We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very sophisticated location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaouia 44

Save Saved
You added Zaouia 44 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Zaouia 44
44 Taht Sour Sghir | taht sour sghir, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #171 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very sophisticated location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We really loved our stay in Zaoiua . We loved to arrived in this quiet sophisticad place in the middlle of noisy Medina? Everything was just perfect the rooms the black and white pottery the linen towels the lights. Mohammed was a sort of deus ex machina of all this he silently appeard and disappeared, always smiling and efficient, elegant and helpy. The girls were beatiful and elegant. We had dinner there too and we loved it. We hope to be back soon.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    17
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
39
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Walking through the small streets in the medina (old town) with people everywhere..... you just don't imagine what cool places lie behind all these doors. We were fortunate enough to find this quaint Riad that was amazing. Mohammed met us at the door and escorted us through the small doorways into this beautiful foyer with amazing architecture. All the sounds of the Medina disappeared into a very relaxing space. The bedroom was huge, well decorated, recently remodeled with typical Moroccan decor. Everyone working at the riad was helpful and kind. Breakfast was delicious. All and all I had a great experience at Zaouia 44!

Room Tip: Some of the bedrooms are two beds put together. So if you want just one bed, you might want to spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

A friend and I stayed for five nights and loved it.

The best thing about the riad is the warm and helpful staff, particularly Mohammed, who was very kind and helpful, and generally looked after us during our stay. But everyone there was very friendly, and, after long days, we were always glad to return to the riad and felt very much at home there. We very much appreciated the great service and hospitality.

We stayed in two different rooms, each of which was clean, spacious and comfortable. (Beds were comfortable too!) The design is in a Moroccan style, but contemporary and minimal -- very soothing. We also appreciated the location -- near the northern edge of the Medina on a quiet side street and away from the main hustle. (Worth arranging a transfer from the airport until you get your bearings. Also, note that there isn't really parking there -- if you intend to rent a car, let them know first). We booked through Tablet and the included breakfast of breads, fruit, eggs or fried breads, jam and honey, fresh squeezed orange juice and coffee was great. We also stayed in for several dinners (let them know in the morning you'd like to have dinner in) and were very pleased with the food, particularly a chicken lemon tagine and cous cous. The wine was also surprisingly good.

For anone who wants to stay in the Medina, I can't recommend Zaouia 44 highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

If you’re looking to spend your time in Marrakech watching CNN, if an in-room minibar is something you simply can’t live without, and if the descriptors “slick” and “high gloss” tickle your fancy, then you’d do well to follow the rest of the nouveau riche to one of the more modern hotels in the ville nouvelle. If you’re looking for an authentic riad experience in a less touristed part of the medina however, then I personally don’t think you could do any better than Zaouia 44. The aesthetics rely upon a more muted palette to allow the Moorish elements to pop, resulting in an overall effect that is tranquil and serene – the sort of place you’d relish returning to after a day spent dodging runaway donkey carts and dung heaps in the chaotic alleyways. I initially booked myself in for three nights but stayed five. To be honest, I could have spent the rest of my life here, drinking freshly squeezed pomegranate juice while watching sunsets on the roof.

Room Tip: Take the one next to the private cinema -- private courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I found this riad located within the walls of Marrakech's historic medina on Tablet Hotels, known for their keen attention to ambiance and style.

The authentic riad architecture combined with the pared back interior design really appealed to me — big, open courtyard with fountain, garden and various outdoor seating nooks and an indoor living room on the first level, carved wooden balconies, cupolas and passageways above and up further still a trellised terrace and open sun deck with rather modern landscaping.

The rooms are all lovely; I've poked around to see 4 of the 7 available, and they all really stand-up to the photos on Tablet and the riad's own site. I'd be happy in any. The color scheme is consistent everywhere: a soothing pale grey, bright white and vintage red. Floors and the bottom of the walls are a modern grey sanded concrete, and the rest of the walls are white stucco. Windows are all shuttered in grey with thick white canvas drapes to maintain privacy and keep out the hot sun. (AC in all the rooms.) Seating benches and nooks abound in the rooms, too. Moroccan light and bath fixtures are all delightful. Great bath products, too: soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion in local scents.

