We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chakib is the 'Host with the Most'!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Tasnime

Save Saved
You added Dar Tasnime to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dar Tasnime
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   131 Derb Hammam, Kasbah, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #265 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Bath, UK
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Chakib is the 'Host with the Most'!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

I took my Mum and a friend to Marrakesh for a week' holiday in May, and Dar Tasnime was ideal in many ways.
It is close to many of the cultural attractions, and within walking distance of many more (even with some very slow walkers in-tow!!!).
Although there is re-development going on around the riad, (which was a bit noisy and dusty during the day), once inside all is tranquil and beautifully arranged. I looked in all the rooms and can confirm that they all live up to the web-site photos - they're beautiful, and each has its own individual character. I was lucky and had a balcony looking over the courtyard, but my Mum was equally pleased with her pretty and cosy room on the ground floor.

Although there is a pretty lounge adjoining the courtyard, the main public area is the terrace, where we ate generous breakfasts (included in the price), lounged in the sun, and enjoyed evening G+T's (duty-free's!) and an assortment of snacks from the nearby 'Nut vendor' and 'local store'! Chakib the owner was more than happy for us to help ourselves from the kitchen, (and we tried to tidy up after ourselves!).

I would say that the biggest gem of all at Dar Tasnime is indeed Chakib! He is the most warm and helpful hotel proprietor I have ever met, he speaks perfect English, (having spent 10 years in the US), and being a Marrakechi born-and-bred, he will give you all the info and tips you could possible wish for. He made us feel exceptionally welcome and safe in a city which can sometimes be challenging! He will give you restaurant recommendations (the new place nearby is beautiful, with great food and service plus very high quality musicians and an unobtrusive but beautiful Belly dancer(!!), and can arrange most anything you have in mind.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neerpelt, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

Riad Dar Tasnime is a fantastic place, the room was very beautiful with a lot of typical maroccan decoration. Everything is very clean and the location is excellent, close to the square, all the main attractions and to a gate (easy when you want to hire a car and don't want to drive the crazy streets of Marrakech?!)

The owner, Chakib, is very friendly and helpfull. He made us feel welcome from the beginning. He explained a lot about Marrakech and gave us a map and of course a good cup of mint tea! He helped us also with car hire and other excursions.

When we ever come back to Marrakech we will definitely come back to Chakib and his wonderfull Riad!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Thanks to previous Tripadvisor reviews we found this gem in the hearth of the Medina, very close to Saadian Tombs.
Chakib, the owner is a friendly, helpful man who welcomed us with a delicious hot mint tea in this small cosy Riad (5 rooms).
We booked one of the suites where we felt like in Bahia Palace !
Excellent breakfast on the terrace, perfect trip to this wonderful Marrakech, we well come back for sure. Thanks Chakib !

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

lovely little riad run by a very freindly guy, Chakib, who went out of his way to make sure we got the most out of our stay in Marrakech. Clean, comfortable and quiet in a good location 10 mins stroll from Jamaa al-Fna. Fantastic fresh orange juice with breakfast on the roof terrace while wathcing the storks flying. Don't be put off by the proximty of the mosque, we hardly heard a thing during our stay and had the best 4 nights sleep I can remember. Thoroughly reccomend it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

Our host Chakib greeted us in a very friendly relaxed manner with mint tea and information about the Riad and Marrakesh. Our room was gorgeous on the 2nd floor with comfortable bed, huge bathroom and lounge area. Breakfast on the terrace was served by two charming women. The Riad was very clean, comfortable, quiet except for the birds in the morning and the mosque next door which we felt was part of the experience. Dar Tasnime is a short 10 minute walk to the main square and souks etc. centrally located in the Kasbah area. My only piece of advise is to make sure you have cash when you arrive - payment is in advance is requested.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Having scoured the internet looking at different Riad's and their reiews for weeks, my girlfriend and I finally booked Dar Tasime. Chakib is a wonderful, interesting, and engaging man. From start to finish, he was tirelessly hospitable; even going as far as to walk us to Jama Al-Fna the first day and show us how to get there and back, what to eat/not eat, where to shop and not get ripped off, etc. I would give him stars if I could and I will be sure to stay again,

P.S. GO TO LES BAINES DE MARRAKECH, words cannot describe it.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Quintessential Marrakech! This was a lovely and very clean Riad in the kasbah. The proprietor and staff were exceptionally kind. The place doesn't look like much from the outside as there is construction going on in this little area next to the Saadian Tombs (don't waste your time there by the way), but inside is a quaint oasis. The owner takes pride in his establishment and has paid attention to detail in the decoration of rooms. It is also located next to a Mosque. It is part of the experience to hear the call to prayer, and we thought it was great, but if you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs. Breakfast on the roofdeck is relaxing and tasty, especially the mint tea!

In terms of safety, it's around the corner from the busier streets, and can seem a little sketchy at night. You may want to take a "petit taxi" to get home, just to be on the safe side. We were two women traveling and did not feel threatened, but also respected cultural norms and dressed appropriately.

Lastly, we LOVED the Bains de Marrakech, located only a block away from here! Make your reservations in advance for a luxurious and very affordable spa treatment, Moroccan style.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Tasnime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Tasnime

Address: 131 Derb Hammam, Kasbah, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Tasnime 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Dar Tasnime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Tasnime, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.