We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic riad!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Porte Rouge

Best prices from these 9 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad La Porte Rouge to your Saves list
Riad La Porte Rouge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic riad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this riad for 1 week in May after it had been recommended to us by some friends and we were not disappointed! We can't say thank you enough to Ahmed and the rest of the team. We were welcomed with mint tea and delicious pastries and Ahmed spent ages talking to us about the area and showing us on the map the best routes around the city.
As we were staying a week our airport transfers were included and we were met by the best driver in Morocco , an absolutely lovely man called Yassine.

We booked Yassine for many other days out exploring the Atlas Mountains and surrounding areas and were fascinated to talk to him about his family, culture and life in Morocco. If you are looking at doing any excursions make sure you ask for Yassine. He will take you anywhere you want to go and is such a gentleman as well as being so fascinating to talk to.

We stayed in the room on the roof terrace and it was beautiful . We must also say a huge thank you to the chef ( so sorry, can't remember his name ) as we ate in the riad almost every evening and the food was exquisite , so much better then eating out.

Ahmed and the team really can't do enough for you, anything you need they will provide. Please don't consider staying anywhere else in Marrakech !

Room Tip: The room on the roof terrace is by far the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    48
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
184
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We traveled to Morocco in February and visited Casablanca and Marrakech. We had a great time in Marrakech partly because of our stay in this riad! Although the riad was fairly secluded, it was not far away from the gates of the Old Medina. Once we found the place however, we were surprised by its decor and stylish look. Every room had a unique Moroccan look to it and no two rooms appeared to be the same. We were situated on the top floor in a room that offered great privacy for the duration of our stay. There was no noise that would bother us and the staff was respectful and reliable at all times. They were very helpful as well--during one of the days, the manager drove us from the riad to the Menara Gardens, which is a considerable distance away. Furthermore, the riad offered great deals on tours to the mountains and other local sights.

The breakfast was different every day of our stay. It was always made with organic, local products (jams, butter, etc.) and was excellent. Sitting on the roof, watching the beautiful Atlas Mountains (which can be clearly seen from the hotel, especially in the morning) while having our breakfast was a lovely experience. Overall, we are extremely satisfied with the quality of the riad and the service of the staff, notably the manager and the staff member Said. Thank you for the good accommodation!

Room Tip: Room on the roof is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, Responsable relations clients at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you very much to take time for sharing your experience on tripadvisor.
The Riad la porte Rouge team join me to thank you for choosing to stay in the riad,we're very happy to read that your experience was amazing and you enjoyed it,we would like to thank you for this interest in Marrakech and Morocco too.We hope to see you in the nearest future.

Many thanks again,

Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We're just returned from a weeks stay at La Porte Rouge and cannot praise Ahmed and his team enough, everyone was so friendly and helpful.On arrival we were warmly welcomed with mint tea and a tour around the riad, Ahmed gave us a map and some great tips for getting around and what to see and do during our stay.

We were extremely happy with the riad , its beautifully decorated , very clean ,well maintained and very comfortable , it's peaceful with plenty of space to find a quiet corner to relax in after a busy day exploring
. Breakfast was really good , freshly made and very tasty, the menu looked very good too although we only ate once at the riad in the evening, it was delicious but far too much for just the two of us. We would highly recommend this riad and look forward to returning very soon.

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor was perfect,beautifully decorated and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, Responsable relations clients at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you very much to take time for sharing your experience on tripadvisor.
The Riad la porte Rouge team join me to thank you for choosing to stay in the riad,we're very happy to read that your experience was amazing and you enjoyed it,we would like to thank you for this interest in Marrakech and Morocco too.We hope to see you in the nearest future.

Many thanks again,

Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Riad la Porte Rouge is without a doubt, the best place to visit Marrakech. Thanks to Ahmed, Karen and the rest of the team (even the cat) we had an incredible experience. Everyone in the Riad is kind, helpfull, always willing to help. The food is really good, the breakfast are huge, nice pool, great jacuzzi, beautiful decoration, clean, close to the main places to visit and calm.

Best place ever!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, Responsable relations clients at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you very much to take time for sharing your experience on tripadvisor.
The Riad la porte Rouge team join me to thank you for choosing to stay in the riad,we're very happy to read that your experience was amazing and you enjoyed it,we would like to thank you for this interest in Marrakech and Morocco too.We hope to see you in the nearest future.

Many thanks again,

Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This is my second visit to Morocco and have left this review for last and am really glad I did as I wish to extend a special thank you to Ahmed who really looked after me and my husband. First time I came to Morocco, TA did not exist and I was a single girl happily staying in very simple accommodation. This time, with husband in tow, I had to up the ante and stay in more comfortable, acceptable surroundings befitting a married couple i.e. Not a bucket for a toilet!

This riad does have everything, a small dipping pool downstairs, a couple of lounge areas around a courtyard, two bedrooms on the ground floor, 4 on the next and 1 at the top floor where there is berber style lounge area, breakfast tables on the terrace, a hot tub and lounging areas for sunbathing and rooms for massage. We stayed here 3 times in 2 weeks: once in the hiba room downstairs when we first arrived to Marrakesh for 2 nights, second time for one night (chadia room first floor) upon returning from the Atlas mountains and for the final night (chadia room) after returning from Essaouria before going home. It is the final time that I especially wish to thank Ahmed for, he is like a friendly omnipresent concierge.

