We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Porte Rouge

Save Saved
You added Riad La Porte Rouge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad La Porte Rouge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Absolute fantastic Riad. Have just got back today for a 4 night stay and couldn't wait to write my review. Ahmed and the rest of the staff could not do enough to help throughout our stay. Breakfast was delicious and we felt totally relaxed. Nothing was too much for the staff and all were very informative. Thank-you for a relaxing stay!

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    48
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
183
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Little gem in the medina. The riad is easy to find, located by the Agdal
Gardens and the Hassan II palace. Decoration is beautiful, the staff, the owner and the cat are lovely and the service is great. No bad surprise and no deception. I definitely recommend this place. Little plus, there is a jaccuzzi on the roof terrace which is great to relax after a crazy day in the buzzing Marrakech.

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We can only echo the positive comments of others, this Riad is a beautiful oasis of calm which is in stark contrast to amazing, crazy Marrakech. We arrived late and had dinner in the Riad which was a fantastic first taste of Moroccan cuisine and hospitality - the food was excellent. Breakfast was great and varied each day, served either in the courtyard or the sun terrace. Plenty of spaces to sit, relax and sip mint tea or sunbathe on the terrace. The jacuzzi was a lovely addition too. Ahmed, Mustapha and the rest of the staff (oh and Max the cat) were so hospitable, making this feel like a home from home. The heart of the Medina is a 15-20 minute walk away but we always welcomed the walk, especially after a filling Moroccan street food feast at Djeema el fna.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful Riad , tastefully decorated. Warm welcome with free tea and cookies served in the cozy central atrium. The room was comfortable, well presented and clean ...rose petals on the bed , fresh fruits ...Fresh towels.
The staff and Max the cat were friendly and accommodating. Dinner was good, served in the lovely terrace.
We were disappointed with the breakfast selection : limited, bread not fresh, had to ask to reheat the coffee.
But this was a minor flaw for an overall very good experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

There are hundreds of Riads to choose from in Marrakech, but we were travelling the country by car, and so needed one near the medina, but where we could also park, and so chose this, as it has excellent reviews.

It is a very pleasant Riad, very nicely decorated and run, with a cool central courtyard, a pleasant roof terrace, and jacuzzi (which worked!) on the roof. Compared to the Riad we stayed in at Fez, this one was much more architecturally and artistically simple, but still a very good place to stay. The room was big, and all rooms are highly individual, around the central courtyard on two floors.

It is about a 10 minute walk into the medina, and then about a further 20 minutes to the main square (Djemaa el Fna), through what appears to be a dirty and posibly dodgy area behind the city walls. However, we always felt safe here, there are always people on the street, and we had no problems walking back at night to the hotel, which has some small shops nearby for basic supplies.

A good base for exploring the medina, if you want to stay outside the old town.

Room Tip: Avoid the gorund floor rooms around the courtyard, as they have less privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This Riad is simply amazing. It is decorated beautifully throughout. It has 7 rooms and ours was absolutely beautiful. There is a lovely garden roof terrace for sun bathing. Ahmed and mustaffa are very helpful with everything and they will book any excursions or taxis for you. The food here is also excellent and they will cook for you any time you want. The riad is well located and a taxi to the main square will cost you 40-50 dirham if you dont want to do the short walk. This is the place to stay if you are heading to marrakech.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this riad for 1 week in May after it had been recommended to us by some friends and we were not disappointed! We can't say thank you enough to Ahmed and the rest of the team. We were welcomed with mint tea and delicious pastries and Ahmed spent ages talking to us about the area and showing us on the map the best routes around the city.
As we were staying a week our airport transfers were included and we were met by the best driver in Morocco , an absolutely lovely man called Yassine.

We booked Yassine for many other days out exploring the Atlas Mountains and surrounding areas and were fascinated to talk to him about his family, culture and life in Morocco. If you are looking at doing any excursions make sure you ask for Yassine. He will take you anywhere you want to go and is such a gentleman as well as being so fascinating to talk to.

We stayed in the room on the roof terrace and it was beautiful . We must also say a huge thank you to the chef ( so sorry, can't remember his name ) as we ate in the riad almost every evening and the food was exquisite , so much better then eating out.

Ahmed and the team really can't do enough for you, anything you need they will provide. Please don't consider staying anywhere else in Marrakech !

Room Tip: The room on the roof terrace is by far the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad La Porte Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Porte Rouge

Address: 48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad La Porte Rouge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Palais Royal gardens and 15 minutes walk from the legendary Jamaa Lfna square.Recently restored in the respect for the traditional morrocan architectureHospitality, comfort and service, perfectly define the Riad La Porte Rouge.You can dream in its shady patio, sip tea with mint in its morrocan lounge or refresh yourself in its moorish pool.Very quiet, a magical place that will allow you to rest in peace in the lounge or the beautiful terrace with views of the atlas, or around the patio lively murmur of a fountain bathed in rose petals, tea mint at nap time, not to mention spicy tagine or a magical light candles and dance. Real sensations that will make you sway to moments of pure well-being!For your convenience, seven different rooms , all equipped with bathroom and air conditioning and a safe . and also a jacuzzi on the terrace.A helpful and attentive staff will accompany you during your stay, to make it unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Riad La Porte Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad La Porte Rouge Hotel Marrakech
Riad La Porte Rouge Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Porte Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.