We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really A Five Star hotel!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace

Save Saved
You added SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Zone de l'Agdal, av Mohamed VI, Marrakech 40 0000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #199 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not really A Five Star hotel!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

It may have all the facilities of a 5 star hotel.....but please don't think that this will be a five star stay. We were lucky to only be there for two nights before our flight......and I tried to like it...but the staff did everything they could to make me hate it! Overall I would say you're looking at a glorified Butlins...which is fine if that is what you want....and to be fair we had a massive air conditioned room that easily housed our family of 4 (two teenage kids)......and apart from the fact that the curtains were hanging off the rail with only about three curtain rings, the room was fine......and to be honest for four adults was very good value.
it might be unfair but THANK GOODNESS WE WERE ROOM ONLY...I looked at the buffet and the 'entertainment' and it looked simply awful....and at €28/head (which may or may not include wine...I suspect not!) I was so happy to be able to eat out. (especially as the hotel restaurants appeared to be not air-conditioned).
DO NOT TRUST THE CONCIERGES....they are simply at the front of the queue of people trying to rip you off. They told us it was a taxi ride to the shopping centre that you can actually see from reception...we realised that if you walk out of the back gate of the hotel it is no more than four minutes walk. I also asked them to book me a table in the restaurant PepeNero, which is reputedly one of the best restaurants in Marrakech....and they told me it was closed......a bit odd for a restaurant in Morocco to close in the holiday season....especially one that only caters to tourists......so I called the restaurant myself....very much not closed!...(and the most fantastic restaurant if you are looking for a decent place to eat ....€145 for a family of four...3 courses plus wine). We also asked the concierge how much we should pay a taxi to take us to Yves St Laurent's garden (one of the main attractions in Marrakech) and he said he didn't know!!!...handy!...although you can be sure the driver will charge you €5.00 more than the concierge says anyway.
Just when I thought that maybe the hotel wasn't that bad....I saw my bill and they had charged me for the sachet of instant coffee which they left by the coffee making facility in the room. If nothing else makes you not stay here....this gives you an idea of what the place is like!
The internet was good.......but I just left actually feeling sorry for anyone who had booked a week there all-inclusive.......for us it was a lucky escape!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    219
    105
    31
    27
See reviews for
165
271
17
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
La Fleche, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Having escaped from the Golden Tulip (pool not available) we found this hotel by chance. The welcome was fantastic and although a bit more expensive, it was worth every dirham.
The staff were all friendly and the room was a delight, clean spacious and very comfortable. The Olympic sized pool was fantastic with plenty of spaces to relax. The only negative was the evening buffet, it wasn't bad but didn't seem to match the standard set by the hotel in general. The Moroccan restaurant is well worth a visit. All in all a great experience, we will return.
Well worth searching the internet for deals, we found on our return prices around 100 euros a night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenzi Menara P, Directeur général at SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Oconnell,

I would like to thank you for having chosen the Kenzi Menara Palace to spend your recent journey in Marrakech, also for posting your review to share this experience with all tripadvisor’s visitors.
Your comment shows clearly that you have been warmly welcomed by our staff that did the best to offer you an unforgettable holiday.
Many thanks for your compliments towards the spacious rooms, the Olympic sized pool and the restaurants.
Looking forward to welcome you again for another relaxing time at the Kenzi Menara Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Really nice hotel, excellent staff, lovely grounds close to airport (but not noisy) free shuttle bus to centre. Concierge arranged good value trips around Marrakech and to the Atlas Mountains, which were great in a private air conditioned car:-). Recommend to go all inclusive as it is a little pricey! Will visit again.

Room Tip: We had 102, nice spacious room on the ground floor with lovely garden view, very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenzi Menara P, Directeur général at SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Chris,

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing the Kenzi Menara Palace for your last journey in Marrakech, also for posting your review to share this experience with all Tripadvisor’s visitors.
I’m glad to see that staff’s hotel has been helpful and available ensurinf unforgettable moments for you and your family.
Many thanks for all your compliments, about the pool, the restaurants and our wonderful rooms.
Looking forward to welcome you again for another relaxing time at the Kenzi Menara Palace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there in june 2013 we loved it the reception staff are wonderful and very helpful specially fatimzouhra what a wonderful girl , the restaurant needs sorting but from that everything is beautiful

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenzi Menara P, Directeur général at SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Moussa,

I would like to thank you for having chosen the Kenzi Menara Palace to spend your recent journey in Marrakech.
I’m happy to note that you have enjoyed the spacious and comfortable rooms, the pool and the restaurants.
Your comment shows clearly that you have been warmly welcomed by our staff who did the best to offer you an unforgettable holiday at the Kenzi Menara Palace.
Hope will have the chance to receive you again in our hotel for another lovely time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Upon arriving we were absolutely devastated to be informed they didn't have a room for us as they'd had "technical issues" so they could put us up in the hotel next door instead (Palm Plaza), we were very disappointed and didn't have any other choice so went ahead. They did inform us we would get a pool view suite upon our return after 2 nights in the Palm Plaza. The receptionist couldn't speak very good English so we were pretty stuck with our options.

I'd spent lots of time researching the Kenzi Menara and this was the hotel I had chosen so was really upset we couldn't start our holiday here.

We got given full board at the Palm Plaza as opposed to B&B at the Kenzi Menara but the food was dreadful. We were told 3 restaurants were available for dinner but only 1 was, the buffet. We had difficulty trying to communicate with all staff as hardly any of them could understand our English. The atmosphere was terrible, the food and drinks were terrible so we were very pleased to leave after two nights.

We got picked up by Cheriff from the Kenzi Menara and what a wonderful man he is! He cracked jokes and told us all the best places to eat and drink, he really does make the hotel!

We got given a premium suite with a garden view, not a pool view as promised but by this point I couldn't be bothered to argue anymore and just wanted to enjoy the holiday. But my, the room was fabulous! A huge basket of fruits awaited us and a plate full of cakes, a huge lounge area, two balconys, two bathrooms and a huge bed, the room was gorgeous so we didn't mind the garden (road view) so much!

The pool area was very spacious and the staff very attentive. The restaurants were lovely and the cocktails were a bit more well presented here than at the Palm Plaza. Breakfasts were good with fresh eggs and pancakes cooked whilst you wait.

We also got a full body massage at the spa which was very good, however the gym didn't seem to have any air con and was far too hot for me to work out in which was disappointing.

The shuttle service was very good, and one time actually dropped us in the new town as a special request.

Be prepared to haggle with every taxi driver, usually we got down 50% of their first quote, so be prepared to walk away if they're not willing to accommodate. Most places in Marrakech you can get to with 40/50 Dirhams from the hotel, except the airport is 100 dirhams.

Ask Cheriff for places to eat and drink or things to do, he is very very helpful with great English. We were very grateful for his service!

All in all the Kenzi Menara is a lovely hotel, it was just a shame we didn't start our holiday here but we wouldn't of had the suite if not, which made up for it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenzi Menara P, Directeur général at SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Dice,

I would like to thank you for having chosen the Kenzi Menara Palace to spend your recent journey in Marrakech.
I apologize for the inconvenience Dear Dice on your arrival; I'm glad that our hotel and all the benefits you liked and you have completed your stay in very good way.
We will be delighted to welcome you again in our palace, in order to make you next stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertforshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Me and my partner have been visiting kenzi menara twice this year, and this summer shall be our third time. The Moroccan/Arabic hospitality is grand, the best service, and the people are ever so delightful and kind. The hotel itself is beautiful, and has a lavish interior design, with traditional moroccan art. It is both a couple's, big families and young (20s') people's hotel. I highly recommend it. Cannot wait for our holiday this summer at kenzi!

