We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, huge beautiful rooms, Spa needs work” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace

Save Saved
You added SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Zone de l'Agdal, av Mohamed VI, Marrakech 40 0000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #227 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent service, huge beautiful rooms, Spa needs work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My family stayed here for a week on holiday. About a 15 minute taxi ride from the Medina. Our friends stayed at a Riad in the center of the action. Which was noisy at night and a little dicey after hours with kids. We were glad we stayed out of the action, but close to everything.

Our two teen girls had a huge room of their own and they said it was the best room they ever stayed in! Huge comfy beds, huge bathroom with shower and tub. Hubby and I splurged for a suite, and it was amazing. Pool view with patio. The living room was huge, had another family over for the evening and it was so nice to entertain.

TV has tons of free movies you can select, start, and actually forward if you have to interrupt. Huge beds. Great bathroom with double sinks, tub and shower.

Free breakfast buffet with Moroccan and European specialities, but also omelets and scrambled eggs for Americans. We only ate at the buffet for dinner, but it was great, if at 30$ a person expensive. There were two other restaurants, but with so many great ones in Marrakech, we only stayed in one night. Room service and pool menu adequate, but limited.

Consierge was amazing to set up quad bike adventure, dinner show, taxis, and tours. All staff speaks French, but enough speak English. Staff were all friendly, professional and accommodating.

Amazing pool, with staff and pool bar and restaurant.

Only issue was Spa. Worst mani pedi ever, by nicest gal. Staff needs training and if they want to market as a luxury spa, needs upgrading. My facial was borderline. Shampoo and blow out fine. Hubby's massage was great.

Overall we were very happy. But I would probably not stay here again because I do like spa services on a holiday.

Room Tip: Pick a pool view and splurge on a suite, totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenzi Menara P, Directeur d'exploitation at SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Jennifer S, I’m glad to read your comment posted on tripadvisor describing your last journey in Marrakech, and would like to thank for sharing this experience with all the travelers.
All my colleagues and I, are pleased to see that you have appreciated, the hotel location which close to all attractions of Marrakech, the facilities we have, the breakfast with its magic cook show to provide Moroccan crepes and all kind of omelets, the Moroccan and international food in both of our restaurants, the accommodating, friendly ,and professional staff, and the huge rooms well equipped overlooking the amazing views garden or pool side.
For the Spa ,please be informed that many trainings are planned in order to meet your expectations .
I’m proud to note that you had a successful holiday; also you found the atmosphere great, and that is our objective.
Looking forward to welcome you again at the Kenzi Menara Palace.
Sincerely yours

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    192
    92
    30
    23
See reviews for
121
214
13
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have just come back from an 8 night stay at this beautiful hotel, which we booked via secret escapes. We were welcomed at the airport by a lovely man, and arrived at the hotel greeted with mint tea and a very helpful reception. The room was great, large and very clean with amazing views of the Atlas Mountains and the enormous pool.

The positives to the stay were:

1) The hotel and scenery are beautiful and relaxing
2) Maria and Mike in the evenings were exceptional singers and great hosts
3) Adhil works at the hotel as Leisure Manager and is extremely friendly, helpful and an asset to the hotel
4) We really enjoyed the food and atmosphere in the Morocco Restaurant, the head chef Nicola,has the kitchens running extremely efficiently, serving excellent food
5) The shuttle bus to the square is really helpful and always on time

Negatives would be the service at breakfast. We were often left without tea/coffee, plus the language barrier can be an issue if you don't speak French.

Overall, we had a lovely time and would go back. We think the lack of service from the waiters etc is purely down to there being a lot of people to cater for at one time.

Room Tip: Go for a top floor Atlas/pool mountain view.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenzi Menara P, Directeur d'exploitation at SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Cbaillie , we were pleased to have the privilege to welcome during the 8 nights spent in Marrakech ,and would like to thank you for sharing this experience with all the world’s travelers . Your comment shows clearly that you have been warmly welcomed by our staff who did the best to offer you an unforgettable holiday at the Kenzi Menara Palace.
The largest rooms well equipped with their amazing views face to the Atlas Mountains, the magnificent garden and the huge swimming pool, where you can enjoy the succulent meals proposed by our snack pool bar, also the calm and relaxing atmosphere, the facilities provided …all these points mentioned on your review, are part of the strengths of the Kenzi Menara Palace.
Hope will have the chance to receive you again in “YOUR” palace for another lovely time.

JAFAR AGOURD
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Spent four nights at hotel whilst visiting Marrakech, hotel setting is excellent and rooms are a good size and comfortable. It was a shame that reception staff did not show any interest when checking in and because there is no information in the rooms you had to guess what facilities there were available. Shuttle bus into town good and only takes 10 mins and pick ups are on time. We also arranged a trip to Atlas Mts at 800 Di. This is not worth it as you could hire a cab for half the price and you need to hire an additional guide once there anyway. Top tip in Marrakech is argue the price of everything, taxis back to hotel were half the price by the end of our trip and we had got used to arguing price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenzi Menara P, Directeur d'exploitation at SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
RESPONSE:
Dear Freya2007, I would like to thank you for having chosen the Kenzi Menara Palace to spend your recent journey in Marrakech.
I’m happy to note that you have enjoyed the spacious and comfortable rooms, and the hotel setting which is excellent.
I have also noticed your remark about the reception which I will not miss to ask its staff to make more efforts when the hotel is full.
We will be delighted to welcome you again in our Palace, in order to make you next stay more enjoyable.

JAFAR AGOURD
Directeur d'exploitation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Booked via secret escapes. Arrival was the best part of the stay with the nice welcome by the porter. Room was nice and spacious with good views.

The reception at checkin was like a factory - hurried, impersonal and provided no information about the hotel services. The package included a spa voucher but this was not provided at checkin which meant running around to collect the voucher when we tried to book the spa session.

The spa appears to operate independently to the hotel and hence we had to chase the voucher by ourselves. Our worst hammam experience ever!! At first we were left waiting in a hammam with our dressing gowns! Then with no steam in the hammam we went back and forth to spa reception 3 times only to be told there's a technical problem. It would have been nice to have been told this 20mins earlier as it appeared that the staff already knew about the problem from the outset. The replacement hammam room wasn't great. Took 20mins to half fill with steam with only a 30min session. There were no salts in the hammam like we have previously experienced. All in all a not relaxing treatment.

At dinner we discovered that the a la carte restaurant was fully booked up! If we had been informed during checkin that reservations were necessary then we would have done so! The buffet restaurant was full of tour groups making it feel like a noisy canteen.

Eventually ordered room service which was actually quite a nice meal.

During the evening we found that the room aircon was not working. The handyman came to investigate while we were having dinner. We asked him to come back in half an hour but he never turned up! We were too fed up to chase yet another hotel person.

Checkout was the same as checkin. Never asked if we had a good stay otherwise we would have mentioned the above at that time!

We won't be coming back to this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenzi Menara P, Directeur d'exploitation at SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear CirrusHGG,
we were delighted to welcome you during your recent journey.
We are glad to notice that you have appreciated the welcoming of our porter, the spacious room with its wonderful view on the amazing garden and the huge swimming pool.
We have also noted all your remarks, and be sure that we took it into consideration, in order to make your next stay more enjoyable.
Looking forward welcoming you again, to make you forget this experience and prove that we can provide better service.
Kind regards

JAFAR AGOURD
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights As part of a Voyage Prive offer, and was pleasantly surprised at size and scale of hotel. Very impressive layout and facilities. Initially only had 2 comments to make 1. No coffee or tea making facilities in the room. With such a nice balcony it was a shame that you couldn't have a relaxing coffee on waking up. 2. Wi - fi was laborious to setup and also slow.
But then the last day arrived, and although we had an 8 pm flight we were not offered to extend our room until 5, as hotel too busy. Offered the spa to shower a d get changed, which was inconvienient. Then went back to get our cases(at secure location) actually at one side of entrance doors with access from garden ( so not so secure) and the plate we had purchased had been smashed. Sharif the excellent concierge has promised to find a replacement and DHL it too us. Other staff were not bothered.
Overall a very comfortable hotel, but a few things could be improved to make it wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenzi Menara P, Directeur d'exploitation at SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Melandpercy, I was delighted to welcome you during your recent journey in Marrakech, and would like to thank you for sharing this experience on Tripadvisor.

I’m pleased to read your comment, and saw that you had a successful holiday in our hotel, which you found very comfortable with its fabulous rooms and facilities .also I took into consideration all your remarks that I won’t miss to discuss about them with my colleagues in order to improve our quality service and make it much better.

We will be very happy to receive again for another enjoyable stay at the Kenzi Menara Palace.

