We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ecellent Riad, very pure and calm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaouia 44

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Zaouia 44 to your Saves list
Zaouia 44
44 Taht Sour Sghir | taht sour sghir, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #291 of 1,071 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Londres
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Ecellent Riad, very pure and calm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed as a group of girlfriends in this Riad for 1 night only and you cannot fault anything with this amazing property.

The design is so pure, elegant, squeeking clean and very practical. You can sense that everything has been thought of!
The sun terrace is just massive with plenty of sun king size mattresses.
There is even a “cinema room” on the 1st floor so please don’t forget your DVDs!
The Wi-Fi doesn’t work on the top terrace but it did on the patio and the 1st floor.

ROOMS:
For the rooms, the cotton bedding is top quality from the mattress to the pillows. The rooms are huge with great height for the ceilings.
They do have a safe provided in each room.
The bathrooms are massive too, very well appointed and with great toiletries products which was very much appreciated! Maybe the owners shall think of providing some bathrobes for an extra touch and “home feeling”

Saadique and Mohamed have been fantastic hosts and we cannot thank them enough for their hospitality and customer service especially for sorting out a little issue we had with one of the ground floor rooms.

The only negative point would be the location. This Riad is located in Bab Tharzought so a good 15-17 min walking distance to the main square. If you prefer to be closer to the action, I would suggest booking at Azzouna13 but for us it was just perfect!!

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    19
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
41
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We booked this riad Zaouiaa44 in July 2013 for our trip to Morocco in April 2014. We booked for 5 nights and paid a deposit via paypal. IN April 2014, one week before we were due to fly out of the country and 8 days before we were due to stay in Zaoiaa44 I received an email from Sophie the owner saying that she had made a mistake in her booking and we could not stay there for nights - only 3 nights were available. We were gobsmacked to say the least. She offered us 5 nights in her 'other riad" which from the website looked awful with no leafy courtyard. She offered us 2 nights at another riad and then 3 nights in Zaouia44 - we explained that especially with a 10 year old we needed to arrive, unpack and stay for 5 nights.
Her explanation for the mistake was something to do with her booking system - she never explained why we had to move and not the other people - we booked 9 months in advance and paid a deposit!!! She indicated that she had made this type of error before!!
DONT RISK IT! WE had to book somewhere else at the last minute which was not easy. Stay somewhere else - there are plenty of reliable and great riads in Marrakesh!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6sou, Propriétaire at Zaouia 44, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
All reservations must be confirmed by payment of a deposit. We never received the deposit. when these customers have contacted us, one month before arrival, the booking was not confirmed and we have no rooms available at zaouia44.
We have offered them to stay in our second riad azzouna13, located nearby. They refused. Then we proposed other riads, they doesn't like them. We are really sorry and understand their disappointment, but it is imperative to send a deposit to confirm a reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

When you like minimal Moroccon chic, this (and their sister sister property Azzouna 13) is the place to be. After a day spent in the buzzling Medina, it's delightful to drink some mint tea (or white wine) in the beautiful courtyard. The garden with white roses ads to the feel of serenity and the breakfast and dinners on the roof terrace are great. Both Sadik and the manager from Zaouia 44 are extremely nice and helpful. Highly recommended for a relaxing and esthetical experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Well designed rooms and public spaces, nice rooftop sun terrace, delicious food, sweet staff who provided very good service, good location in a residential neighborhood yet within easy walking distance of the central medina/souks, good value for prices. I reduced my rating to very good due to a few administrative issues that were not hassle or stress free.

A tip about tipping (in general in Morocco, given their extraordinary level of hospitality and service)... Generously tip each who have served you at the end of your stay - they deserve it! You can tell them upfront that you'll tip at the end to make it easier on yourself, otherwise you'll be tipping non-stop for their consistently outstanding service. I was recommended by an experienced Frenchman in Morocco to tip a minimum of 50 Dirhams per person per day, remembering if you eat at the riad that you would normally be giving a 10-12 percent tip at the restaurants for your meals. An exception would be to tip upfront 10-20 dirhams per day for each of the cleaners, who will give you great in-room service.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good at Zaouia 44.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff, slightly basic rooms and you could probably get more for your money if you looked hard enough. Breakfast served on the terrace every morning, lovely when the sun is out but again basic, just tea and toast. A good 25 mins walk from the main square Jemaa el Fna through the souks which can be very confusing! Don't listen to the young boys trying to convince you the route is closed or telling you you're going the wrong way! We found any shop keeper was helpful and pointed you in the right direction (in French!).
Positives: Friendly staff, great roof terrace, comfy beds.
Negatives: Bit basic, WIFI not available in most of the building, our room (Patio) was very noisy as we could hear people above and anyone coming into Riad at night.

Room Tip: No WIFI in Patio room and we found very loud as on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I have recently visited riad. On arrival we have been warmly greeted by the Riad manager Mohammed then given a nice moroccan tea while the check in process been completed. We had problem with the reservation but this was dealt with promptly. The breakfast was traditional, basic, fresh yet was enough and kept us on for whole day with nibble till the main meal.The Riad was nice, clean andchildren friendly. However, its about good 20 min walk from Jamaa Al Fana through very nice, historic old building and shops which makes the journey very intersting. The journey was tricky to get the direction right but people were very helpful and welling to help.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

After several amazing stays at the sister riad Azzouna 13 - this was my first stay at Zaouia 44.

Zaouia 44 provides the same tranquility, impeccable architecture, spotless rooms and excellent service as Azzouna 13.

Mohamed and Hamid were attentive and always greeted us with big smiles. On top of that Mohamed is an amazing cook. The manager Sadik was - as always - the perfect host going above and beyond.

This riad is bigger than Azzouna 13, but still has a cosy atmosphere thanks to clever architecture. The courtyard is absolutely beautiful and the splash pool calls your name after a day of exploring Marrakech.

Thanks to warm sunny days breakfast was served on the gorgeous roof terrace every morning.

Zaouia 44 is very well situated, but I personally prefer the location of Azzouna 13 being just 5 mins from the souks and 10 mins from the big square.

The WiFi only works in the courtyard because of the thick stone in the rooms upstairs – luckily there are plenty of comfortable nooks in the courtyard where you can hang out and surf the Internet.

Whenever I stay at Sophie’s riads, I feel at home immediately. It’s a safe oasis and leaving an unlocked room is no problem.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zaouia 44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zaouia 44

Address: 44 Taht Sour Sghir | taht sour sghir, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 1,071 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zaouia 44 is an old remains calm and serene near Bab targhzout square, sister of Jemaa el Fna, 15mn walk to it and 5 minutes from the souks.It offers 7 large bedrooms, each with a lounge and a bathroom tadelakt traditional. Guests can swimm in the pool of the large patio or relax on one of the 4 terraces overlooking the medina and the chain of Atlas Mountains nearby.For your well-being, Zaouia 44 offers a traditional hammam tadelakt black and a massage room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Prestigia so you can book your Zaouia 44 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaouia 44 Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaouia 44, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.