We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lakhdar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Lakhdar to your Saves list
Riad Lakhdar
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   28 Jbel Lakhdar R'mila, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 233 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“wonderful and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Jamal and Mehjoob own this beautiful riad. It is worth the money. We had such gorgeous breakfast on the roof every morning with fresh mint tea avec sucre! :) really highly recommend this riad for the gracious and helpful hosts, the location so central to the square and its relaxing energy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kuku_princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Riad is in a good location close to the Medina, with an easy to walk from where the airport bus stops. Rooms were generally quite clean. This is where the positives end.

The staff were terrible. We found that as soon as we declined the tours, expensive "airport transfer" and dinners offered by the Riad, they offered no assistance and lost interest in us. We enquired about the airport bus and directions to the Riad and received a reply detailing only the expensive private transfer offered. Breakfast was late every day (30 to 45 minutes) despite requesting specific times for breakfast the night before. This proved a problem for us as we had other tours and bus trips booked. The staff also gave us misleading advice: we were told that the bus to Essaouira would not be full and we could arrive at the station in the morning to get tickets for that same day. We were also told that the station was a 20 minute drive away or 45 minute walk (which put us off travelling there the day before to purchase tickets just in case, despite what other people has said on tripadviser about pre-purchase). In reality, the station was a 5 minute drive and the tickets were all sold out (we had to wait 2 hours for another bus). The taxi to the station cost us 20 dirham, an our Riad manager had tried to convince us that getting his brother to drive us for 5o dirham would be reasonable. Our Riad manager also did not know the bus times and would not assist us in translating the official website. We booked a day tour the following day. We hurriedly ate our breakfast (again 45 mins late, despite requesting breakfast to be ready by 8am). We were due to be picked-up from the Riad at 9am, ad by this stage, we were still eating breakfast. We thought the staff would notify us when our driver arrived (it is a small Riad and we were having breakfast in the courtyard which is close to the entrance). Not so! At 9.20am, we decided to wait outside for our driver only to find him there waiting and very angry! Apparently, he knocked on the door at 9am and the Riad staff were rude, refused to let him in and did not tell us he was outside! This made us 20 minutes late for our tour. As our tour driver commented to us, we picked a bad Riad to stay in. With the increase in tourism in Marrakech, everyone wants to own a Riad and make a quick buck without realising that customer service is involved. You can smell the 'easy cash' salesman pitch of this Riad manager a mile off. I would recommend spending your money somewhere else.

The beds were also terrible - they were so hard it was like sleeping on concrete.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Austraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, España
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

From the personal treatment of the staff to the location and the facilities, everything is real cool. You can visit anywhere in the city by walk. Try the Hammam bath and the orange juices in the rooftop. Simply amazing. We stayed three nights and will come back for more.

Room Tip: Try ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manu230578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meknes
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

everything was efficient, no kind of problems but the breakfast... I travel morocco for my job and at 8.00 I'm supposed even if not obliged to be out from the hotel, I think the customers of this riad usually are people in holidays so they are not at all pressed. This morning I get my breakfast at 9.00, the problem was just nobody was at the reception from 7.00 to 8.30. If I would be there for holidays too, this place should have been a pretty good choice, quite, near city center, with kind people as staff. I can suggest to stay at the riad, but ask for breakfast time the evening before!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bravo_brv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Overall we did enjoy our stay at this Riad. The place looks amazing at night, but during the day it does look a little tired and could do with a fresh coat of paint in some areas.
Our room was on the ground floor. The general noise of the place was ok at times, but mostly not. It did feel like we were sleeping in one big room with everyone.

There seems to be some sort of renovation going on to the whole building next door so from about 9am to 5ish you will hear constant hammering.

Pros:
- friendly staff
- yummy breakfast (pastry, flat pancakes, oj, tea and coffee etc)
- balcony area to sit and have breakfast in the mornings.

Cons:
- noisy (as would most Riads be like coming from the courtyard) but being on the ground floor we had the people above us too thumping about. We could hear conversations and even when they coughed.
- Smell of sewage occasionally. Our bathroom had this smell and also on the top balcony area
- People smoking on the balcony. The smell would come into our room anytime someone was out there.

I understand that one shouldn't expect a western level accommodation in an old area of town (or old city) but from the reviews of the place I think my expectations were too high.

Still, its good for a short stay only.

Room Tip: Get a room that isnt on the ground floor. Otherwise you are competing with noise in the foyer and ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Outandaround33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Heights, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel is beautiful. Very charming and quiet, and has an excellent location. It's inside the medina, but in an area that your taxi can take you to directly, but is only about a block from the souks, and a 5-10 minute walk from the main square. The housekeeper was very sweet and made excellent breakfast for us every morning.

We stayed at the riad a second time after going to a nearby coastal city for a couple of days. We arranged the second stay with the owner before leaving the first time, and left a cash deposit with him. When we arrived for the second stay, we were told the riad was full and were brought to another riad next door (riad lakhiti, which doesn't seem to be listed online but turned out to be very nice as well) for the first of our two nights. As weird as this was at first, we actually really liked the second hotel and wanted to stay the second night, but were asked by Lakhdar's owner to return to his riad that night because they had been expecting our business. Considering we had expected to stay at Lakhdar the night before but were turned away, we didn't really appreciate being told what to do, but didn't want to cause any trouble. It soured what was otherwise a good experience at the hotel. We would still recommend staying there, but please be sure to book online through expedia or something like it, because I think making a verbal reservation is what got us into the strange situation we were put in. For this reason I've left a 3 for service, but it should be mentioned that the housekeeper did an excellent job and gets a full 5 stars for herself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisandevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Kauno Apskritis, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed here with my husband for 6 nights. The Mahjoub - owner of this nice Riad - was very helpful, hospitable and joyful. He speaks good English.
The riad was exactly what I saw on pictures - beautiful and now I can told that it was very quite at night. All the people which are working there were nice.The riad staff done their best. There is 6 rooms, every have a bathroom. There is a hammam in riad also.
We took trip from riad to Sahara desert, so the breakfast was not in time as usually( 9 in tne morning), but at 7. I was happy of it.
The riad located in a very good and guiet place in Medina.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastasija P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#125 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 744 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Souad
Riad Souad
#24 of 233 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Mirai
Dar Mirai
#33 of 233 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge
#44 of 233 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 440 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Prestige Evanesc'ence
Riad Prestige Evanesc'ence
#31 of 233 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dream Kasbah
Dream Kasbah
#17 of 233 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Lakhdar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lakhdar

Address: 28 Jbel Lakhdar R'mila, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 233 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Lakhdar 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Lakhdar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing