We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand place, mostly great service, quite expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace

Best prices from these 13 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace to your Saves list
SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Zone de l'Agdal, av Mohamed VI, Marrakech 40 0000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #190 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Grand place, mostly great service, quite expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed for five nights (three of us in two rooms). We booked through Voyage Prive and were really pleased with the deal we got.

The hotel is big, grand, spread-out and a bit away from town (and anything else). The rooms were enormous, bright, clean and very well-tended - we were really pleased. The pool area is lovely, with an enormous pool, but the poolside amenities weren't great and were incredibly expensive. The restaurants were quite nice, again pretty expensive and actually we preferred the simpler but more generous Moroccan food we had elsewhere. Breakfast was fairly good.

Service in general was mixed - everything was over-staffed with very attentive staff, but they sometimes got the wrong end of the stick (then again we were English-speakers in a French-speaking tourist industry). The concierge in particular was really friend and helpful and organised some great trips for us, but was also definitely a bit of a hustler - difficult to tell how much commission he was making on everything! Other staff definitely went the extra mile, from the housekeeping guy who lent us his own phone charger to the waitress who served us food and wine near the pool long after the kitchen was supposed to have closed.

Overall recommended but make sure you get a good deal - it's not cheap.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quite a walk from reception and other amenities - ask about a nearer one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenzi Menara P, Directeur d'exploitation at SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Simon,
We were delighted to welcome you during your last journey in Marrakech and would like to thank you for having chosen the Kenzi Menara Palace.
I’m pleased to read your comment posted on tripadvisor where you mentioned that you have appreciated the hotel’s size with all the amazing facilities provided, the enormous rooms overlooking the wonderful swimming pool, as well as the high food and service quality in all the restaurants .
Please make sure that we have taken into consideration all your remarks which I will not miss to discuss about it with my collaborators.
All the staff is happy for your compliments, wishing to be honored by another visit to the Kenzi Menara Palace.

JAFAR AGOURD
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    228
    109
    32
    27
See reviews for
175
283
20
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I am always as a honest as I can be in my reviews so having just come back from Marrakech this one I felt had to be made.
Firstly the positive points, The hotel property, rooms and facilities are very nice and I agree this part warrants a five star. In addition to this the location is great with most points of interest a short taxi ride away.
Now for the important service, and I await for the managements comments on this, In my view the hotel owners have the such a great job with location and decor of this property however the lack of attentiveness and customer service from most of your staff needs to be addressed and corrected immediately.
Just a couple of points.. Firstly the pool side staff had to be asked on average 4 times before any action for beverages, towels etc.
I asked for an Iron was told it was on its way, then told an hour later that there was no irons available as they we all being used by other guests, then had sent shirts to be pressed and had stressed to the staff that I was running late and needed them back urgently, which in turn I was surprise to be told that they would only take 5 minutes. 1 and a half hours later and after 4 calls to the management, shirts turned up.
On the fair side we were compensated with our incidentals taken off the bill by management but this hotel could be and should be a far lot better, but unfortunately the staff let this down.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenzi Menara P, Directeur d'exploitation at SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear dip1979,
I would to thank for your time spent to describe the amazing Kenzi Menara Palace’s rooms and facilities as well as the location which is near to all the attractions in Marrakech within a few minutes by available taxis.
Further to our discussion before your departure, I have noted all your remarks in order to make more efforts to meet all the expectation’s guests; I have also accorded your compensation request to make you satisfied.
Kind regards

JAFAR AGOURD
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed there couple of nights with my wife for the WE. We didnt leave the hotel at all.

1st mistake: at our arrival we had to prove that we are married (of course everyone travels with his wedding certificate). As a matter of fact we had it so they made a copy right away.

2nd mistake: the staff at the reception didn't seem to understand clearly the all-inclusive offer and what it contained or not and the hours. They need to be seriously trained on the subject.
Of course I asked a copy of that all inclusive paper, they only had 1 copy and told us that the xerox machine was too far away from the reception. But they managed to make a copy for the wedding certificate though... anyway. Classic stuff from moroccan staff...

Room was big and nice, bed was really comfy and pretty bathrooms. Fridge was fully filled and apples on the table. Efficient room.
Room service was very slow, we had to wait 1 hour for 1 soup and 1 club sandwich.
Pool is actually really great, you really have to come early to pick your spot otherwise... Meh... Pool bathrooms are a real mess, they should have somebody clean it on a frequent basis.

Food was a major disappointment, nothing really exciting: quality was not met. I mean it, food was not that good, even moroccan tagines and pancakes were bad.

So to sum up, a very expensive hotel for what it provides, not a palace at all as it doesnt have the luxury codes for a palace or even a 5 stars hotel.
understaffed and slow service.
but friendly staff and weather saved the week end.

3 stars. If it was rated as a 4 stars I'd give it 4 stars, but I expected too much I guess

Room Tip: Pool view and on 1st or 2nd floor otherwise you hear the footsteps from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights as a couple. We were very impressed with the hotel's attentive staff. The decor was a lovely mixture of traditional Moroccan and modern design and the room was large and spacious. We had a room with a pool view balcony which was a lovely touch. The concierge service was convenient and efficient in helping us choose activities and local restaurants. The pool area was relaxing and very large and overall we found the resort grounds pleasant. We felt the spa was lacking a few resources- aside from the treatment rooms there was one pool. We had a relaxing hammam treatment there. The breakfast left a little to be desired, although there was a great egg counter every morning. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel for its reasonable price and comfortable facilities

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenzi Menara P, Directeur d'exploitation at SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Romy B,
Thank you for your time spent to write your kind comment posted on tripadvisor describing your recent stay in Marrakech.
I’m happy to note that you have enjoyed you stay with us and you have appreciated the luxury large room you had with its wonderful view overlooking the amazing swimming-pool, as well as the facilities provided ,and the perfection of our concierge service .
All Kenzi Menara Palace team are looking forward to welcoming you again unforgettable holidays.

JAFAR AGOURD
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Kenzi Menara Palace and found it to be great for the following reasons:
a) large well decorated rooms with complimentary bottles of water daily and free movies hollywood if you like that sort of thing
b) only 15 minutes to the medina and the hotel provide a free shuttle bus service (drop off and collection).
c) walking distance (7 minutes) from the Crystal restaurant which has great service and tremendous food.
d) large pool with plenty of poolside seating and umbrellas which you'll need to shade you from the mid-day heat.
e) a decent gym for a hotel (compared to most and i've stayed in a lot of hotels around the world)
f) all english speaking staff and a very helpful head concierge

i was a little unsure about booking this hotel initially as it does not appear very high up on Trip Advisor but i would definately stay there again if visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenzi Menara P, Directeur d'exploitation at SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear DiamondCut, I would like to thank you for choosing the Kenzi Menara palace for spending your recent journey in Marrakech, and for sharing this experience with all the travelers of the world.
I am pleased to read that you had a successful holiday by enjoying the delights of our hotel, such as, the well decorated large rooms equipped with all the facilities needed, the location of the hotel which is close to the famous JAMAA ELFNA square and nearby all the attractions of Marrakech, also the sunshades, sun beds available to shade you from the mid-day sun.
All the staff would like to thank you for your compliments, wishing be honored by another visit to the Kenzi Menara Palace.

JAFAR AGOURD
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for just one night recently before the start of the Marrakech Atlas Etape that took place the last Sunday of April.

Location wise, the hotel is in a good spot and they run shuttle services to and from the centre of Marrakech. Having stayed in numerous riads in the medina over the years it is sometimes refreshing to escape the commotion and head back to the calm of a slightly out of town hotel. However, for us, we needed to be near the Marrakech Grand Prix circuit where the bike ride was starting and at just under one kilometre we were perfectly placed.

The hotel bedroom was very spacious with a balcony, twin beds, a separate shower and toilet plus a load more mod cons. The only thing that would have completed it would have been tea and coffee making facilities.

The hotel facilities are great with numerous bars, restaurants, shops and the place had a real prestigious feel to it. Although we didn't use it, the swimming pool was huge and not far from the rooms.

As we were due to leave very early, a kind young lady at the reception desk arranged for us to have breakfast brought to our room at 06:30 at no extra cost. A table was wheeled into our room at 06:30 on the dot laden with fruit salad, orange juice, hot coffee, and a variety of breads, cakes and jams. We only wish we had more time to enjoy it!

A short but great stay in a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenzi Menara P, Directeur d'exploitation at SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Hotsharqi, I would like to thank first for choosing the Kenzi Menara Palace to spend your journey in Marrakech then for sharing this experience with all the travelers of the world.
I’m Glad to note that the location of the hotel which is near to all attractions in Marrakech ,the spacious room you had with its balcony overlooking the amazing swimming pool ,the great facilities provided to our guests, the helpful and friendly staff …have met your expectations.
Looking forward to welcome again for another enjoyable time at the Kenzi Menara palace.