Only constructive criticism would be to extend the wifi beyond the ground patio (although I see the challenges with the thick mud brick walls) and to replace the plastic-lined mattress pads with cotton ones (as they remind me of the sheets my brother had to use before he was fully potty-trained!)

The staff is lovely and helpful, too. Run by a French couple Sophie and Frederic but also employing locals like Sardiq (manager), Mohammed (man about the riad) and Hakim (tour guide and driver). Easy to get transport to and from the airport and to arrange other help getting to/from dinner, navigating the maze of alleyways, etc.

Love the breakfast served in whatever nook you choose: something hot off the griddle as well as a bread basket with butter, a variety of amazing preserves (apricot, strawberry, orange and honey), fresh OJ and hot coffee and milk.

Finally, delighted at how affordable the place is considering its high design! I would love to come back and fill the entire place up with friends and family to share the experience.

(Do note that the riad is located in the northern part of the medina, a good 20 to 30 minute walk from the main square Djemaa al-Fna where all the ATMs are depending on how distracted or lost you might get! While you have to get through some serious chaos to get cash or to some of the main sights, the riad is an oasis of calm when you arrive back.)

Room Tip: I would choose any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My partner and I spent 5 days at Zaouia 44. The property is tucked in a neighborhood a bit removed from the busy tourist spots so definitely arrange to have the riad's driver pick you up at the airport when you first arrive. Our stay was a great experience from start to finish. I really appreciated the beautiful, restrained design of the property. It is a VERY refreshing departure from most of the riads in Marrakesh which go overboard on color, decor and kitch. Rooms are quiet and comfortable. There are many lounging space and for some reason we were the only guests to use the small, refreshing dipping pool. The staff is welcoming, well-trained, unobtrusive and genuine. Mohamad and the young woman who oversees the kitchen were standouts. We elected to take most of our dinners at the riad because the traditional food was delicious, well prepared and a good value. After chasing around the very bustling (chaotic)medina souk all day long, a quiet dinner "at home" was the perfect end to the day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

hidden away in the medina i love this big and very pretty house. i parked right outside, strangely enough i found it rather...easily .the first time i used the convenient small back door, until i discovered the main entrance later on.once inside i felt exactly like i had envisioned from the pictures . its big, beautiful arches , white rose bushes around a lovely fountain/pool and many corners where to read or drink a nice mint tea offered by the very nice staff members.i was shown to my downstairs room, and i felt home away from home. although it was early afternoon i needed tor rest after an early departure from , and what a surprise!! i still dont know where they found their sheets ( the staff didnt know) but there were the softest egyptian cotton sheets i ever slept in... i mean it , so soft . very clean , good amenities , and a great breakfast . i didnt try the hammam, but spoke to a couple who did, and it seems to be of the standard as the rest.great dinner by the fire place , lovely trendy/chic glassware added a nice touch , to what i felt was my best discovery in this lively and so different city of marrakech. i want to come back to zaouia 44 and try their new guesthouse by the sea, the owner i briefly met told me it should be open by the spring , and its sounsd so beautiful looking out a peaceful bay ... i hope you will have as a good time as i had.
Gany from los angeles

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zaouia 44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zaouia 44

Also Known As:
Zaouia 44 Hotel Marrakech
Zaouia 44 Hotel
Address: 44 Taht Sour Sghir | taht sour sghir, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zaouia 44 is an old remains calm and serene near Bab targhzout square, sister of Jemaa el Fna, 15mn walk to it and 5 minutes from the souks.It offers 7 large bedrooms, each with a lounge and a bathroom tadelakt traditional. Guests can swimm in the pool of the large patio or relax on one of the 4 terraces overlooking the medina and the chain of Atlas Mountains nearby.For your well-being, Zaouia 44 offers a traditional hammam tadelakt black and a massage room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Prestigia so you can book your Zaouia 44 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaouia 44, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.