We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedbugs!!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riad 34

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad 34 to your Saves list
Riad 34
Riad Zitoun Jdid Derb Lahbib No. 34, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #594 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bedbugs!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Avoid room on top of the office, we've stayed overthere for 4 nights - and we've got bitten every single nights with bedbugs, we couldn't even sleep, my husband and i spent the nights looking for bedbugs. We've told the staffs the 2nd day about it and they had cleaned the room and also used insect killer spray on the mattress but it was still the same... I've also noticed some other tourists staying in the lower room got bitten as well. the riad is like an open hall, so whenever somebody speaks or even flush the toilet, the next door neighbour can hear it. At the riad, you can't sleep till late in the morning because it's vry noisy.

The bathroom was terrible - smelly, no shower holder, very very very tiny.

Apart from the above, the service was good and staffs were friendly. only 1 staff speaks english, so you better speak french. Breakfast was very nice - everyday different kinds of pancakes were served with butter, jams, croissant and tea/coffee.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    38
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
48
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Setubal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I Liked it very much! It´s is a little riad in a quiet place in the medina, but within walking distance of the El jemma. It is also very close to others points of interest like the bahia palace, el badi palace, the saadian tumbs and one museum. That said, the location is excellent, the only minor problem is that it is not a very simple to learn the way into the hotel once you enter in the medina. The riad is comfortable, and very nice, full of character. The staff is very helpful and nice. The breakfast is also good. The downside is that the lower rooms are very humid. The rustic constructions that gives it the great atmosphere, bring others some downsides, like the tiny size of the bathrooms. Expect one confortable and very nice riad, not one luxury hotel.
Nevertheless i Highly recommend it!!

Room Tip: Choose the upper rooms, those dont have humidity issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Fantastic place. They made us a great breakfast every morning, just for us and tailored to our taste. This hotel is a small place with a few rooms and very cosy but also very comfortable. One of my favorite places ever. I would love to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Riad 34 worked for us on many levels: the location is ideal as you are in a peaceful 'corner' of the Medina and yet can access the main square in minutes. We liked the authentic, un-fussy nature of it and equally that of the staff who could not have done more for us - I am fortunate enough to be well travelled and would say that Moroccan hospitality is amongst the best.

The rooms are comfortable and quiet though I would recommend the room with the windows onto the street for extra air during the warmer months. The terrace is delightfully cool in the evening and a refuge from anywhere busy.

I would recommend taking the offer of an airport pick-up (although it is a little steep) as the Riad is situated in typically labryinth like lanes and you'll never find it alone!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

we turned up not knowing what to expect for a 2 star but it was fab, clean, tidy and quiet. the people working there were superb. breakfast was delicious ! only problem was there is no door on the bathroom just a doorway, so if you are a little bashful you will have to sing !!
Would recommend

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortosa, Spain
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

I booked 4 nights here because of the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor. Everything written about this riad is absolutely correct & I'm very glad that I took previous guests' comments on board. Don't try to find the riad on your own. I recommend, if arriving by plane, take up the riad's offer of a taxi from the airport. I arrived early at the airport (7.30 am) & the taxi driver was waiting for us. A short drive took us to the nearest parking area to the riad & we were met by a smiling Younes, who took us on the very short walk to the riad. It is set along a very narrow street, quiet & ideally located away from the hustle & bustle. You will be able to easily navigate yourself back in a short time. Clean, comfortable rooms and nice breakfast with excellent coffee & fresh orange juice. I was in room 5 & the lock is still broken, however the riad is a very safe environment & either Younes (day manager) or Osama (night manager) will be always on site. You are given a key to the outside door & can come & go as you please. It's a shortish walk to the main square although you will have to dodge the many motorcycles which frequent the small streets these days. We booked through the riad a trip into the Atlas mountains to the valley of Imlil, guide turned up on time & it was no problem to have an earlier breakfast. The riad was very much part of our Marrakesh enjoyment.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, UK
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

After finding the Riad which took a while, we were greeted by a friendly young man. We were asked to have a seat and relax while they served us some tea. We were then shown to our room which was spacious and beautiful. The room was very clean and tidy. We were asked when we would like breakfast which was great because we wanted to leave early for sight-seeing. The Riad was very quiet and away from the hustle of the Medina, near the Palace and a Museum. Overall it was an enjoyable stay and is great for budget travelers that would like a little privacy.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad 34? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad 34

Address: Riad Zitoun Jdid Derb Lahbib No. 34, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #594 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad 34 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad 34 Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad 34, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.