We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hidden gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaouia 44

Save Saved
You added Zaouia 44 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zaouia 44
44 Taht Sour Sghir | taht sour sghir, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #219 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We spent a total of 4 nights at Zaouia 44 and can't wait to return. This beautiful riad really is a hidden gem amongst the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. Upon arrival we had no idea what to expect - entering a small door off the street with local children playing football right outside. However once you enter Zaouia 44 it is a complete oasis of calm. You feel as though you've entered another world and the atmosphere couldn't be more relaxed. Our room was lovely - light and spacious for us and our 3 year old daughter. The staff were amazing - Mohammed, Hakim and the ladies :) They were all so helpful and took great care of us, always on hand to offer advise and recommendations. The riad only serves breakfast however dinner is available on request. We ate there once and the food was amazing. We highly recommend Zaouia 44 for your stay in Marrakech. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    18
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
42
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a most pleasant week at Zaouia 44. It has a very simple stylish feel without feeling over styled. Think "home" rather than hotel. There are only a couple of rooms so you rarely see many other guests which just adds to its relaxed homely atmosphere.
On the top floor there is a pretty shaded area for breakfast and another area given over to a number of double day beds. Each is very private though most days we were the only people sitting in the sun.

The highlight of the Riad however is Mohammed and the other elegant discreet staff. As we travelled with a 4 year old it was so pleasant to be made to feel welcomed as so many Riad do not like or accept Children.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pekin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very nice Riad in the Medina, in a very authentic area, no tourist around.... very quiet in the evening. We enjoyed our 3 days there with our children, staff very professionnnal and helpful.
We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Amazing, elegant riad in the heart of the old medina in Marrakech. Attention to detail, our stay was perfect starting from the prompt responses to my e mail enquiries before leaving to the organization once we arrived. Getting in too early for check in, a lovely breakfast was awaiting us in the sunny courtyard. Our rooms were large, quiet and decorated in a chic, subdued manner. Both my brother and I had private terraces, comfortable beds and any requests to the attentive staff were met a willing and helpful smile. An excellent choice in an ideal location.

Room Tip: Both our rooms had private terraces facing each other over an inner courtyard. Sunny and quiet, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estoril, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We recently returned from Marrakech where we throughly enjoyed our stay at Zaouia 44. We arrived in the evening and were picked up by Rakim, the driver who was very friendly and helpful. We we then introduced to Mohamed who greeted us warmly and took the best care of us throughout our stay. We were really missed with the tasteful and authetic design of the hotel. It is very simple but each item is carefully thoughtout and it is a nice change from he typical Moroccan colorful styles one sees everywhere. We we served a candle lit dinner in a beautiful space with a fire a great music. The meal and others we had at the hotel were of the best meals we had. Amel, who was so sweet with our four year old daughter, is an excellent chef! After a trip to the coast we decided to return to Zaouia 44 and we not dissappointed. We felt sad to leave the kind people who had made our stay so memorable and the asthetics of the riad are quite notable when it comes to thoughtful design and architecture. The beds are also very comfortable!
While our daughter was so well received and cared for , keep in mind that noise travels fast so it may not be the best fit for families with many children ( unless they are on the quiwt side)

Room Tip: all rooms are unique and offer something positive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We really loved our stay in Zaoiua . We loved to arrived in this quiet sophisticad place in the middlle of noisy Medina? Everything was just perfect the rooms the black and white pottery the linen towels the lights. Mohammed was a sort of deus ex machina of all this he silently appeard and disappeared, always smiling and efficient, elegant and helpy. The girls were beatiful and elegant. We had dinner there too and we loved it. We hope to be back soon.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Walking through the small streets in the medina (old town) with people everywhere..... you just don't imagine what cool places lie behind all these doors. We were fortunate enough to find this quaint Riad that was amazing. Mohammed met us at the door and escorted us through the small doorways into this beautiful foyer with amazing architecture. All the sounds of the Medina disappeared into a very relaxing space. The bedroom was huge, well decorated, recently remodeled with typical Moroccan decor. Everyone working at the riad was helpful and kind. Breakfast was delicious. All and all I had a great experience at Zaouia 44!

Room Tip: Some of the bedrooms are two beds put together. So if you want just one bed, you might want to spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zaouia 44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zaouia 44

Address: 44 Taht Sour Sghir | taht sour sghir, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zaouia 44 is an old remains calm and serene near Bab targhzout square, sister of Jemaa el Fna, 15mn walk to it and 5 minutes from the souks.It offers 7 large bedrooms, each with a lounge and a bathroom tadelakt traditional. Guests can swimm in the pool of the large patio or relax on one of the 4 terraces overlooking the medina and the chain of Atlas Mountains nearby.For your well-being, Zaouia 44 offers a traditional hammam tadelakt black and a massage room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Prestigia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Zaouia 44 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaouia 44 Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaouia 44, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.