We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil haven away from the craziness of the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaouia 44

Save Saved
You added Zaouia 44 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zaouia 44
44 Taht Sour Sghir | taht sour sghir, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #219 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tranquil haven away from the craziness of the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011 via mobile

When we arrived after a looong day travelling my partner looked at me in shock when driving through the street toward the Riad. I had taken charge of all bookings for our trip and I think it was somewhat of a culture shock especially as the end of ramandan and beginning of Eid festival was the day of our arrival! It was so busy, 4 members of a family on one scooter, people everywhere. As soon as we stepped into the Riad it was calm and a million miles away.

We were greeted by Sophie and Mohammed. Mint tea of course and a unexpected but romantic 3 course meal in the courtyard.


Our room was stunning. Comfortable bed. Huge bathroom, great storage for clothes. It was a really luxury to have the garden patio leading out to our room.

Breakfast on the roof terrace was delicious. Fresh orange, pancakes, tea and coffee.


We lost our pre paid visa card which on our first day was stressful however Sophie advised we were in no rush to check out of our room and pointed us in the direction of the western union.

It is around a 20 min walk to the souks however I did not find this an issue. Taxis are cheap at around 40/50DHS if you are lost or tired. I liked the more authentic feel staying at the northern end of the medina. The mosque near by is quite noisy. I got the fright of my life on the first evening. By the middle of our stay in Marrakech I could sleep through the prayers!

I would highly recommend zaouia 44

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    18
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
42
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

A lovely quiet riad in the norther part of the medina. A bit difficult to find, but once you get there..... see for yourself!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

I decided to spend my 50th in marrakesh having visited twice before. Its mad, different, fun and so varied there's something for everyone. That bit was easy, the most difficult was finding somewhere to stay that would suit well travelled friends and family- and I found it. From the moment we arrived and were welcomed by the wonderful Mohamed and Soumia, in the most beautiful Riad I knew we would have a great stay. On the first evening we also met the owner Frederique, a charming Frenchman, husband to Sophie the architect responsible for the simple yet stunning restoration of Riad Zaouia. I think what made the stay most special was Mohamed and Soumia who are totally wonderful. If there is one criticism, it is the location- a bit out of the main drag and impossible for taxi drivers to find. However, don't let that put you off..Mohamed and Soumia- we miss you already!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Just perfect.
Charming patio, very stylish rooms, excellent service.
A very good location, next to Ben Youssef Mosque.
2nd time here, just with my wife. We loved it, as we loved it a year ago with our 3 children.
And we enjoyed its hamman.

I recommand 100%.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

We stayed at the Riad over New Year’s and it was a huge mistake. We were told to be back at the riad at 11pm on New Year’s Eve because the staff were deserting the place and there would be no one to let us in. We had to spend New Year’s ontop the roof in what was effectively an abandoned building.

This was our first night and it set the tone for the rest of the stay. Every time we rang the Riad doorbell it would take 10 minutes for someone to bother to let us in. My partner and I continually felt like unwanted relatives coming to stay.

The location of the riad is miles away from the Souks. It takes a good 20 minutes or more of walking and weaving to get anywhere near the tourist attractions. This meant we had to stay out for most of the day and dread the trek back.

On a positive note, the Riad itself is lovely. Nice and clean and tranquil. But for first timers to Marrakesh, I would recommend something closer to the Medina.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
za44, Propriétaire at Zaouia 44, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Zaouia44 is like an house.The New year dinner was served in the fireside lounge. Some people took advantage of this opportunity to share it with us, others, not wishing to celebrate the new year came out in the medina, or stay in their room.
Everyone is free to organize his stay as it sees fit, there is always someone at home to help you enjoy your stay.
Zaouia 44 has 2 entrances, a main entrance which is given keys to customers and a service entrance accessible by car. It must ring to enter by this door that is not generally used by customers but by staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

We stayed here on our belated honeymoon (original was cancelled due to ash cloud in April!) and we had a great time. The staff here were great, Mohamed especially was incredibly helpful, helping us to arrange things to do and even taking us to meet a driver at 6 in the morning. The Riad itself is spacious and very clean and the rooms are large and airy. Breakfast was served every day on the roof terrace and evening meal (when we had them) were served downstairs in the cosy sitting room.
The only draw back to the place is that it is almost impossible to find! we booked a driver through the Riad to collect us from the airport as we were arriving late. The next day we went for a quick walk before breakfast and we managed to get lost within 2 minutes of the place. Although by the end of the week we'd pretty much worked out where we were going.
It is quite a distance from many of the main attractions (djemaa el fna) but the staff will arrange transport for you if you need it. We walked and it took about 30 minutes, which was fine as we visited in December but I imagine in the height of summer it would be a different story!
We will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Dear Sophie & Frederic,

We would like to thank you again for a wonderfull stay we had in your Riad last week! Your riad was recommended to us by some Dutch friends, how stayed at your place a year ago.

The interior of your Riad is a splendid combination of western design and Marrocan traditions, and since we are running a interior design studio, I know what I'm talking about. Our room was great and we loved the space. As we told Frederic, we had the best meals in Marroco at your place. What a great staff you have over there.

We feld very special in your Riad and looked after. We had a very romantic and wonderfull time in Marrakech, and mainly because of Zaouia44 and its staff!

Thank you again and take care,

Karel & Mariska

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zaouia 44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zaouia 44

Address: 44 Taht Sour Sghir | taht sour sghir, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zaouia 44 is an old remains calm and serene near Bab targhzout square, sister of Jemaa el Fna, 15mn walk to it and 5 minutes from the souks.It offers 7 large bedrooms, each with a lounge and a bathroom tadelakt traditional. Guests can swimm in the pool of the large patio or relax on one of the 4 terraces overlooking the medina and the chain of Atlas Mountains nearby.For your well-being, Zaouia 44 offers a traditional hammam tadelakt black and a massage room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Prestigia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Zaouia 44 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaouia 44 Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaouia 44, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.