We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Farah

Save Saved
You added Riad El Farah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad El Farah
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   el Kasbah, Derb El Oualidine 35, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #402 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The Riad El Farah is a gem in the Marrakesh Kasbah area. It is the very perfect epitomisation of what you would expect from a riad in Marrakesh. It is small and friendly and decorated in true Moroccan style. The rooms are on the first floor surrounding an atrium. The communal ground floor is delightful and the roof terrace equally so and a delight to sit in the sun with peace and quiet around, but still in the middle of the city. All the major old city attractions are within walking distance, so the location is perfect. Mohamed's helpfulness is documented in other recent reviews and I can only agree. My only gripe would be that it was cold in January and there was no heating.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    29
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
68
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night break to this excellent Riad set in the south of the Medina. The holiday was made for us by Mohammed who put up with our basic French and was so hospitable and friendly. He met us off the taxi from the airport and gave us a lovely Moroccan welcome with traditional mint tea and pancakes. He took us for tea and showed us how to return to the Riad through all the winding alleyways. He took us on a trip to Ourika and arranged for food to be cooked specially for us in one of the little restaurants lining the river. One of our party was vegetarian and he ensured she had her own vegetable tagine. The weather was unexpectedly cool and if going in January would recommend plenty of layers. We would certainly visit again but perhaps later in the year. Irene and Jim Bruce

Room Tip: Our room was immediately at the top of the stair on the left and was a bit noisy first thing in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire Uk
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Four of us stayed at Riad el Farah for four nights in January 2014 and we had a fantastic time. The Riad el Farah is situated in the heart of the Medina, and just a short walk to most of the main attractions. Mohammed, the owner, met us in a local square as pre arranged, following our taxi ride from the airport. He then guided us on the short walk to the Riad via the network of alleyways that make up this wonderful part of the city. The restored four bedroom Riad el Farah is set around an open courtyard, with a sun deck on the roof. As with most accommodation of this type in Marrakech, there is little heating in the Riad, so if you travel in winter, when the nights can get cold, remember to take something warm to wear. Breakfast is continental style, usually fresh bread, home made pancakes and local jam/marmalade.

Mohammed made our holiday something special. He guided us around the city, showed us where to eat for best value and local quality, organised and guided us on a trip to the Atlas Mountains and gave us an insight we would never have gained from a guide book. If you have a little understanding of the French language it will help your visit enormously.

Marrakech is a brilliant, bustling experience like nowhere else. Go there!

Thank you Mohammed

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We just got back from a fantastic long weekend at he Riad El Farah in Marrakech.

The Riad El Farah is lovely, a traditional property right in the heart of the city centre, down several side alleys, but surprisingly easy to find once you know where it is. The Riad is an oasis of calm, tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The rooms are clean and well appointed in a traditional style. There is a lovely central courtyard and a private roof terrace. Breakfast was very nice and the service we received during our stay was excellent.

What really made the holiday so special for us was the owner, Mohamed. Mohamed is very charming, and he went out of his way to ensure we got the most from our stay. He met us from our taxi on arrival, and took us to the Riad (5 minutes on foot), where he served us delicious Moroccan tea. We arrived in the early evening, so after we unpacked, he took us into the main square for a look around, and joined us for something to eat.

On Saturday, he spent most of the day with us, taking us around many of the major sights of Marrakech, including the Bahia Palace, The Menara Gardens, the Majorelle Gardens, and the Palmeraie district where we went Camel riding, plus several other places. Without Mohamed's help, we would never have found many of the places which he showed us, so I would certainly recommend a first time visitor to the city to stay at the Road El Farah and have Mohamed take you on a guided tour.

Marrakech is an amazing vibrant city, very colourful, very busy, very noisy, with plenty to see and do. The people are really friendly. The roads are chaotic with donkeys and carts, horse drawn carriages, cars, taxis, and scooters. The souks are a complicated honeycomb of hundreds of shops and stalls, with traders trying to encourage you to look at their wares, and haggling for a bargain is good fun. You will easily lose yourself in the souks, but this is good as you get to see parts that are hidden away, and the locals will be happy to show you the way out again anyway. Do be sure to visit the new city too, which is a complete contrast to the old city, with wide boulevards and modern sops and restaurants.

If you are planning to go to Marrakech, and you want an authentic experience in a traditional Riad, then I think you would find it difficult to find a better place to stay than this!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is a really nice Riad and the owner is very friendly and helpful. It is not a good idea to stop here in the winter though as its pretty cold and there is no heating. I imagine it would be amazing in the Summer keeping the rooms nice and cool.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We enjoyed a couple of nights here in early Jan. The Riad is lovely inside, and has a beautiful courtyard and roof terrace. There is also a dining room for evening meals. The owner is keen to join you for excursions and meals. It is within easy walking distance of the main square - you have to walk down a few dark alleys and although I felt very safe with my boyfriend, I'm not sure I would have wanted to walk down there alone. We ate at the Riad one evening and the food was delicious, but I would recommend that the owner provides heating in the dining room and the bedrooms as it's absolutely freezing in the January evenings and was uncomfortable going to bed. A genuine moroccoan Riad experience!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed at the riad in early January. Lovely place, located in a quiet alley, away from the hustle and bustle of daily Moroccan life. There was building work going on next door at the time but even this wasn't much of an issue. The riad is charming, with a sunny roof terrace overlooking the courtyard and some nice traditional features. Our room was clean and comfortable. Only downside, it was a bit nippy at night at this time of the year and there was no heating. What really makes this riad special is the host, Mohamed. He went out of his way to show us around, gave us tips on what to see, where to eat and how to avoid tourist traps. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad El Farah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Farah

Address: el Kasbah, Derb El Oualidine 35, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #402 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad El Farah 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Riad El Farah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Farah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Farah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.