We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Farah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad El Farah to your Saves list
Riad El Farah
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   el Kasbah, Derb El Oualidine 35, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #432 of 1,072 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good basic hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We enjoyed a couple of nights here in early Jan. The Riad is lovely inside, and has a beautiful courtyard and roof terrace. There is also a dining room for evening meals. The owner is keen to join you for excursions and meals. It is within easy walking distance of the main square - you have to walk down a few dark alleys and although I felt very safe with my boyfriend, I'm not sure I would have wanted to walk down there alone. We ate at the Riad one evening and the food was delicious, but I would recommend that the owner provides heating in the dining room and the bedrooms as it's absolutely freezing in the January evenings and was uncomfortable going to bed. A genuine moroccoan Riad experience!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    32
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
71
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed at the riad in early January. Lovely place, located in a quiet alley, away from the hustle and bustle of daily Moroccan life. There was building work going on next door at the time but even this wasn't much of an issue. The riad is charming, with a sunny roof terrace overlooking the courtyard and some nice traditional features. Our room was clean and comfortable. Only downside, it was a bit nippy at night at this time of the year and there was no heating. What really makes this riad special is the host, Mohamed. He went out of his way to show us around, gave us tips on what to see, where to eat and how to avoid tourist traps. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

we had a fantastic stay here. We stayed for a week and this was a perfect location for exploring. Once we got our bearings (thanks to our host) we had great fun wandering through the city. Breakfast was good, simple, but suited us given the amount of food we ate in the evenings. This riad has a lovely roof terrace which was a great escape from the busy streets, we spent lots of time reading in the sunshine. We were very late arriving, yet were still met from our taxi and offered a drink in the candlelit courtyard. We couldn't have asked for a more hospitable and friendly host.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed here for four nights in November with my boyfriend as part of a birthday trip and wasn't disappointed. Here are my thoughts:

The riad
The room itself was clean, comfortable and with some nice moroccan features. The shared areas (roof terrace, main reception/seating area) were nice to relax in also. The room we stayed in was quite loud at night (mopeds, cats etc) but you got used to this - we didn't find this a problem but take earplugs if you are worried! I think there are rooms further from the noise as well.

The host
Although Mohammed's English isn't amazing, he always tries his best and doesn't do a bad job at holding a conversation! You will be at an advantage if you can speak French! Mohammed was helpful and attentive throughout our stay, from arranging breakfast early for us to making sure I took my coat on an outing to Essaouria! He even drove us to the airport (for a pre-arranged price) instead of us having to worry about a taxi, which was a great help.

Location
Situated in the old part of Marrakech, in a maze of alleys with no car access, you will get the real cultural experience. Expect stray (but very cute) cats, mopeds and kids running around. Not recommended for wusses or those who prefer flash hotels. Mohammed, the owner, was very helpful when it came to finding our way around, and once you learn the route it was nice and easy. A major plus is that it's just around the corner from the tombs and a few nice restaurants.

Food
The breakfast was quite simply, traditional moroccan pancake-style things, and then some bread and jam, tea and coffee. We also had dinner at the riad one night that was really nice, so I would recommend this, especially if you are going on a tour during the day and getting back late - just make sure you let Mohammed now at breakfast on the day.

Tours
The only downside of this riad I thought was the partnership with a tour company, who I didn't think were great. Tours can be very touch and go, so make sure you do your research in advance and book one with good reviews! I did go on an amazing Atlas mountain tour booked in advance (with 4x4camel).

Overall, a lovely place to stay and I would defnitely recommend it to friends/family. The riad is lovely and the host is welcoming and friendly, and will go out of his way to help you.

Room Tip: Ask in advance as some are by the alley (noisy) and some are bigger/smaller, so it depends what you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

On arrival our host Mohammed met us outside the Saadian Tombs and escorted us through narrow lanes past market stalls for about 5 mins into the Kasbar where the Riad is located. It was beautifully silent inside and he poured us a welcome glass of Morrocan tea. Our room was adequately sized and very clean. The ensuite bathroom was generously sized with plenty of hot water for the shower. There were plenty of electrical outlets and no power cuts, good speed wifi was available for €2 per day. Mohammed was very hospitable and ensured we knew where to go and what to see to get the best from our 4 days there. The first night he showed us the way to a nearby restaurant, his recommendation was excellent - it was the best and the cheapest food we had the whole trip. He pointed out all the landmarks so that we could easily find our way back. We found the location of the Riad convenient for the attractions of the Medina and Kasbah. It was a ten minute walk to the main square, Jamma El Fna. Breakfast was normally served at 9am and comprised fresh coffee, french bread/toast and a Moroccan pastry or crepe. Mohammed was always on hand and keen to answer our questions and help us out. We highly recommend this Riad for anyone who wants to stay in the old part of town.

Room Tip: Our room appeared to be the smallest, although it was perfectly adequate, you might like to ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I booked Riad El Farah for a short city break with a friend in November, and it was superb! Hidden in the medina through an enchanting network of passages, Riad el Farah is like an oasis of calm in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. On our arrival we met Mohammed, the friendly owner, who provided us with a delicious evening meal before showing us to our spotlessly clean room. During the next few days we were taken on tours to the old and new city which really made the most of our short stay. In the hot afternoons there was even time to catch up with a book on the roof top sun loungers!!

I would happily recommend Riad El Farah to anyone who is heading to Marrakech either for a short break or a longer holiday; the food is brilliant, the owners are friendly and the accommodation is immaculate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This riad has a really poor location. On the first day, the owner had to take us from the main street to the riad. On our way, we had to go through narrow streets avoiding crazy cycle riders, some dirt and wild cats. Also the neighborhood is noisy, which is annoying if you want to stay in bed late.
The room comfort is okay and matches low-end hotel chains standards.
To me, this riad would be suitable for young travelers on a tight budget. If you are traveling as a couple or family, you'd be better in something with a more decent location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Farah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Farah

Address: el Kasbah, Derb El Oualidine 35, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #432 of 1,072 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad El Farah 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad El Farah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Farah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Farah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.