We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a Morrocon hotel, not English, this is a typical local Hotel, about 3* + English rated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss International Imperial Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Swiss International Imperial Plaza to your Saves list
Swiss International Imperial Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Abdelkrim Khattabi Avenue | Semlalia Street, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #388 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Stafford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“This is a Morrocon hotel, not English, this is a typical local Hotel, about 3* + English rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

As previously noted, it is a good 30 mins to walk to the Medina / Square, however, 200 metres from the Hotel, outside the University gates there is a No.1 Bus that takes you straight to the centre for 4 Dirhams ( 25p in english ). The pool on the 6th Floor is a bonus and very private / cosy, with food / drinks available. The breakfast is typical Continental / English ( bread , ham , cheese, cereals etc), and plentiful.
Evening meals were Menu related , 2 choices and were of a good quality , the 2 nights we had Buffet, again these were superbly presented by the Chef, and choice was most varied, no complaints.
The room we had was huge , 2 beds and plenty of Wardrobe space were available, people must relaise when using Local Hotels they should not compare them with European style, decoration dark but again local style, the only downfall I could comment on is the distance to Town. Otherwise me and the Wife enjoyed our stay, ps, no alcohol drinks served in local cafes / restaurants, only available in Hotels, not much to do at nights apart from visitng the Square for usual crowds doing acts, musical drums , snake charmers etc.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    74
    55
    50
    34
See reviews for
51
102
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

I booked our Moroccan holiday on quite a tight budget for everything we wanted to do ie. skiing, Fez, Agadir, Western Sahara etc......Ryanair, Car hire to explore the country......but a nice hotel to relax each night ready for our next adventure. We used this hotel as our base and as far as hotels go, this was fine:

Good.
Large clean rooms with two double beds as standard.
Lovely roof-top swimming pool overlooking the area.
Friendly staff that speak English.
Room cleaned daily and towels changed daily.
English TV stations.
Free parking.


Bad.
It is a long way from town!! Please believe me when I say that it is 45 mins to the main Square.

There is nothing in this area of town.

It is impossible to find! - I am very experienced at finding hotels and must have stayed in hundreds - this was one of the rare times that I could not find the hotel. It seems simple on the map, but the hotel is in fact tucked away from the main road and anyway....Morocco doesn't like sign posting and there is no route-planning SatNav/GPS for the country. We had to flag a cab and follow him to the Hotel.....it was literally 1 minute away, yet cost me £2 as I didn't know exactly how far.

The breakfast, although not terrible, is certainly not what I was expecting......think plastic cheese slices, olives and cartoned runny scambled eggs. The breakfast is the same EVERY day!

The restaurant is laughable and the room service is not exactly experienced.

Conclusion:

For the price you pay, this is an ok choice.....but expect to use taxis frequently. If used purely for a base, you are fit and healthy and booked cheaply....you will be pleased.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

I got quite a good deal on this Hotel and for the money I paid we were satisfied. I believe the Hotel is fairly new and the rooms, on first inspection, appeared very nice. We had a double room, with two double beds and a single room which had two large singles. The size of both was more than adequate. A couple of niggly little bits and pieces such as a wobbly sink in one of the rooms, a little bit of mildew around the bath in the other, a safe that didn't work (but we didn't use it so didn't try and get it fixed) where not bad enough to require complaint - but spoilt the initial impression of the room. When we first arrived in the room one of the light bulbs had blown, which was replaced by the time we got back from dinner. Don't be put off by these small issues as the rooms were cleaned every day and were generally not at all bad for the price.

Our room included breakfast which was a bit disappointing, nothing was particularly hot and the choice was very limited.... but as it was included in the room cost - we couldn't complain too much!

We walked from the Hotel to the Medina and it was about a 30 - 40 minute stroll (we were not in a particular hurry and stopped for a coffee on the way). It was easy to find our way around and the area around the Hotel, although not very busy, had a couple of restaurants and cafes.

One thing to be very aware of are the Taxi drivers. Make sure that you fix the price before you get in the car. We took a taxi from the Airport, and had researched how much it would cost. We approached the gaggle of taxi drivers outside Arrivals and asked for a Taxi to our hotel. They wanted us to get in without fixing a price, which we refused to do. We then asked them the price and they stated 20 Euros (225 Dirhams). We had checked the official price list (on a poster sign to the left of the taxi rank) and our guidebook which stated it should be no more than 50 - 80 Dirhams (4 - 6 Euros). After a big "discussion", which included them telling us to get a bus and us pointing to the price list and the info in our guidebook we eventually managed to agreed on 100 Dirhams (9 Euros). This scene was repeated every time we needed a taxi. For info, from the Hotel to the D'Jema El F'na (main square) was 20 Dirhams in a small taxi (30 Dirhams after 8pm).

We had lots of lovely food, of note was a fabulous meal at al fassia, which was easy walking distance from the hotel. Although we didn't eat at any of the night food stalls, they were worth a look, some of the "delicacies" where pretty interesting.

We spent an evening at Chez Ali which cost 450 Dirhams each (40 Euros) and was described as an unforgettable evening. It was a total waste of time and effort - do not go, you WILL be disappointed.

