anyway, you can always count on Mohamed's support and help.

Riad El Farah is a magical place. It's always clean, quiet and food is fresh. We were in heavens day after day.

Communication with Mohamed via e-mail was easy and straight forward. Each question was answered and he even offered to pick us up from the main station in order not to get lost. What a good man!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    29
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
68
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

it really was one of the most enjoyable and welcoming places i have stayed, a real gem hidden away from the hustle and bustle of the main square and medina. The decor was clean, comfortable, cosy and traditional. small touches gave it a real feel of home. Great location to all local amenities, with a short walk to the main road and 10mins from the main square and other local attractions.

what made this riad special was mohammed and Amina, with there hospitality and service throughout our stay, made it feel like a family...and other guests we met along the way the stayed over the week made it feel like a home.

5 stars all round, definatley be back here in the near future.

Room Tip: occassionally noisy with the sound of sceeching cats at night, take some ear plugs or request for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed for a week in mid-March. Staying in this riad, within the kasbah, gave us a real Moroccan experience but with the guidance and protection,.as required, from Mohamed the owner. Everything good about the riad and about Mohamed has already been said many times and we agree with it all. It only took us one orientation walk with Mohamed and we were able to find our way back to the riad but we had the safety of having his telephone number in case we got lost or otherwise in trouble. The street market very close to the riad was excellent for buying fruit and bread for lunch. The nearest "road" (opposed to alleyways), the Rue de la Kasbah, has lots of cafes and shops including the useful fixed price shop which can be recognised by the 2 big stone lions outside it. Here everything is priced and so you know exactly what you are paying. My husband walks with a stick but we didn't find getting around and to the Jema el Fna difficult as everywhere is flat. The riad was delightfully atmospheric, particularly at night with the candles lit. Our room was lovely (as are all 4 rooms). The breakfast was pefectly adequate and Mohamed did his best to help whenever we asked. It was a superb holiday.

Room Tip: We liked our room best on the left at the top of the stairs, but they were all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We've stayed in riad el faris for a week. The riad is nice decorated with eye for details. Every day our room was cleaned.
Very friendly staff and we got all the information we asked for. Breakfast was excellent with fresh made maroccian pancakes and orange juice. It has a great rooftop terrace, with a nice view over the neighbourhood.
We really felt welcome and at home. Thanks to the friendly staff! Relaxing atmosphere.
It is a bit of a challenge to find your way in the medina, but it is part of being in Marrakech, we suppose.
If you really get lost, they give you a map and telephonenumbers in the riad, so you can call.
We had a great time in riad el faris , thanks for the hospitality and hope to visit the beautiful riad again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed from 23rd feb to 27th feb. Riad owner Mohamed a gentleman who was polite and courteous with a lovely sense of humour a pleasure to have known. Most helpful at all times. The riad was a lovelly place to stay, quiet and peaceful a good place to retreat to after the hustle and bustle of the markets.
Excellent value for money.
Mohamed, if you read this I would personally like to thank you for everything. The invitation to join you for dinner with two of your French golfing friends was a nice thought and your food was most enjoyable.
.Keith and Julia.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed for four nights with my dad in a twin room. Mahmoud and Nicole were very friendly, accommodating hosts with plenty of suggestions, showing us the nearest exchange and local landmarks to help us find our way back! The traditional riad with a courtyard is really lovely with a nice warm terrace. Breakfast was perhaps a little basic (bread and jam, pastries, coffee - but very nice), we had a really nice stay and would recommend to anyone. Great value too, right in the old city and 10 minutes walk from the main square.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The Riad El Farah is a gem in the Marrakesh Kasbah area. It is the very perfect epitomisation of what you would expect from a riad in Marrakesh. It is small and friendly and decorated in true Moroccan style. The rooms are on the first floor surrounding an atrium. The communal ground floor is delightful and the roof terrace equally so and a delight to sit in the sun with peace and quiet around, but still in the middle of the city. All the major old city attractions are within walking distance, so the location is perfect. Mohamed's helpfulness is documented in other recent reviews and I can only agree. My only gripe would be that it was cold in January and there was no heating.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Farah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Farah

Address: el Kasbah, Derb El Oualidine 35, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #419 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad El Farah 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Riad El Farah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Farah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Farah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.