We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, Poor Customer Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Jardin des Reves

Save Saved
You added Riad Jardin des Reves to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Jardin des Reves
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   70 Derb Sidi Lahcen ou Ali Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #339 of 1,054 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Poor Customer Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed in Marrakech for 4 nights at this riad. It was located about 12 minute walk to the Jemaa El Fna inside the medina (take Rue Fatima Zohra).At first we were concerned about the location, it seemed confusing and back through some winding streets that we thought would be very dark at night, but once we got our sense of the area, it was easy and the streets are very brightly lit at night. The riad is nice and decorated well. My room was Double Oliveraie.

However, we got few issues, especially with the customer service:
1. Only one guy can speak English and he was not always at the riad. They prefer French and it is not easy since we only speak English.

2. The toilet doesn't have door, only cover by thin curtain. OK fine no door, but can somebody change the thin curtain with a 'real' curtain so that we can do our 'important' business comfortably.

3. On our fourth night at the hotel, the air-conditioner was not working. I asked what happened but nobody could explain why because they don't bother to explain us what happened and they obviously have no customer service! So, no air-conditioner for the night until next morning.

4. On our first day, I check the white bed sheet ( I always do that when stay in the hotel), I spotted stains on the bed sheet and a strand of hair. I have a feeling that they did not change the bed sheet since the previous guests stay there. The next two days, I still using the same bed sheet until I made complaint and asked them to change it!(yes you hear me right)

5. On the net they say that they accept payment using credit card but on that day the machine was not working and they ask for cash and I have no enough cash in hand. Instead of solving the credit card machine problem, they ask me to withdraw cash using my credit card which I don't want to (it was late evening and I'm checking out very early in the next morning, they were no ATM machine nearby). I tell you what, if you want to do this kind of business, don't put your credit card machine problem to your guests! It is not our problem at all. So, better have enough cash in hand. By the way, they charge extra 4% for the payment using credit card.

6. The bed-side table has a pillow on it. Yes, why on earth that a bed-side table has a pillow on it? Can somebody please take the pillow off of the bed-side table because not only it is 'weird' but the pillow itself dirty and has no purpose (please check photo appended).

7. Can somebody clean the toilet floor properly, thank you.

8. The hotel patio and terrace was dusty and was not tidy up for long. You can tell by checking the dust on the table, chair and outdoor sofa.

This riad is nice but looking at their professionalism level, I'm worried they will not be long in this business.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    28
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
45
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed in Marrakesh for 4 nights in total at this riad. It is very well located, about a 10 minute walk to the Jemaa El Fna inside the medina. The staff are extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. It is located in a somewhat quieter area, which makes it pleasant compared to the madness of the Jemaa El Fna. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Overall a great place to stay and would highly recommend this riad to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Our original hotel fell through so my girlfriend and I got relocated here. It was amazing. We were met with local tea and pastries. The breakfast was fresh and delicious and there was nothing that was too much trouble for the hosts. They were very friendly and the hotel was in a perfect location about 15minutes walk from the market. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Only 6 rooms, but all great. Only inside looking view, but definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

The riad was one of the highlights of our trip to Marrakech. We were greeted with tea and traditional Moroccan sweets upon arrival. The atmosphere is wonderful, quiet, and peaceful, and the staff are super helpful. Breakfast was two courses, juice and tea, which was all really good. The rooms are very new, state of the art bathroom and shower. The riad is in the Madina, but the main square was a 10-15 minute walk.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed there by default as we had reserved a room in another riad. At the other riad, they told us they booked us at this riad, so at first we were a bit apprehensive about it. However when we got there, we saw how beautiful and quiet it was. Very modern in decoration (I would have preferred the traditional one) and private, at the end of some winding streets. Location wise it's okay. A bit difficult to find the first few times as it feels like a labyrinth to get there, but once familiar with the area its fine. From the Jemaa is about 10-15min, depending if you get lost on your way or not. The area is away from the hustle and bustle of the main areas, very close to the Bab Doukkala Bus Station which has the 19 bus to and from the airport. In terms of appearance, the property was beautiful, very clean, quiet, modern and trendy. Nice hot shower. We had the only room in the rooftop which made it very private. Breakfast, which was included, was very good and enough to keep you going. In regards to service, it wasn't bad but it wasn't the best either. The staff, two girls who spoke French and a man who could speak English were very nice, however, not engaging. They walked around not noticing us and we felt we were left alone. As another review said, it's good if you know the city and its not your first visit, but if you want to be better informed find some place else. We didn't feel that Moroccan hospitality. I also found that the prices were a bit high for what it was. Food and excursion/transfers where expensive compared to what you could find in the streets. We even consider that the price per night is also high for the service you receive. For us it was an upgrade from what we booked, so we didn't pay the "real" price, but would not have stayed there if it wasn't for that.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

The riyad was really nice. It was a wonderful atmosphere. No noise or any other disturbance. The service was very good. The breakfast is totally enough. Unfortunately, the riyad is about 15mins from the Jemaa-efna away, but therefore it is near to the Souks and Mederesa ben Youssef. I would prefer the bigger room when not travelling alone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

If you are looking for a beautiful, well appointed riad in Marrakech, this place is stunning. At first we were concerned about the location, it seemed confusing and back through some winding streets that we thought would be very dark at night and as 2 women we were concerned. Once we got our sense of the area, it was easy and the streets are very brightly lit at night. If you can get to the mosque in the area, it is a 5 minute walk. This was a beautiful, peaceful riad, tranquil and elegant. If you do not need help with directions, or suggestions, and are okay with a place where you are really on your own, this is great. We speak English, Spanish and Italian, but no French and that was a problem. It was difficult to communicate so if you need that, this is not the place for you. It feels more European, without the Moroccan hospitality that we encountered everywhere else. For example, everywhere we went, we were greeted with mint tea to welcome us, but not here. At first we'd felt like we made a mistake and thought about changing riads, but decided not to take the time to do that. In the end we were very glad to be there, it was the most beautiful place we'd stayed but it was like we rented an apt. for ourselves with no one to ask questions of. So, it feels important to know this before you decide to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Jardin des Reves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jardin des Reves

Address: 70 Derb Sidi Lahcen ou Ali Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 1,054 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Jardin des Reves 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Riad Jardin des Reves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Jardin des Reves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.