We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly but basic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zaouia 44

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Zaouia 44 to your Saves list
Zaouia 44
44 Taht Sour Sghir | taht sour sghir, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #232 of 1,070 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly but basic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff, slightly basic rooms and you could probably get more for your money if you looked hard enough. Breakfast served on the terrace every morning, lovely when the sun is out but again basic, just tea and toast. A good 25 mins walk from the main square Jemaa el Fna through the souks which can be very confusing! Don't listen to the young boys trying to convince you the route is closed or telling you you're going the wrong way! We found any shop keeper was helpful and pointed you in the right direction (in French!).
Positives: Friendly staff, great roof terrace, comfy beds.
Negatives: Bit basic, WIFI not available in most of the building, our room (Patio) was very noisy as we could hear people above and anyone coming into Riad at night.

Room Tip: No WIFI in Patio room and we found very loud as on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    19
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
41
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I have recently visited riad. On arrival we have been warmly greeted by the Riad manager Mohammed then given a nice moroccan tea while the check in process been completed. We had problem with the reservation but this was dealt with promptly. The breakfast was traditional, basic, fresh yet was enough and kept us on for whole day with nibble till the main meal.The Riad was nice, clean andchildren friendly. However, its about good 20 min walk from Jamaa Al Fana through very nice, historic old building and shops which makes the journey very intersting. The journey was tricky to get the direction right but people were very helpful and welling to help.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

After several amazing stays at the sister riad Azzouna 13 - this was my first stay at Zaouia 44.

Zaouia 44 provides the same tranquility, impeccable architecture, spotless rooms and excellent service as Azzouna 13.

Mohamed and Hamid were attentive and always greeted us with big smiles. On top of that Mohamed is an amazing cook. The manager Sadik was - as always - the perfect host going above and beyond.

This riad is bigger than Azzouna 13, but still has a cosy atmosphere thanks to clever architecture. The courtyard is absolutely beautiful and the splash pool calls your name after a day of exploring Marrakech.

Thanks to warm sunny days breakfast was served on the gorgeous roof terrace every morning.

Zaouia 44 is very well situated, but I personally prefer the location of Azzouna 13 being just 5 mins from the souks and 10 mins from the big square.

The WiFi only works in the courtyard because of the thick stone in the rooms upstairs – luckily there are plenty of comfortable nooks in the courtyard where you can hang out and surf the Internet.

Whenever I stay at Sophie’s riads, I feel at home immediately. It’s a safe oasis and leaving an unlocked room is no problem.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

this riad is really amazing, hidden in a small street in the medina, once you've entred the stillness is present! friendly and helpfull staff, breakfast on the roof terrace in the sun, the renovation is a succes, so much good taste and simplicity, cosy corners to sit and relax....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Pais Vasco, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This Riad was beyond our expectations. It is situated perfectly in the city so you get a true feel of being with the local people yet close enough to walk to the souks. The structure and architectural features are impressive and very well done with great detail. Simply yet traditionally decorated, clean, quiet and welcoming are how I can describe the facility but what made the Riad the most special place were the staff. Mohamed always greeted us with the kindest smile and always had everything we needed without hesitation, overseeing the Riad to the highest level, Sadik, the manager gave us a personal visit and spoke of the best places to go giving us good tips on maneuvering the city and we enjoyed the "Berber Whiskey" with him! Hamid, who was new during our stay, was most generous and kind, offering amazing stories of his Berber people and filled with great generosity to help in any way. Thank you all for making our time in Marrakech the absolute best! This Riad is the best!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely and each have their own special details. I don't think there is a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I recently stayed at Zaouia44 with my family and enjoyed every minute of my stay.

This old riad has been stunningly restored and updated with elegance, simplicity and style, offering a truly relaxing and rewarding experience during our stay in Marrakech. The staff are courteous, helpful, and always present, whatever the hour. The rooms are stunning down to the finest detail, the beds luxuriously comfortable and very spacious.

Find out for yourself.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have just got back from 3 days in Marrakesh. We were a large party with kids. The Riad was a haven of peace. It was calm, clean and the staff were fantastic.

And the hamam was amazing, well worth getting the whole clean and massage package.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zaouia 44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zaouia 44

Address: 44 Taht Sour Sghir | taht sour sghir, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 1,070 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zaouia 44 is an old remains calm and serene near Bab targhzout square, sister of Jemaa el Fna, 15mn walk to it and 5 minutes from the souks.It offers 7 large bedrooms, each with a lounge and a bathroom tadelakt traditional. Guests can swimm in the pool of the large patio or relax on one of the 4 terraces overlooking the medina and the chain of Atlas Mountains nearby.For your well-being, Zaouia 44 offers a traditional hammam tadelakt black and a massage room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Prestigia so you can book your Zaouia 44 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaouia 44 Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaouia 44, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.