We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaouia 44

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Zaouia 44 to your Saves list
Zaouia 44
44 Taht Sour Sghir | taht sour sghir, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #284 of 1,123 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
paris
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“one of the best secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

hidden away in the medina i love this big and very pretty house. i parked right outside, strangely enough i found it rather...easily .the first time i used the convenient small back door, until i discovered the main entrance later on.once inside i felt exactly like i had envisioned from the pictures . its big, beautiful arches , white rose bushes around a lovely fountain/pool and many corners where to read or drink a nice mint tea offered by the very nice staff members.i was shown to my downstairs room, and i felt home away from home. although it was early afternoon i needed tor rest after an early departure from , and what a surprise!! i still dont know where they found their sheets ( the staff didnt know) but there were the softest egyptian cotton sheets i ever slept in... i mean it , so soft . very clean , good amenities , and a great breakfast . i didnt try the hammam, but spoke to a couple who did, and it seems to be of the standard as the rest.great dinner by the fire place , lovely trendy/chic glassware added a nice touch , to what i felt was my best discovery in this lively and so different city of marrakech. i want to come back to zaouia 44 and try their new guesthouse by the sea, the owner i briefly met told me it should be open by the spring , and its sounsd so beautiful looking out a peaceful bay ... i hope you will have as a good time as i had.
Gany from los angeles

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    20
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
43
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scheveningen, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

After our stay in the sister riad Azounna 13, we booked one night for this lovely riad.

This riad has the same ambiance and is a very lovely and quitte place in the middel of the hectic medina of Marrakech.

Both Azounna 13 and this Zaouni 44 are great, and we would like to thank the staff very much for our great stay.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I travel a lot and have had all sorts of amazing hotel experiences, but Zaouia 44 outdoes them all. It's an amazingly well designed hotel, with a great staff and a lovely atmosphere. I would almost go to Marrakech just to stay at this place. I stayed for 3 nights at Zaouia 44 and ended up spending quite a lot of time at the hotel, because Marrakech can be quite a stressful place. The hotel has an amazing courtyard with a pool, and an equally great rooftop with beach chairs and great ambience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

It was my first time in Marrakech and I have to say that I have not been disappointed. We asked the owner Sophie for a driver from the airport, which we recommend because it is cheap and at least you avoid all the arrival drama, and go straight to the Riad without having to even think if you will be able to locate it in the Medina. You will have plenty of time afterwards to ask yourself the question ! The first impression when you enter the house is one of Grandeur, of chic and of peace. The inner courtyard with only white roses and orange trees is a vision of dream ! We were greeted by lovely Mohamed that then led us to our Room, located on the first floor of the Douiria, a little house inside the house with its own private courtyard. The room was full of light, with a fireplace that was so nice to see at night (and so romantic) when the bathroom all in grey tadelakt was also a delightful place to relax. Sophie is an architect and it shows in the details : the bath tub is built over the inner courtyard and bathing inside it you feel that you are in levitation among the bamboo trees. So cool ! The cleanliness is amazing (spotless) each room has A/C and heating and a perfumed candle that was smelling so good + amenities in the bathrooms including a selection of typical moroccan products (black soap etc). We decided to eat at the Riad several times and the food was very good as well as well served. The breakfast served on the terrace or inside the room were also a treat. All in all, everything was up to our expectations !!! I did not talk about Marrakech in this post, maybe thats because I preferred the house itself !!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I so enjoyed my stay at the riad Zaouia 44. It made Marrakech my favorite home away from home in Morocco. The design is amazing [I am an interior designer] and it's peacefulness and beauty is so far unmatched in all of my stays here. The staff is so helpful for anything you need in Marrakech..I was solo for some of the stay so this was especially important. I , personally, enjoyed walking to the souks , museums, and square and did not really care to stay near the maddening pace of the square. I have to say in one word "perfect"!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful..I actually stayed in 2 different ones. It is quiet in all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

When we arrived after a looong day travelling my partner looked at me in shock when driving through the street toward the Riad. I had taken charge of all bookings for our trip and I think it was somewhat of a culture shock especially as the end of ramandan and beginning of Eid festival was the day of our arrival! It was so busy, 4 members of a family on one scooter, people everywhere. As soon as we stepped into the Riad it was calm and a million miles away.

We were greeted by Sophie and Mohammed. Mint tea of course and a unexpected but romantic 3 course meal in the courtyard.


Our room was stunning. Comfortable bed. Huge bathroom, great storage for clothes. It was a really luxury to have the garden patio leading out to our room.

Breakfast on the roof terrace was delicious. Fresh orange, pancakes, tea and coffee.


We lost our pre paid visa card which on our first day was stressful however Sophie advised we were in no rush to check out of our room and pointed us in the direction of the western union.

It is around a 20 min walk to the souks however I did not find this an issue. Taxis are cheap at around 40/50DHS if you are lost or tired. I liked the more authentic feel staying at the northern end of the medina. The mosque near by is quite noisy. I got the fright of my life on the first evening. By the middle of our stay in Marrakech I could sleep through the prayers!

I would highly recommend zaouia 44

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

A lovely quiet riad in the norther part of the medina. A bit difficult to find, but once you get there..... see for yourself!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zaouia 44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zaouia 44

Address: 44 Taht Sour Sghir | taht sour sghir, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 1,123 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zaouia 44 is an old remains calm and serene near Bab targhzout square, sister of Jemaa el Fna, 15mn walk to it and 5 minutes from the souks.It offers 7 large bedrooms, each with a lounge and a bathroom tadelakt traditional. Guests can swimm in the pool of the large patio or relax on one of the 4 terraces overlooking the medina and the chain of Atlas Mountains nearby.For your well-being, Zaouia 44 offers a traditional hammam tadelakt black and a massage room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Zaouia 44 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaouia 44 Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaouia 44, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.