Room Tip: whatever room you choose, they are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenzi Menara P, Directeur général at SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Gloria,

We were pleased to have welcomed you at the Kenzi Menara Palace during your recent holidays in Marrakech, and would like to thank for sharing this successful experience on Tripadvisor.
Many thanks for your compliments especially for our staff we hope to see you again for the fourth time in our hotel
in anticipation of the pleasure of welcoming you again please Dear Gloria accept my warmest greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My partner and i had an amazing stay at the Kenzi Menara. The hotel is sumptuously fitted out with striking fabrics,artwork and pretty lighting. It provides a tranquil gettaway perfect for a romantic trip for two. The staff went the extra mile to make our stay special, especially the day time concierge who arranged some fantastic trips for us and the friendly front of house at the breakfast buffet who always started our day with a big smile. The pool is massive so there's no scrambling to the poolside at the crack of dawn to get a bed, there is more than enough to go round. My reason for 4 stars rather than 5 is we would have liked little more entertainment, if we hadnt have asked the concierge where to go we'd have had no idea as there are no flyers/leaflets to advertise trips etc and apart from a lounge bar singer there wasnt much to keep us entertained in the evenings at the kenzi menara. We tried the traditional Moroccan restaurant one night with in the hotel and were very disappointed by the food, it was very bland. The service however, excellent, but if you want tasty Moroccan food eat where the locals eat not the tourists! The hotel is in an up and coming area so i feel in the next few year it will be a prime spot. If you are happy to use taxis and the free shuttle bus though the location really isnt a problem. The prices of drinks however are, Its about 120 dirhams for a cocktail! We ended up buying booze and bottled water from a supermarket, but its what we expected as the hotel is 5 star so its only right to expect 5 star prices! Another bonus to kenzi menara is its owned by the same owner as Pacha (5 minute walk away!) so we got free entry! What more could we ask for, we will definitely return! Thankyou Kenzi Menara, beautiful place, beautiful people!

Room Tip: Pool side view is worth the extra money otherwise you may risk facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenzi Menara P, Directeur général at SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Forrester,

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing the Kenzi Menara Palace for your last journey in Marrakech, also for posting your review to share this experience with all Tripadvisor’s visitors.
I’m glad to see that staff’s hotel has been helpful and available and you enjoyed our magnificent interior architecture, our large pool and our restaurants. Regarding the animation, we proposed two kinds of evening entertainment, a duet,pianist in the bar and a folk duo in the Moroccan restaurant and for night animation there is the pacha next to hotel (5 minutes).

Waiting to see you soon please accept my greetings Forrster Among the most distinguished.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace

Address: Zone de l'Agdal, av Mohamed VI, Marrakech 40 0000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#80 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#80 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#103 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#169 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The blend of an Arabo-Moorish architectural style with a generous 10 acres park and gardens makes the Kenzi Menara Palace your haven of peace and tranquility.The Kenzi Menara Palace is a luxury hotel located in a peaceful, 10-acre park in Marrakech just 10 minutes from the medina by free shuttle. The hotel offers accommodation mixing harmoniously the Moroccan style and a modern touch.Guestrooms are comfortable and have a balcony offering a staggering view facing the Atlas mountains. The international restaurant "Terrasse de l’Insensé" and the specialty restaurant "L’Insensé" serve quality cuisine and a different dining sensation and satisfy all taste. There is also a traditional Moroccan restaurant, poolside snack bar, piano bar and room service. The hotel offers various activities including tennis, volleyball, badminton and a swimming pool. The Kids Club is supervised by professionals and gives children the opportunity to discover the Moroccan culture through fun and educational activities. The Spa by Terraké invites guests to relax. Guests can enjoy free Wi-Fi internet access, free on-site parking and a free shuttle to the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, WHM Global Ltd., Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenzi Menara Palace Hotel Marrakech
Kenzi Menara Palace Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.