Early evening my husband realises he has left 2 shirts in the wardrobe of the Riad Chems Bleu in Essaouria which we left that morning. Although not expensive shirts, one of them I had sentimental value as it was the shirt I remember my husband wore on our first date. Ahmed contacted the riad and Latifa, manager of the Riad Chems Bleu brought the shirts herself the following morning to Ahmed just in time before we had our flight home at lunchtime. i never got to thank Latifa in person as she was en route to a meeting but wish to further add another review/comment after 3 months curfew that TA enforces as she made a special effort for us and I am so grateful she was able to come so quickly at short notice. Simple as it sounded, if I tried to converse with Latifa on the phone it wouldn't have been so straightforward as most hoteliers converse in French fluently but English not quite as well, having Ahmed facilitated the conversation and ended with the perfect result!

Location wise, the riad on the TA map is incorrect (not on derb Jmaa) if there is a lesson I have learnt is to check hotel websites as TA has incorrect locations on a few hotels and restaurants. The riad is at the end of a blind alley on the Rue de Bab Hmar, east of the Royal Palace- at the boundary wall there is an arch whereby you will see a street with small shops, immediately to your left there is road going alongside the palace wall and an alley, after a few shops, go into the next blind alley (you may see people going into a prayer room if its open) and take the first left and follow it to the end and the riad is there. It is about a 15-20 minute walk to Jemaa el fna following the palace wall and then the main road. Pleasantly located out of the main hustle and bustle.

Out of the rooms, we preferred Chadia room a little more as it feels more private than the rooms downstairs. On the ground floor you do hear the throughput of people in the courtyard so guests do need to be considerate with noise levels, on the flip side you don't really hear the sound of traffic on the outside except the call to prayer.

Last but not least, dont forget to say hello Max the friendly resident fluffy ginger cat. He loves strokes, the leather seat in the corner table of the courtyard and stretching out on the red carpet.

Room Tip: Chadia room is on the first floor, as are 3 other rooms. They feel more private than the ones on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, Responsable relations clients at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you very much to take time for sharing your experience on tripadvisor.
The Riad la porte Rouge team join me to thank you for choosing to stay in the riad,we're very happy to read that your experience was amazing and you enjoyed it,we would like to thank you for this interest in Marrakech and Morocco too.We hope to see you in the nearest future.

Many thanks again,

Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 5 day stay in this little gem of a riad, 15 minutes walk from all the hectic action at Jamaa el-Fnaa. The riad is beautifully decorated with plenty of interesting paintings and local pieces of furniture and art. Our room was exquisite with little touches such as rose petals on pillows. There was nothing that was too much trouble for the staff, all of whom were polite, courteous and professional at all times. Especially Moustafa who was exceptionally attentive and provided us with excellent recommendations for places to eat outside of the main square. We appreciated his quiet hospitality very much. We would definitely recommend this riad for a very luxurious, relaxing escape from the madness that is Marrakech.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, Responsable relations clients at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you very much to take time for sharing your experience on tripadvisor.
The Riad la porte Rouge team join me to thank you for choosing to stay in the riad,we're very happy to read that your experience was amazing and you enjoyed it,we would like to thank you for this interest in Marrakech and Morocco too.We hope to see you in the nearest future.

Many thanks again,

Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We arrived at Riad La Porte Rouge after several days in the mountains and desert and it was like arriving at an oasis. Despite its competitive price, the riad is so luxurious with incredible attention to detail both in terms of the Riad itself and the staff. Nothing is too much trouble and the staff are always on hand to help, whether it be recommending places to buy souvenirs / prices to pay, where the main tourist attractions are or simply making sure you know how to get to the place you've planned to go.

We stayed in Narjisse and were aware that this was a small room before arriving. However, it was much bigger than we expected it to be and of the same standard as all the other rooms. The room is downstairs off the central courtyard but we were never kept awake by noise. The rooms were cleaned every day, super comfortable and the air con was a godsend as temperatures were well in to the 40s.

The roof terrace is lovely and the hot tub is a great addition.

This was the best riad we stayed in during our holiday in Marrakech and we'd highly recommend to anyone looking for somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, Responsable relations clients at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review, we keep a very worm and friendly of your stay among us, your interest in Marrakech medina and Morocco too, we feel happy that you enjoyed your stay in Marrakech and we thank you for the time you took to write this lovely review, we keep a very nice souvenirs and a great pleasure for the Riad la porte rouge team to receive you in your second home in Morocco and even thanks for your interest in Moroccan traditions,cultures.The name is correct .

Many thanks,

Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad La Porte Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Porte Rouge

Address: 48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad La Porte Rouge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Palais Royal gardens and 15 minutes walk from the legendary Jamaa Lfna square.Recently restored in the respect for the traditional morrocan architectureHospitality, comfort and service, perfectly define the Riad La Porte Rouge.You can dream in its shady patio, sip tea with mint in its morrocan lounge or refresh yourself in its moorish pool.Very quiet, a magical place that will allow you to rest in peace in the lounge or the beautiful terrace with views of the atlas, or around the patio lively murmur of a fountain bathed in rose petals, tea mint at nap time, not to mention spicy tagine or a magical light candles and dance. Real sensations that will make you sway to moments of pure well-being!For your convenience, seven different rooms , all equipped with bathroom and air conditioning and a safe . and also a jacuzzi on the terrace.A helpful and attentive staff will accompany you during your stay, to make it unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad La Porte Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad La Porte Rouge Hotel Marrakech
Riad La Porte Rouge Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Porte Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.