JAFAR AGOURD
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were impressed by the following aspects of this spacious hotel: room and terrace size - very good: pool huge, and never crowded.

However, we were distinctly unimpressed by the brusque, unfriendly receptionists, particularly a lady wearing glasses. Then when we checked out, the man who dealt with us didn't even ask if we had enjoyed our stay, and didn't say 'goodbye, have a good journey'!! The staff can be quite abrupt and surly, also in the bar.

Apart from the buffet breakfast, the food is poor. Expect lots of bone and very little meat in the Moroccan restaurant, and expect a very limited main course menu in the other restaurant; there are no sauces to accompany the meat or fish dishes, and when I asked to provide a sauce for my meat, the lady behind the counter was very surly about it. She slung open a cupboard, got a box of powdered stock out and slammed it into a pan for two mins - not very warm then!

The service around the pool for drinks, etc is non-existent; you have to walk over to the bar every time. And we saw a very unpleasant incident happening to our friends there; they had ordered some food, which every day to that point had been delivered to their sun-bed table, and the man at the bar refused to deliver the food. He was very, very rude to our friends. The manager came to deal with him, and even then the man would not deliver the meal! He also threw the pen and the bill across the counter to be signed. Really horrible.

The Spa is not good. I had two treatments there, and it was very much a case of 'wham, bam, thank you ma'am'. No finesse, very basic approach. There is also a very unpleasant sewage smell assailing one's nostrils on the approach to the door. Sewage smells also haunted our toilet. We reported this issue, but no change after a cursory visit and promise of outdoor investigations.

The pillows are very lumpy and uncomfortable. After many language issues, we had them replaced - but the new ones were just as bad!

Our room was not cleaned throroughly, I had to speak to the cleaners as the floors were not swept for three days, and the wash basin plug-holes were grimy.

One final problem which plagued our trip; the staff speak very little English. If you need an extra pillow, or some room service, expect to find communication difficult. If this hotel wants to attract international clientelle, this language issue has to be addressed.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool overlooking the pool, as otherwise you will be overlooking the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenzi Menara P, Directeur d'exploitation at SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear sir / Madame Hotel I, thank you for choosing the Kenzi Menara Palace for your recent stay in Marrakech also for review posted on tripadvisor.
I read attentively your comment and noted that you have appreciated the spacious room, the very good terrace size, and the breakfast buffet, as well as the amazing and huge swimming pool with the relaxing time that you can enjoy in it.
I have also noticed your remarks about the reception, the pillows and the restaurants, and be sure that we will do our best to meet the expectations of all the guests.
Please be informed that for safety and security reasons we don’t serve food in the sunbeds, for the cleaning , the rooms and the corridors are daily cleaned except when the guest show the DO NO DISTURB card, about the language , most of the employee in the front office speak English and we have a periodic languages training to improve their linguistic skills .
Dear sir/Madame Hotel I ,we will be very pleased to welcome you again in order to make you forget this experience and let you enjoy the delights that the Kenzi Menara palace provide to their guests

JAFAR AGOURD
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace

Address: Zone de l'Agdal, av Mohamed VI, Marrakech 40 0000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#31 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#76 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#95 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#159 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The blend of an Arabo-Moorish architectural style with a generous 10 acres park and gardens makes the Kenzi Menara Palace your haven of peace and tranquility.The Kenzi Menara Palace is a luxury hotel located in a peaceful, 10-acre park in Marrakech just 10 minutes from the medina by free shuttle. The hotel offers accommodation mixing harmoniously the Moroccan style and a modern touch.Guestrooms are comfortable and have a balcony offering a staggering view facing the Atlas mountains. The international restaurant "Terrasse de l’Insensé" and the specialty restaurant "L’Insensé" serve quality cuisine and a different dining sensation and satisfy all taste. There is also a traditional Moroccan restaurant, poolside snack bar, piano bar and room service. The hotel offers various activities including tennis, volleyball, badminton and a swimming pool. The Kids Club is supervised by professionals and gives children the opportunity to discover the Moroccan culture through fun and educational activities. The Spa by Terraké invites guests to relax. Guests can enjoy free Wi-Fi internet access, free on-site parking and a free shuttle to the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, WHM Global Ltd., Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenzi Menara Palace Hotel Marrakech
Kenzi Menara Palace Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.