We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the medina.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zaouia 44

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bookmark
You added Zaouia 44 to your Saves list
Zaouia 44
44 Taht Sour Sghir | taht sour sghir, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #229 of 1,071 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An oasis in the medina.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There is so much to say about this stay.Riad Zaouia is a bit hard to locate we could never get back without help or a taxi.also its behind the souks and a bit scary to walk to at night.but the riad itself is an oasis after the chaos of the souks.clean and beautiful we enjoyed our time in the medina.Mohamed was always there to help and run to get us food and make us complimentary tea and coffee when we got home! Our bed was supercomfy and lots of hot water in the shower.a couple of comments we booked a massage supposed to be 300dirhams and were charged 450dirhams because we had a reflexology massage which we did not ask for so be careful what you ask for.also breakfast could have been better.im very analytical but overall this stay was perfect and we got a better experience of local marrakesh rather than staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    19
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
41
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

First, Mohammed the Manager/Concierge/Local expert is the best 100%.
He tends to any and all needs you may have, whether it's a million questions or a bottle of wine (he actually ran down the block to fetch us Coca Cola and was back before we knew he had left).

He makes an excellent friend, sitting down and chatting about Morocco (even serving us his Mother's home made soup) giving advice and directions to everything.

It is hard to find the Riad and very easy to get lost, but Mohammed was always a phone call away and would come out and meet us when the taxi pulled up.

The riad its self is an amazing oasis, the roof, rooms, courtyard, and pool (amazing after a long day of wandering). There's no tv in the rooms and the internet (on some devices) worked best when in the courtyard, but we don't travel to do what we can do at home.

I will say, even from two people that have been to souks and crazy streets in other countries, Marrakech can be a lot to take in and once you walk out the riad door, you're in it.
Donkeys, families on mopeds, kids playing, and everything else you can't imagine.

Again, Mohammed and staff are what we in the states call, "Johnny on the spot".
Whatever you need (ashtray, clean room, tea, transportation, etc.) they've already got it for you.

Only heads up I would mention, some things are able to be put on your bill, but other things have to be paid in Dirham or Euro, so ask in advance, cause the closest bank (there's a few) is a few blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckie
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Have just returned from a 5 night stay at this Riad and cannot recommend it highly enough. The whole place has a feeling of calm serenity in a city that is truly an assault of the senses. The rooms are clean, cool and the beds comfortable. The breakfast served on the rooftop was adequate for me but may be a bit repetitive for those who enjoy a hearty breakfast. Visiting Marrakech in early may was probably not the best idea as the temperatures were in to the 40's and meant we spent more time at the Riad than planned to escape the heat.
Miriam deserves a mention as she provides such kind unobtrusive service she even "rescued" us when we got lost ! She has such a warm personality that makes you feel reassured that everything will be fine as long as she is around.
Zaouia 44 is not easy to locate given that it is on the edge of the Medina and is literally behind a black door with no identifying signs so be careful to pay attention to other landmarks if you hope to find your way back after a visit to the souks etc. Young children at play outside the "black door" added to the authentic feel of the area this accommodation is located in.( Some of them are a bit naughty I might add)
This was a perfect place to stay for our first visit to Marrakech and look forward to visiting again in the future .Special thanks to Miriam and cheeky chappy Sadiq

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londres
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed as a group of girlfriends in this Riad for 1 night only and you cannot fault anything with this amazing property.

The design is so pure, elegant, squeeking clean and very practical. You can sense that everything has been thought of!
The sun terrace is just massive with plenty of sun king size mattresses.
There is even a “cinema room” on the 1st floor so please don’t forget your DVDs!
The Wi-Fi doesn’t work on the top terrace but it did on the patio and the 1st floor.

