We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, kind staff, NOT so very kind owner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lakhdar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Lakhdar to your Saves list
Riad Lakhdar
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   28 Jbel Lakhdar R'mila, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 188 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Nice location, kind staff, NOT so very kind owner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights in Riad Lakdar.

I didn't make a hotel reservation when I arrived Marakesh. I asked the taxi driver to recommend one and the driver showed me Riad Lakhdar. The owner of the riad told me it's 600 DH per 1 night at first. I told him we couldn't afford it and after negotiation he told me it's 850 DH per 2 nights.
But after 5 minutes, I could find you can make a reservation on Booking.com it only costs less than 500 DH per 1 night. They said it's 40Euro per one night on their website too.
I told about this to the owner and he said that I have to pay 850 DH anyway.

Like this, the owner of the hotel is greedy and I was not happy about that.


But other than the owner, the location was really nice. It's near Jema El Fna. It only takes 10 minutes to walk and it's very quiet and safe near this Riad.
Other staffs except the owner is really kind. They only speak French but I could feel their care and kindness.

In conclusion,

+: The greedy owner. (Make your reservation online before you go!!!!)
-: Kind staff, Location, Breakfast

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    30
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
39
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed in the riad for a night on either side of a trip to the coast and both times it was great. The guys at the riad were so helpful in sorting us transfers to and from the airport. It was so peaceful and the breakfast was incredible!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
1,680 reviews 1,680 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 323 cities Reviews in 323 cities
839 helpful votes 839 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The location is great, it's very close to the main square and it's not far from the airport (the bus from/to airport stops very close).
It's a beautiful riad, well preserved and nicely decorated.
The AC in our room didn't work and it was very cold during the night and early morning.
It was also a bit noisy. The sleep quality was low.
Besides that I found 2 large black hairs in the tube, although everything was fairly clean.
I think that during the hot months it would be a pleasant stay but I do not recommend it in the cold weather.
You have to order the breakfast in advance. We booked it for 7.30 but the guy was not very punctual and it took a little.
The breakfast is poor: Moroccan pancakes with jam or butter, orange juice, tea or coffee.
The manager/owner is always trying to sell stuff. We asked him how to get to the Supra tours bus station and he told us to take a cab. The next day when we were at the bus station we saw him drop off 2 guests.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were driving and as Marrakech goes it was relatively easy to find with a car park next door. The staff were very welcoming. Considering how near to the Medina this place is, it was remarkably quiet although it's not a great looking street. Security seemed good. It has a cool and comfortable courtyard with a lovely sun terrace where they were pleased to serve an ok, fairly standard breakfast there. We never booked a time for breakfast but just stuck our head in the kitchen and they brought it out about 15 min later. The rooms were clean and air-conditioned, a bit tired and dark but ok. There was good free WiFi. The beds were very hard which seems to be the way in Morocco. Although it claims to take credit cards, cash was definitely preferred. The staff were helpful in getting one of our party to the airport and giving us a route out to the High Atlas. It could probably benefit from a bit of a makeover because we have stayed in prettier Riads in this bracket and area but for the price, convenient location and comfort it is a reasonable choice.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms a little more private and downstairs a little cooler and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed at Riad Lakdar for five nights with a friend. From the moment we arrived the staff were very helpful and polite, though when the owner is not around it would be best to speak French to a higher standard than I managed! It is easy to find and peaceful, yet only a 6-7 minute walk from the Place Jemaa el Fna. The room was clean and tidy and breakfast was filling. We were able to return in the afternoon to escape the heat every day without any difficulties. We were offered a meal one evening for 160DH, which beat the restaurant meals we had encountered elsewhere for both the taste and the generous servings. We also took up the offer of a trip to the Ourika valley, which was more expensive than arranging a trip ourselves would have been but was far more relaxing. Looking at the rates on offer for other Riads I would say this one seems very good value. It is true that there is not much flexibility over things such as breakfast times etc. but, given the cost, I would rather that was compromised than safety, location or cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Jamal and Mehjoob own this beautiful riad. It is worth the money. We had such gorgeous breakfast on the roof every morning with fresh mint tea avec sucre! :) really highly recommend this riad for the gracious and helpful hosts, the location so central to the square and its relaxing energy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Riad is in a good location close to the Medina, with an easy to walk from where the airport bus stops. Rooms were generally quite clean. This is where the positives end.

The staff were terrible. We found that as soon as we declined the tours, expensive "airport transfer" and dinners offered by the Riad, they offered no assistance and lost interest in us. We enquired about the airport bus and directions to the Riad and received a reply detailing only the expensive private transfer offered. Breakfast was late every day (30 to 45 minutes) despite requesting specific times for breakfast the night before. This proved a problem for us as we had other tours and bus trips booked. The staff also gave us misleading advice: we were told that the bus to Essaouira would not be full and we could arrive at the station in the morning to get tickets for that same day. We were also told that the station was a 20 minute drive away or 45 minute walk (which put us off travelling there the day before to purchase tickets just in case, despite what other people has said on tripadviser about pre-purchase). In reality, the station was a 5 minute drive and the tickets were all sold out (we had to wait 2 hours for another bus). The taxi to the station cost us 20 dirham, an our Riad manager had tried to convince us that getting his brother to drive us for 5o dirham would be reasonable. Our Riad manager also did not know the bus times and would not assist us in translating the official website. We booked a day tour the following day. We hurriedly ate our breakfast (again 45 mins late, despite requesting breakfast to be ready by 8am). We were due to be picked-up from the Riad at 9am, ad by this stage, we were still eating breakfast. We thought the staff would notify us when our driver arrived (it is a small Riad and we were having breakfast in the courtyard which is close to the entrance). Not so! At 9.20am, we decided to wait outside for our driver only to find him there waiting and very angry! Apparently, he knocked on the door at 9am and the Riad staff were rude, refused to let him in and did not tell us he was outside! This made us 20 minutes late for our tour. As our tour driver commented to us, we picked a bad Riad to stay in. With the increase in tourism in Marrakech, everyone wants to own a Riad and make a quick buck without realising that customer service is involved. You can smell the 'easy cash' salesman pitch of this Riad manager a mile off. I would recommend spending your money somewhere else.

The beds were also terrible - they were so hard it was like sleeping on concrete.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Lakhdar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lakhdar

Address: 28 Jbel Lakhdar R'mila, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 188 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Lakhdar 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Lakhdar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lakhdar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.