We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed.........” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss International Imperial Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Swiss International Imperial Plaza to your Saves list
Swiss International Imperial Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Abdelkrim Khattabi Avenue | Semlalia Street, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #397 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed.........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

The pictures on the hotel website look nothing like any of the rooms we saw when we were there in December through to New Year. Photographer must be a genius. If I ever want to sell my house I hope I find him for pics. I Pool area on roof nice although let down by railings needing paint and tables and chairs around bar area in bad repair( such basic maintenance but not done).
We were so disappointed in our room on arrival that we actually tried to contact our booking agent to try and change hotels - no luck as weekend! The rooms were basic, dusty and worn. Not at all as we had been led to believe. The hotel was no where near anything of interest or any nice bars and cafes - also not what we were informed and DEFINATLY not near the centre.
Hotel reception and lobby very old, shabby and neglected. Food ok. All buffet and nothing like pictures of buffet on website.
Staff were very laid back but to be fair very sweet but on the whole I would say a British 2 star not 4.
We booked in to this hotel as a Christmas gift to each other believing we would have a tiny bit of luxury. Wish I'd opted for earrings or new boots now!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    77
    56
    50
    36
See reviews for
52
104
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is great for the price. I booked a long weekend in Marrakesh through easyjet holidays and the price of the hotel + flights was really good.

The staff were brilliant. Housekeeping were very friendly, and Nadia the rep who helped us book some day trips was brilliant. We got picked up at the time they said and taken on some brilliant. We did a camel trip that included lunch and tea and a tour around nearby villages. The next day we did a drive to the Atlas mountains, included a stop off at a herbal garden and a moroccan house + lunch was included. We climbed to the top of the mountain with a guide, past waterfalls and stopped off for some mint tea. It was absolutely brilliant.

The hotel is a short taxi drive away from the square, it's not expensive to get there.

There is a nice rooftop with a pool- in February it was too cold for us to make use of it but it looked nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Where shall i start from! We checked into the hotel first impression when we got to the room, we thought we were in prison, lame decoration of the rooms very dark. TV remote was missing we requested the TV remote about 4 time which we got after two days. We decided to go to the pool in the morning which was on the 6th floor but the water was so cold we couldn’t put our feet in the water that’s how cold the water was so no jumping in the pool for 5 days we stayed there. Room got cleaned everyday but the towel had threads coming out of them dirty, no soap changed, no shampoo. We had to request toiletries when it should ve been there when they cleaned the rooms. Breakfast made me laugh, we tried to make some tea the milk was flat and seriously it was flat for 5 days until we stayed, i complained, next day the same thing i gave up. we had to use cereal cold milk for tea. Dinner don’t even go there the food was rubbish we only had dinner once cas we bought the package as half board, and also there aren’t many choices for food two or three dishes which God knows what they were. after eating once when our flight landed we only had dinner once from the hotel after that big no no to the hotel food we ate out every single day. If you are a couple don’t even think about booking this hotel, don’t ruin your holiday, cas the location is rubbish, staff not friendly, Food ewww, rooms you would feel claustrophobia. The only good thing about the hotel was Visitor advisor Nadia thats all she was the only friendly person in the whole hotel apart from that nothing was right about the hotel. My opinion this hotel is not even 1 star. We booked this hotel last minute i would never go back to this hotel even if they offer me to stay there for free.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Visited back in February as part of a groupon hotel deal and after reading the negative reviews I was worried, I was however very pleasantly surprised with the hotel. A little rough around the edges but generally well kept.

Location-wise the imperial plaza is quite far from the medina and the old part of the city but a taxi ride is inexpensive or (as we did) the 45minute walk is free and takes you past lots of lovely shops, cafes, ice cream parlours etc in the new part of the city.
The room that we were allocated was fabulous with a large furnished and covered balcony a large bathroom and two double beds. Just wonderful. The pool area is nice but being there in February the water was still a little too cold.
We had some spa treatments included with our deal, the jacuzzi on the balcony of the spa was lovely (champagne would have made it perfect!), the sauna and hammam were not anything to write home about.

The best part of our stay here was the breakfast, the breakfast room is a beautifully tiled, covered courtyard with a fountain in the centre and beautiful carved archways. The usual continental breakfast fare was available but also a seperate bar where a chef would make you customised fresh omlettes or delicious crispy, syrupy pancakes.

