We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location, very friendly service, a must stay on a budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad 34

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad 34 to your Saves list
Riad 34
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Riad Zitoun Jdid Derb Lahbib No. 34, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #609 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
lymington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect location, very friendly service, a must stay on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

from start to finish my stay at the Riad 34 was a great experience, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful although my French is terrible. The French owners where there from time to time and always asked how we were and how we were enjoying Marrakech. The breakfast was more than ample and thoroughly enjoyed the pancakes although we did joke amongst ourselves about the spicy coffee but we still consumed it three days running so couldn't of been that bad. Marrakech is a wonderful place for a short break and the Riad 34 has a perfect location for everything that you would want and need to see whilst visiting the city. The only hair I could pick with the whole trip was being on the ground floor which is the breakfast area/reception/lobby and courtyard so privacy was at a minimum when in your room unless you shut every blind and door but to be honest we were never woken by noise and security wasn't an issue just would of been nice to be on the landing above. Also the open plan of the bathroom being part of the bedroom didn't impress my other half at first when she realised she would have to be a bystander whilst I took care of my morning necessities but again this didn't dampen the mood and all in all for the money paid you cant complain if you want the feel of almost a homestay in a great location then Riad 34 is a must. We came away from Marrakech with fond memories and we both said we'd stay at the Riad 34 again and have already recommended it to friends

Room Tip: ask for an upstairs room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    46
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
56
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

34 Riad is down several alleys where cars can't go so you must carry your luggage a long distance. Once you get there it is worth the trouble. The rooms are charming, the staff is friendly, and it is quiet. Breakfast comes with the room and it is good and filling.

The location in the Medina means you are close to the action of Marrakesh.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

After lots of research on Tripadvisor, we booked Riad 34 at least 6 weeks in advance for our first ever holiday in Morocco. We emailed again shortly before flying out and they replied confirming a meal on the first evening. However, on arrival, we were told by Rasheed that our room was 'being renovated' and they therefore had no rooms for us. This was blatantly not the case - he was not prepared to show us the room (said he didn't have a key?).

When I asked why we couldn't have been warned about this, we were told that they thought it better to book us another riad and 'surprise us'. This was after 8pm at night in the middle of the medina. We didn't know Marrakech at all. When I expressed my disbelief and disappointment, Racheed went on to say that he wasn't the owner and it wasn't his fault. He was there on his own. I asked to speak to the owner and was told this wasn't possible as he was in France.

At my insistence, he finally phoned the owner's wife. She also continued the line of it being better to surprise us, rather than email us ahead. Unbelievable! We presume they had double booked. Eventually, a taxi was called and we were shipped off to another riad at about 9pm - no dinner available at this new one. (We were offered bread and jam while we waited for the taxi). The new riad was fine but further out of the centre and, not the one we had picked!

This shows complete disrespect for potential guests and was a really depressing start to our first holiday in Morocco. It also reflects badly onTripadvisor and Booking.com

Please be careful this doesn't happen to you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Leo, Salee and Rasheed were exceptional host!!! Riad 34 was key in making our stay in Marakech a magical one. I hope to one day come back and stay here again and see this wonderful Riad and these wonderful people. The riad itself was truly charming. The rooms was very very comfortable. The breakfast they served was nothing but exceptional-the mint tea was by far the best in all of Marakech. I truly felt like we entered as valued customers and left as friends. THEY TRULY KNOW HOW TO TREAT THEIR GUESTS!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We came to Marrakesh by surprise, so we didn't had any idea where to find a good place to stay or a reservation. After a walk during the whole morning we asked other tourists where they did stay. Then we found the first best riads, but very expensive. The people of these Riads showed us other Riads until somebody told us about Riad 34. A room with a price we were able to pay. Arriving in the Riad, Rachid, the host, was very friendly. He showed us where to go but also where not to go. During the whole stay he was nice to talk to and he speaks very good english. The riad is clean, it was a big room with a good atmosphere. The serve a great breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

A quaint less-than-10-room establishment in the old Medina. Very clean with authentic Moroccan décor and ambience. Friendly and very helpful English-speaking staff. It's even better if you can speak French since it's their first language.

We stayed there during Ramadhan/fasting month - the staff woke us up at 3am for our 'sahur' and served our meal in the courtyard. Perfect for Muslim travellers

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Riad 34 was our first stop in Morocco and was a beautiful way to start our holiday. The location is perfect right in the heart of the medina, but makes it difficult to locate the first time so beware the touts offering to help! There's an exchange and a host of little shops right round the corner. The riad itself is pretty and tastefully decorated. Our hosts were very attentive and always willing to help if we needed to leave our bags overnight or get an early breakfast. Would definitely recommend it!!

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs have a lovely view of the courtyard and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Amssaffah
Riad Amssaffah
#397 of 481 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cala Medina
Cala Medina
#263 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Africa
Riad Africa
#76 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Zinoun
Riad Zinoun
#160 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Les Jardins des Lilas
Riad Les Jardins des Lilas
#234 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dubai
Riad Dubai
#527 of 1,135 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad 34? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad 34

Address: Riad Zitoun Jdid Derb Lahbib No. 34, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #609 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad 34 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad 34 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad 34 Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad 34, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.