We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At The Heart Of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Farah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad El Farah to your Saves list
Riad El Farah
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   el Kasbah, Derb El Oualidine 35, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #433 of 1,071 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Staffordshire Uk
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“At The Heart Of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Four of us stayed at Riad el Farah for four nights in January 2014 and we had a fantastic time. The Riad el Farah is situated in the heart of the Medina, and just a short walk to most of the main attractions. Mohammed, the owner, met us in a local square as pre arranged, following our taxi ride from the airport. He then guided us on the short walk to the Riad via the network of alleyways that make up this wonderful part of the city. The restored four bedroom Riad el Farah is set around an open courtyard, with a sun deck on the roof. As with most accommodation of this type in Marrakech, there is little heating in the Riad, so if you travel in winter, when the nights can get cold, remember to take something warm to wear. Breakfast is continental style, usually fresh bread, home made pancakes and local jam/marmalade.

Mohammed made our holiday something special. He guided us around the city, showed us where to eat for best value and local quality, organised and guided us on a trip to the Atlas Mountains and gave us an insight we would never have gained from a guide book. If you have a little understanding of the French language it will help your visit enormously.

Marrakech is a brilliant, bustling experience like nowhere else. Go there!

Thank you Mohammed

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    32
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
71
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We just got back from a fantastic long weekend at he Riad El Farah in Marrakech.

The Riad El Farah is lovely, a traditional property right in the heart of the city centre, down several side alleys, but surprisingly easy to find once you know where it is. The Riad is an oasis of calm, tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The rooms are clean and well appointed in a traditional style. There is a lovely central courtyard and a private roof terrace. Breakfast was very nice and the service we received during our stay was excellent.

What really made the holiday so special for us was the owner, Mohamed. Mohamed is very charming, and he went out of his way to ensure we got the most from our stay. He met us from our taxi on arrival, and took us to the Riad (5 minutes on foot), where he served us delicious Moroccan tea. We arrived in the early evening, so after we unpacked, he took us into the main square for a look around, and joined us for something to eat.

On Saturday, he spent most of the day with us, taking us around many of the major sights of Marrakech, including the Bahia Palace, The Menara Gardens, the Majorelle Gardens, and the Palmeraie district where we went Camel riding, plus several other places. Without Mohamed's help, we would never have found many of the places which he showed us, so I would certainly recommend a first time visitor to the city to stay at the Road El Farah and have Mohamed take you on a guided tour.

Marrakech is an amazing vibrant city, very colourful, very busy, very noisy, with plenty to see and do. The people are really friendly. The roads are chaotic with donkeys and carts, horse drawn carriages, cars, taxis, and scooters. The souks are a complicated honeycomb of hundreds of shops and stalls, with traders trying to encourage you to look at their wares, and haggling for a bargain is good fun. You will easily lose yourself in the souks, but this is good as you get to see parts that are hidden away, and the locals will be happy to show you the way out again anyway. Do be sure to visit the new city too, which is a complete contrast to the old city, with wide boulevards and modern sops and restaurants.

If you are planning to go to Marrakech, and you want an authentic experience in a traditional Riad, then I think you would find it difficult to find a better place to stay than this!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is a really nice Riad and the owner is very friendly and helpful. It is not a good idea to stop here in the winter though as its pretty cold and there is no heating. I imagine it would be amazing in the Summer keeping the rooms nice and cool.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We enjoyed a couple of nights here in early Jan. The Riad is lovely inside, and has a beautiful courtyard and roof terrace. There is also a dining room for evening meals. The owner is keen to join you for excursions and meals. It is within easy walking distance of the main square - you have to walk down a few dark alleys and although I felt very safe with my boyfriend, I'm not sure I would have wanted to walk down there alone. We ate at the Riad one evening and the food was delicious, but I would recommend that the owner provides heating in the dining room and the bedrooms as it's absolutely freezing in the January evenings and was uncomfortable going to bed. A genuine moroccoan Riad experience!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed at the riad in early January. Lovely place, located in a quiet alley, away from the hustle and bustle of daily Moroccan life. There was building work going on next door at the time but even this wasn't much of an issue. The riad is charming, with a sunny roof terrace overlooking the courtyard and some nice traditional features. Our room was clean and comfortable. Only downside, it was a bit nippy at night at this time of the year and there was no heating. What really makes this riad special is the host, Mohamed. He went out of his way to show us around, gave us tips on what to see, where to eat and how to avoid tourist traps. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

we had a fantastic stay here. We stayed for a week and this was a perfect location for exploring. Once we got our bearings (thanks to our host) we had great fun wandering through the city. Breakfast was good, simple, but suited us given the amount of food we ate in the evenings. This riad has a lovely roof terrace which was a great escape from the busy streets, we spent lots of time reading in the sunshine. We were very late arriving, yet were still met from our taxi and offered a drink in the candlelit courtyard. We couldn't have asked for a more hospitable and friendly host.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed here for four nights in November with my boyfriend as part of a birthday trip and wasn't disappointed. Here are my thoughts:

The riad
The room itself was clean, comfortable and with some nice moroccan features. The shared areas (roof terrace, main reception/seating area) were nice to relax in also. The room we stayed in was quite loud at night (mopeds, cats etc) but you got used to this - we didn't find this a problem but take earplugs if you are worried! I think there are rooms further from the noise as well.

The host
Although Mohammed's English isn't amazing, he always tries his best and doesn't do a bad job at holding a conversation! You will be at an advantage if you can speak French! Mohammed was helpful and attentive throughout our stay, from arranging breakfast early for us to making sure I took my coat on an outing to Essaouria! He even drove us to the airport (for a pre-arranged price) instead of us having to worry about a taxi, which was a great help.

Location
Situated in the old part of Marrakech, in a maze of alleys with no car access, you will get the real cultural experience. Expect stray (but very cute) cats, mopeds and kids running around. Not recommended for wusses or those who prefer flash hotels. Mohammed, the owner, was very helpful when it came to finding our way around, and once you learn the route it was nice and easy. A major plus is that it's just around the corner from the tombs and a few nice restaurants.

Food
The breakfast was quite simply, traditional moroccan pancake-style things, and then some bread and jam, tea and coffee. We also had dinner at the riad one night that was really nice, so I would recommend this, especially if you are going on a tour during the day and getting back late - just make sure you let Mohammed now at breakfast on the day.

Tours
The only downside of this riad I thought was the partnership with a tour company, who I didn't think were great. Tours can be very touch and go, so make sure you do your research in advance and book one with good reviews! I did go on an amazing Atlas mountain tour booked in advance (with 4x4camel).

Overall, a lovely place to stay and I would defnitely recommend it to friends/family. The riad is lovely and the host is welcoming and friendly, and will go out of his way to help you.

Room Tip: Ask in advance as some are by the alley (noisy) and some are bigger/smaller, so it depends what you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Farah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Farah

Address: el Kasbah, Derb El Oualidine 35, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #433 of 1,071 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad El Farah 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad El Farah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Farah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Farah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.