Having bought a voucher to stay here I would say that the value was fantastic however having paid full price I may have felt differently. One other thing. definitely explore the little shops and restaurants around the hotel, had some fantastic food from a little kebab place and a great bakery only a couple of minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel in advance and request a nice room. We did and got a fantastic double double room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We also booked via Groupon and had 4 nights at the Imperial Plaza Hotel. We were very concerned having read all the awful reviews on tripadvisor, however were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was clean, well maintained and the staff were lovely and most helpful. The breakfast was really good (again confused as to what others have complained about). The amenities were good and the quick, frequent and easy bus ride direct to the Souks was fantastic at 4dh. We were really pleased with the location, after a full day in the mayhem of the souks and medina it was a welcome respite to be able to escape to our nice and quiet hotel room.

All in all if you are expecting something akin to Claridges (which I have a sneaking suspicion many of those who left poor reviews were) then don't stay here. If you are after a good hotel in a convenient location with a good breakfast to set you up for the day and friendly staff then do stay here. Very happy and would stay again.

Thanks Imperial Plaza :D

PS Just to clarify our experience of what others have complained about:
Our transfers to and from the airport were on time, I had eggs for breakfast and they were not black, our towels were changed everyday and we were never left without any, Nadia is lovely as are all the staff, everything worked as it should in our room. In closing I think some people are just born moaners and like to complain, take their reviews with a pinch of salt as we had an enjoyable stay at the Imperial Plaza.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

First impression of the hotel - shabby !

As others said, reception dull and aquarium dirty, only one poor surviving fish ! Why not get rid of the aquarium all together, if you can not or do not want to maintain it !!!

The room that first was given to us, was shabby and bathroom dirty, with twin beds, when i requested a double bed at booking.

I asked to be moved and we were lucky to get a lovely clean room with a nice balcony on high floor with good view of the courtyard - very pleased with it! Bed very comfy too !

Staff were very nice, clean towels every day - breakfast simple but ok with good mint tea served in a beautiful room with carved walls and wall paintings !

Over all, good stay ! If you smile you get good and kind service - i can not complain about it :)


Got to add, the spa is a joke - don,t bother lol - The jacuzzi on 6th floor balcony is really dodgy ! Step for it, was a old plastic chair and so unsafe near balcony railing ! I tried it but will never again - It,s a accident waiting to happen !

Pool looked nice, but did not try as was very cold .

Room Tip: Ask for high floor, courtyard view ! We found lovely local cheap good food restaurant, name is Im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We booked our stay here through groupon and, after reading the reviews on here, didn't really know what to expect however had a great stay here and will definitely be coming back. From the moment we were met at the airport we were thoroughly looked after. Nadia met us at check-in with mint tea and helped us fill out all the paperwork. She asked what we were wanting to see and do during our stay and steered us right every step of the way. From letting us know how much to expect to pay for cabs to various places to sending us to the local souks rather than tourist traps to telling us how not to get ripped off and recommending excellent excursions she definitely made our visit so much more special. Speaking to people on the trips who had booked through other hotels Nadia definitely looked out for us, got us the best deals and told us exactly what to expect. An excellent ambassador for the hotel. All the staff here were first class and we were thoroughly looked after. The hammam was a great experience and while the pool was too cold to go in it was a beautiful place to watch the sunset from. Our room was clean and comfortable with a view over the gardens, a nice haven from the madness of the city. Breakfast was good, loved the flatbreads made fresh in front of you and the fig and honey spread was incredible. All in all an amazing stay in a great city, we'll definitely be back and look forward to seeing what Nadia recommends next time!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss International Imperial Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss International Imperial Plaza

Address: Abdelkrim Khattabi Avenue | Semlalia Street, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#153 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#159 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss International Imperial Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss International Plaza is an exquisite hotel, centrally located with rooms opening to views either of the Marrakech city with the backdrop of Atlas Mountain or of the lush green hotel courtyard. A fully serviced hotel with facilities for both business and leisure travelers with its location making it an ideal hotel to discover the rich culture and tradition of Morocco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Swiss International Imperial Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Plaza Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss International Imperial Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.