In summary, the constant haggling is a bit annoying, but that appears to be part of the Moroccan culture and it was a bit more expensive than I expected but we enjoyed our visit but probably wouldn't rush back - too many other cities on our list!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

After reading the reviews, I was in two minds of whether I should spend time at this hotel.
On arrival I was greeted with a smile and check-in was easy. The hotel is clean and our room was fine.
The staff at the hotel I found was helpful. The tea and cakes are define.
Only one fault, the breakfast is extremely limited. I only signed up for breakfast hence I am unable to talk about lunch or dinner.
The hotel is off the main road, which I found useful as Marrakech can be quite noisy with regards to the traffic.
All in all I would most definately go back

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

My boyfriend i stayed at this hotel for a week to get some winter sun.
All i can say is that this hotel is filthy, with staff who have no concerns for their guests. During the whole week we were there the breakfast was the same everyday with stale bread and no choice at all. The table cloths were not changed once for the week we were there. One morning the milk was off that we put in our tea and cereal.
There was broken glass on the floor in the dining room that was also stayed there all week. All the containers that cereal was in were dirty as were the plated and bowls etc.
Staff were unfriendly and more interested in playing on computers than attending to guests.
The pool was ok, but not heated. There is a gym but guests are expected to pay £10 to use it (we never saw one person using it, not suprisingly at that price!!)
The bedrooms were the only thing that were acceptable.
Be prepared to wait a long time for a drink at the pool bar, and also i would strongly advice againist using the lift which if you are lucky, will take you to your selected floor but are that old and decrepit.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

As some reviewers have pointed out this hotel isn't central to the square but for those who don't mind walking it is great to take a leisurely stroll from here through the new part of town and onto jeema el fna, about 45 minutes. The taxis are 2 euros or at the end of the road the local No. 1 bus takes you striaght to the square for 4.5 dhirams (0.5 euro).
The hotel itself was quiet in December so practically had the roof to ourselves which had the best panoramic view of Marrakech that we'd seen. We found the staff friendly and helpful especially the evening staff. Breakfast was samey each day but actually we weren't that impressed with Moroccan food in general - there are some good local kebab restaurants nearby which did some of the best food we had in Marrakech - they're near 'Monte Cristo' a restaurant and bar which is also a great (late) night out!.
So, whilst the square and souks are the central attraction of Marrakech you won't be missing out by staying here, in fact you'll welcome the retreat at the end of a day's wandering around. You can use the nearby Hotel Amine as a reference point for taxis when returning home as this is on the main road but don't consider staying there, we did and moved to Imperial Plaza after a couple of days because it's a dump!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

Our first issue with this hotel was that we found it very difficult to find... no one knew where it was, and my mapquest map was wrong. This isn't exactly the hotel's fault, but for some reason none of the locals, taxi drivers seemed to know where it was. We may have just been unlucky.

When we finally got there the check it took quite a while, but the bell boys were quick to grab our bags for us and offer us a chair to sit in, so our welcome was pretty polite. However, where we had a problem was when we were checking out. We asked at the front desk how much we could expect to pay for a taxi to the airport. They quoted us a price that we knew from previous experience was way too high, so we just said thanks, and went outside to hail our own cab. When the staff member who had told us the price saw us trying to get our own taxi instead of letting the staff hail it, he ran over and just as we were negotiating the price, blurted out to the taxi driver the price he had told us. As soon as the taxi driver heard this, he obviously wanted the high price and it pretty much put us in the position where we could no longer negotiate. From what I have heard, its common practice for the doormen to get kick backs from the taxi drivers, and that is what this guys was doing to us. Jacking up the price and letting the taxi driver know that he was in on it and wanted his cut. Cheating the foreigner is pretty much everyday practice in Morocco, so we just had to shrug it off.

The hotel was a bit dingy and old, but they have tried to dress it up a bit. The room was large and spacious, but it overlooked the parkinglot and the faucet in the tub barely worked. We had to run the water for about half an hour to get hot water. Otherwise the room was average and clean. Beds were a bit hard, so not luxurious by any stretch, but ok enough for one night.

The pool on the roof was quite nice and we enjoyed hanging out up there. There is a bar poolside, and it was very quiet. Hardly any guests using it.

There is a restaurant and we went there for dinner because we were starving and they serve beer and wine. The meal was very expensive and when we got it, it was laughable. We pretty much were served a tiny drumstick of fried chicken with mixed veg on the side. The soup was ok, but for the money, the meal was barely edible. I would skip the restaurant if you stay there.

There was a small bar and it had live music which was nice and we enjoyed a beer after dinner. Its very small and I was the only women inside. I would not have felt comfortable in there if I were alone or only with another woman.

We got a very cheap price for this hotel so I would say that it was decent enough for the money spent. Nothing special, but not awful either.

Its location is quite far from any of the sites, we stayed here because it was close to the train station and we were arriving on the train and then heading to the airport the next day. It would not be a good place to stay if you were intending to head to the Medina and the big square etc. A more traditional riad is a better value and the old walled city is a nicer location, but this hotel is perfectly fine if you are just passing through and dont want to be far from train/buses etc.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss International Imperial Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss International Imperial Plaza

Address: Abdelkrim Khattabi Avenue | Semlalia Street, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#152 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#152 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss International Imperial Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss International Plaza is an exquisite hotel, centrally located with rooms opening to views either of the Marrakech city with the backdrop of Atlas Mountain or of the lush green hotel courtyard. A fully serviced hotel with facilities for both business and leisure travelers with its location making it an ideal hotel to discover the rich culture and tradition of Morocco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Orbitz, Otel, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Swiss International Imperial Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Plaza Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss International Imperial Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.