We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Tasnime

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dar Tasnime to your Saves list
Dar Tasnime
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   131 Derb Hammam, Kasbah, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #294 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
derbyshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

It is well worth being collected from the airport as the riad is fairly difficult to find but once found is unforgettable. We had a wonderful four night stay and Chakib, our host, was extremely attentive and informative. Although the nights were cold we were beautifully warm as all the rooms had air conditioning. The riad is ideally located for all the sites and we would thoroughly recommend it for a memorable experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The World
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

If you want to travel to Marrakech and you want comfortable place to stay in for couple of days then Dar Tasnime is the place to be.
Really, we were a couple with our young daughter zeina, we arrived there and were welcomed warmly by the manager Chakib, he offered us very delicious moroccan tea on arrival and gave us very wonderful tips about where to go in Marrackesh.

The room was very spacious, very comfortable, clean and very warm, it has its own heating system to warm up the room * it was cold at night * but inside we felt very warm.

The breakfast was hand made, with fresh squeezed orange juice on the roof of the terrace, it was delicious, indeed very delicious.

This Dar has also free WI FI internet inside every room, it was greatly helpful for us as we depend so much on the internet for our travel.

I would not hesitate to come again to Dar Tasnime and sure, it will be our only option when we come back soon in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

Riad Dar Tasnime is very convenient to the airport and the service makes most luxury hotels look bad. Chaqib, the owner is incredibly hospitable and wants to get to know all of his guests. He called the airport numerous times and even gave us a ride to pick up our lost baggage. He is incredibly well informed about the best local and tourist spots in Marrakech and will bend over backwards to meet your every request. My areas for improvement are the following. 1. We stayed in the suite which had a balcony over the courtyard. The doorway to the bathroom has a beautiful Moroccan wood carving towards the top that scratched me a few times when walking into the bathroom. I am a 6'0'' 170lbs man and I was too wide to walk straight into the bathroom without grazing my shoulders on the sharp doorway sculpture. 2. Our hot water was inconsistent. 3. If you are not a muslim, the riad is very close to a large mosque and the early call to prayer will wake you up. Maybe some minor insulation within the doorways could help buffer the sound slightly. Other than that, a fantastic stay and great value!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

The reviews are pretty accurate- this place is great... Chakib is incredibly helpful, and the mint tea he serves is indeed the best we tasted in Marrakech! The decor is beautiful, and the location is very handy for all the sights. The early morning call to prayer didn't bother us, we just rolled over and went back to sleep! Kind of adds to the whole experience too. Breakfast was delicious, and the best fresh orange juice! Would definitely return to this place, and am recommending it to my family for their forthcoming trip to Morrocco!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

i would definately recommend this riad to anyone visiting Marrakech. From the moment we arrived we receieved a fantastic service. BIG thanks to Chakib!!! Rooms are beautifully decorated and clean.. And it has a fantastic terrace in which you can catch the rays and eat a yummy breakfast.

Me and my friend are very well travalled and are used to staying in TOP 5* international hotels, so were a bit dubieous in stopping in a riad. But we were soon put to ease. ...Chakib told us the best places to eat and sorted all our reservations- Also he went to the pharmacy and brought medication for my friend when she was poorly..

Dont be put of by the Pray calls.. its just tradition- like the church bells here........

PS: Recommend anyone to eat at the Jad Mahal.. Great stuff....

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

Never had such a good treatment in any hotel, Chakib REALLY goes out of his way to help you and make you have the best time in Marrakech. He drove me and my friends in his car when we needed, always told us what to do in the city, did the reservations when we wanted and was always waiting for us at the hotel to serve us some delicious hot mint tea! He let us also use his computer and the hotel has wifi. As the hotel has only 5 rooms you get a lot attention! Rooms are incredibly beaultiful, just like all the hotel, are very clean and comfortable. Hotel looks and smells great! You can walk to all the atractions of the city from the hotel. If you stay there it is guaranteed you are gonna have the best time in Marrakech, Chakib will do it! You won't need to worry about anything, breakfast, transportation from and to the airport, what to do, where to eat, shop and relax.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

Not only did we not recieve one bad piece of advice from Chakib, this riad is in a great location, very clean, and really made our stay in Marrakech an excellent one!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Tasnime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Tasnime

Address: 131 Derb Hammam, Kasbah, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #294 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Tasnime 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Dar Tasnime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Tasnime, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.