Sincerely yours

JAFAR AGOURD
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca, Italy
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

To quote Shakespeare in the Merchant of Venice, 'all that glisters is not gold' and the Kenzi Menara Palace hotel is not gold in spite of it's supposedly five star rating.
We had requested that were were met by a car at the airport, no car was there. We had to call the hotel several times, before we decided to take a taxi there. On arrival the hotel looks impressive with a vast public reception area. We were upgraded to a suite which was quite pleasant with a view over the pool and garden.
Breakfast was chaotic. Waiters carrying empty trays moved between the tables carefully ignoring requests for a cup of coffee and when we eventually managed to get one it was almost cold. The selection of food in the breakfast buffet was quite inferior for this standard of hotel.
We decided to dine in the hotel one evening. There was a choice between a distinctly jaded buffet in the main dining room or traditional cuisine in the Moroccan restaurant. The food here was unbelievably poor and served by a very unsmiling waitress. I complained to the Ali, the head waiter who apologised but did not offer anything us anything else. This five star hotel does not have an a la carte restaurant or a coffee shop where one can get a hot coffee outside mealtimes.
The hotel is located some considerable distance from the city centre. The hotel runs a bus
service to the main square but it runs very infrequently and unless you are prepared to wait, the alternative is an expensive taxi ride.
We complained to the manager Rene Baiada about the hotel's shortcomings, including the failure to send the booked car to the airport. A deputy manager was called and she stated emphatically that we had not confirmed the booking. Fortunately we were able to produce the email confirmation.
Mr Baiada seems to respond to the numerous complaints about the service in the hotel with palliative promises. I advised him to stop wasting his time and to set about dealing directly with the numerous complaints.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenzi Menara P, Directeur d'exploitation at SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Melandpercy, I was delighted to welcome you during your recent journey in Marrakech, and would like to thank you for sharing this experience on Tripadvisor.

I’m pleased to read your comment, and saw that you had a successful holiday in our hotel, which you found very comfortable with its fabulous rooms and facilities .also I took into consideration all your remarks that I won’t miss to discuss about them with my colleagues in order to improve our quality service and make it much better.

We will be very happy to receive again for another enjoyable stay at the Kenzi Menara Palace.

Sincerely yours

Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Mixed experiences of this hotel:

The Good:
- Good sized rooms
- Reasonable variety of food at breakfast and dinner buffets
- Good pool area (though not the weather for it on our trip

The Bad
- air conditioning not room by room so often too hot or too cold (website is misleading)
- views over stunning garden (per website) actually over small amount of garden then busy road and ANO hotel
- many little things not a big deal in their own right but on a longer stay they do mount up
- no wired internet in rooms (per website), wi-fi slow
- water pressure low - if you want a bath think ahead!
- No non-smoking areas in restaurants - goes with the territory in Morocco
- connecting door - so if neighbors noisy you will hear it

Mixed
- some staff friendly (especially the concierge), some staff less so
- sometimes responsive to requests, sometimes you have to persevere

Room Tip: May be worth checking if any of the much cheaper garden view rooms do have a decent view - did not s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenzi Menara P, Operations Director at SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Prof_Palace,

I am really happy while I read your comment on tripadvisor, and I would thank you for sharing your experience at the Kenzi Menara Palace.
I noted attentively all your remarks and I’m proud to see that you have been satisfied of our good sized rooms which are large and spacious, the both restaurants with their variety of food at breakfast and dinner ,also the amazing pool area with its wonderful garden , and the friendly staff
I have also noticed your comments and we promise that we will try our best for the comfort of our guests.
We thank you for your notifications about our website and we inform that will be rectified as soon as possible.
Looking forward welcoming you again in order to make your next holiday more enjoyable.

Kind regards.

JAFAR AGOURD
Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace

Also Known As:
Kenzi Menara Palace Hotel Marrakech
Kenzi Menara Palace Marrakech
Address: Zone de l'Agdal, av Mohamed VI, Marrakech 40 0000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#88 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#141 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#212 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The blend of an Arabo-Moorish architectural style with a generous 10 acres park and gardens makes the Kenzi Menara Palace your haven of peace and tranquility.The Kenzi Menara Palace is a luxury hotel located in a peaceful, 10-acre park in Marrakech just 10 minutes from the medina by free shuttle. The hotel offers accommodation mixing harmoniously the Moroccan style and a modern touch.Guestrooms are comfortable and have a balcony offering a staggering view facing the Atlas mountains. The international restaurant "Terrasse de l’Insensé" and the specialty restaurant "L’Insensé" serve quality cuisine and a different dining sensation and satisfy all taste. There is also a traditional Moroccan restaurant, poolside snack bar, piano bar and room service. The hotel offers various activities including tennis, volleyball, badminton and a swimming pool. The Kids Club is supervised by professionals and gives children the opportunity to discover the Moroccan culture through fun and educational activities. The Spa by Terraké invites guests to relax. Guests can enjoy free Wi-Fi internet access, free on-site parking and a free shuttle to the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Agoda, Tingo, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.