ROOMS:
For the rooms, the cotton bedding is top quality from the mattress to the pillows. The rooms are huge with great height for the ceilings.
They do have a safe provided in each room.
The bathrooms are massive too, very well appointed and with great toiletries products which was very much appreciated! Maybe the owners shall think of providing some bathrobes for an extra touch and “home feeling”

Saadique and Mohamed have been fantastic hosts and we cannot thank them enough for their hospitality and customer service especially for sorting out a little issue we had with one of the ground floor rooms.

The only negative point would be the location. This Riad is located in Bab Tharzought so a good 15-17 min walking distance to the main square. If you prefer to be closer to the action, I would suggest booking at Azzouna13 but for us it was just perfect!!

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We booked this riad Zaouiaa44 in July 2013 for our trip to Morocco in April 2014. We booked for 5 nights and paid a deposit via paypal. IN April 2014, one week before we were due to fly out of the country and 8 days before we were due to stay in Zaoiaa44 I received an email from Sophie the owner saying that she had made a mistake in her booking and we could not stay there for nights - only 3 nights were available. We were gobsmacked to say the least. She offered us 5 nights in her 'other riad" which from the website looked awful with no leafy courtyard. She offered us 2 nights at another riad and then 3 nights in Zaouia44 - we explained that especially with a 10 year old we needed to arrive, unpack and stay for 5 nights.
Her explanation for the mistake was something to do with her booking system - she never explained why we had to move and not the other people - we booked 9 months in advance and paid a deposit!!! She indicated that she had made this type of error before!!
DONT RISK IT! WE had to book somewhere else at the last minute which was not easy. Stay somewhere else - there are plenty of reliable and great riads in Marrakesh!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6sou, Propriétaire at Zaouia 44, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
All reservations must be confirmed by payment of a deposit. We never received the deposit. when these customers have contacted us, one month before arrival, the booking was not confirmed and we have no rooms available at zaouia44.
We have offered them to stay in our second riad azzouna13, located nearby. They refused. Then we proposed other riads, they doesn't like them. We are really sorry and understand their disappointment, but it is imperative to send a deposit to confirm a reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

When you like minimal Moroccon chic, this (and their sister sister property Azzouna 13) is the place to be. After a day spent in the buzzling Medina, it's delightful to drink some mint tea (or white wine) in the beautiful courtyard. The garden with white roses ads to the feel of serenity and the breakfast and dinners on the roof terrace are great. Both Sadik and the manager from Zaouia 44 are extremely nice and helpful. Highly recommended for a relaxing and esthetical experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Well designed rooms and public spaces, nice rooftop sun terrace, delicious food, sweet staff who provided very good service, good location in a residential neighborhood yet within easy walking distance of the central medina/souks, good value for prices. I reduced my rating to very good due to a few administrative issues that were not hassle or stress free.

A tip about tipping (in general in Morocco, given their extraordinary level of hospitality and service)... Generously tip each who have served you at the end of your stay - they deserve it! You can tell them upfront that you'll tip at the end to make it easier on yourself, otherwise you'll be tipping non-stop for their consistently outstanding service. I was recommended by an experienced Frenchman in Morocco to tip a minimum of 50 Dirhams per person per day, remembering if you eat at the riad that you would normally be giving a 10-12 percent tip at the restaurants for your meals. An exception would be to tip upfront 10-20 dirhams per day for each of the cleaners, who will give you great in-room service.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good at Zaouia 44.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zaouia 44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zaouia 44

Address: 44 Taht Sour Sghir | taht sour sghir, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 1,071 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zaouia 44 is an old remains calm and serene near Bab targhzout square, sister of Jemaa el Fna, 15mn walk to it and 5 minutes from the souks.It offers 7 large bedrooms, each with a lounge and a bathroom tadelakt traditional. Guests can swimm in the pool of the large patio or relax on one of the 4 terraces overlooking the medina and the chain of Atlas Mountains nearby.For your well-being, Zaouia 44 offers a traditional hammam tadelakt black and a massage room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Prestigia so you can book your Zaouia 44 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaouia 44 Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaouia 44, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.