We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feb 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Farah

Save Saved
You added Riad El Farah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad El Farah
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   el Kasbah, Derb El Oualidine 35, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #397 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“feb 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

we had a very pleasant stay at mohammed s riad. he was very helpful and protective and i was glad that he was there for us on our trips around the souks and squares. he took us up to the mountains and arranged food and wine for us at a very reasonable price. we enjoyed the meals we asked him to cook for us. the accomodation was simple but clean and very close to the old quarter of marrakech which is what we wanted. it is a small riad with a central courtyard and space to sit on the roof terrace where mohammed provided us with mint tea.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    27
    1
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
61
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We booked the Riad El Farah for a 3 night stay. We would recommend this riad as it is ideally located for anyone who wants to experience what Marrakech has to offer in a peaceful location! The owner, Mohammed, made us welcome and let us settle in before taking us and pointing out local attractions and directions. We had a double room that was simply furnished in typical moroccan colours and cleaned daily. Breakfast was simple but tasty, comprising of crepe/pastries, honey & bread with coffee. The architecture of the riad was typical of the local structures. Mohammed was available if we needed him but was in no way overbearing, leaving us to do as we pleased. We would have no hesitation staying here in the future!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights, this riad is in a good location, if you want to experience the Moroccan way of life this is ideal if you want modern don't bother. The welcome was good the food was always good the room was cleaned daily and Mohammed was very keen too please in every way possible, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We could not fault Riad El farah. Mohammed is a gentleman through and through- he was friendly without being overbearing, giving us a warm welcome and taking us to places when we asked for his help. He took us out for the afternoon and accompanied us to bars and a restaurant, which were owned or runned by his family and friends- it is obvious that throughout Marrakech people look after each other, whether they are family, friends or just fellow Morrocans-a philosophy that we could well learn from!
The room was a standard room, and simply furnished but very comfortable and gave us a real feeling for Morrocan life, as did the whole experience. Coming out of the Riad onto the narrow streets with donkeys, motorbikes, carts, cats to name but a few, was in itself an experience not to be missed. And not far from all the main sights and sounds of the city and to where the buses leave to take you on trips.
I would recommend the half board option- the food was delicious.
If you want to experience the real Marrakech then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Many aspects of this riad are good. We were in a superior room which was large enough with additional seating. The beds were fairly comfortable and as this was February we were glad to have plenty of bedding available. The sheets and towels were of particular high quality. The architecture of the riad is lovely and it's also pretty quiet and peaceful there. On the roof terrace there was comfortable seating and a couple of very comfortable sun beds. Mohammed does cook evening meals which you can arrange and pay for ( if you haven't pre-booked half board ) or he can recommend and take you to restaurants.

However in certain ways he didn't seem to be that hospitable although this may have been in part just the contrast with the wonderful hospitality of Riad Baladin in Essaouira. Breakfast was at 9.00 and generally immovable, so that the day that both we and the other couple were staying there had to leave at 8.00 to take a tour, there was no option to have even a snack before we left ( and we did ask in advance). On the day we had to leave for the airport though he did bring breakfast forward a bit. Although the room prices are not high, I felt that the prices for alcohol and his evening meal and for wifi were a bit steep. I wasn't keen on the restaurants he recommended and wondered whether he had any vested interest in us patronising these particular establishments. Personally I would go with the Time Out Guide to Marrakech for recommendations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have just returned from a five night stay in Marrakech at the Riad el Farah. I was travelling on my own and Mohammed was a wonderful host who took care me on my visit, nothing was too much trouble for him.

I had read that the food at the Riad was excellent and so I opted for half board, and I wasn't disappointed, every meal a delight.

The Riad is in a good location, and only a shot walk from the Place Jemaa el Fna, and a good place from which to explore the old city.

Room Tip: Sorry, no fitness centre, or swimming pool, but I couldn't remove the rating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We visited Marrakech for the first time in December 2012. It is like no other place I have visited before but found it fun and buzzing. If you want to experience the 'real' Marrakech then this is a great place to stay.
The Riad is located amongst the maze of side streets in the Kazbar area and therefore you are taken there on foot when dropped off, which is fun in itself! The Riad owner Mohammad gave us a warm welcome and insisted on showing us the route from the Riad to the nearest Square and other places of interest. This was invaluable so we didn't get lost!! He could not do enough for us and was kind and polite. He even made all the guests a 'special' meal on New Year's Eve to make sure we had a good time and took us to a restaurant nearby to watch some traditional Moroccan entertainment. I would certainly recommend Mohammad's Riad and his hospitality.
It is very clean, quiet, with a pretty little roof terrace to catch some afternoon sun.
It was ideal for us as we wanted to be in the 'heart' of Marrakech for our 5 day stay. If you're visitng in December or winter months like we did then it can be quite cold at night time so recommended to take a jacket, we under estimated this!!!
If you choose to stay here then we hope you enjoy it as much as we did. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad El Farah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Farah

Also Known As:
Riad El Farah Hotel
Riad El Farah Hotel Marrakech
Address: el Kasbah, Derb El Oualidine 35, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #397 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad El Farah 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Riad El Farah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Farah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.