We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“c'est bon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Farah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad El Farah to your Saves list
Riad El Farah
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   el Kasbah, Derb El Oualidine 35, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #446 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“c'est bon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I booked this Riad after reading the reviews on here and I wasn't disappointed! The riad is beautiful, the roof terrace is perfect for relaxing in the sun or even after the sun has set! The location of the riad is perfect, it's close enough to the main attractions (the palace's, the Jewish quarter, the tannery, the gardens, the main square and souks) as they are all within a short walk from the riad, but it's the perfect distance away from all the hustle and bustle to get a peaceful and well earned rest at night!! Mohammed is brilliant! He is so welcoming and friendly and looks after all of his guests, showing them the sights and he makes sure you don't get lost! He helped us find our way round the city and arrange excursions. I would definitely stay here again. :-)

Room Tip: we booked a superior room but all the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    34
    4
    5
    6
See reviews for
15
82
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were pleased we booked to stay in this riad, avoiding the Eurpoean hotels in the new parts of town as everything was in walking distance.The riad itself is very relaxing with a lovely inner courtyard and roof terrace where we chilled out most days. Mohammed made us welcome and helped us arrange excursions. The trip to Essaouira took longer than expected (a 3 hour drive) but was worth it. The excursion to Fantasia is to be avoided (see my review). It is worth taking euros as Mohammed prices wine, food etc in this currency and the exchange rate is not favourable. The riad itself is very relaxing with a lovely inner courtyard and roof terrace where we chilled out most days. Breakfast is simple -just breads/pancakes with jam and butter -OK for a week or less but some more variety would have been welcome! We booked a hotel+flight package plus transfers and it cost us under £300 each at Easter so very good value.

Room Tip: It may be worth booking a superior room or asking for one not on the street side. We had very little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

we had a very pleasant stay at mohammed s riad. he was very helpful and protective and i was glad that he was there for us on our trips around the souks and squares. he took us up to the mountains and arranged food and wine for us at a very reasonable price. we enjoyed the meals we asked him to cook for us. the accomodation was simple but clean and very close to the old quarter of marrakech which is what we wanted. it is a small riad with a central courtyard and space to sit on the roof terrace where mohammed provided us with mint tea.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We booked the Riad El Farah for a 3 night stay. We would recommend this riad as it is ideally located for anyone who wants to experience what Marrakech has to offer in a peaceful location! The owner, Mohammed, made us welcome and let us settle in before taking us and pointing out local attractions and directions. We had a double room that was simply furnished in typical moroccan colours and cleaned daily. Breakfast was simple but tasty, comprising of crepe/pastries, honey & bread with coffee. The architecture of the riad was typical of the local structures. Mohammed was available if we needed him but was in no way overbearing, leaving us to do as we pleased. We would have no hesitation staying here in the future!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights, this riad is in a good location, if you want to experience the Moroccan way of life this is ideal if you want modern don't bother. The welcome was good the food was always good the room was cleaned daily and Mohammed was very keen too please in every way possible, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We could not fault Riad El farah. Mohammed is a gentleman through and through- he was friendly without being overbearing, giving us a warm welcome and taking us to places when we asked for his help. He took us out for the afternoon and accompanied us to bars and a restaurant, which were owned or runned by his family and friends- it is obvious that throughout Marrakech people look after each other, whether they are family, friends or just fellow Morrocans-a philosophy that we could well learn from!
The room was a standard room, and simply furnished but very comfortable and gave us a real feeling for Morrocan life, as did the whole experience. Coming out of the Riad onto the narrow streets with donkeys, motorbikes, carts, cats to name but a few, was in itself an experience not to be missed. And not far from all the main sights and sounds of the city and to where the buses leave to take you on trips.
I would recommend the half board option- the food was delicious.
If you want to experience the real Marrakech then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Many aspects of this riad are good. We were in a superior room which was large enough with additional seating. The beds were fairly comfortable and as this was February we were glad to have plenty of bedding available. The sheets and towels were of particular high quality. The architecture of the riad is lovely and it's also pretty quiet and peaceful there. On the roof terrace there was comfortable seating and a couple of very comfortable sun beds. Mohammed does cook evening meals which you can arrange and pay for ( if you haven't pre-booked half board ) or he can recommend and take you to restaurants.

However in certain ways he didn't seem to be that hospitable although this may have been in part just the contrast with the wonderful hospitality of Riad Baladin in Essaouira. Breakfast was at 9.00 and generally immovable, so that the day that both we and the other couple were staying there had to leave at 8.00 to take a tour, there was no option to have even a snack before we left ( and we did ask in advance). On the day we had to leave for the airport though he did bring breakfast forward a bit. Although the room prices are not high, I felt that the prices for alcohol and his evening meal and for wifi were a bit steep. I wasn't keen on the restaurants he recommended and wondered whether he had any vested interest in us patronising these particular establishments. Personally I would go with the Time Out Guide to Marrakech for recommendations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Islane
Hotel Islane
#197 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#256 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ryad Mogador Hotel
Ryad Mogador Hotel
#425 of 481 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
1.2 mi away
Agdal Hotel
Agdal Hotel
#400 of 481 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
1.6 mi away
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
#401 of 481 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Farah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Farah

Address: el Kasbah, Derb El Oualidine 35, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #446 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad El Farah 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad El Farah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Farah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Farah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.