We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sumptuous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Porte Rouge

Save Saved
You added Riad La Porte Rouge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad La Porte Rouge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sumptuous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This Riad was charming. The décor was perfect, the bed lovely and the breakfast delicious. Madame Karen and the staff made us feel very welcome. They organised taxis to and from the airport which made things easy and gave us advice about where to visit and what routes to take. We had massages in the little room on the terrace,which were reasonably priced and a pleasure after the madness of a day in Marrakech. We would definitely recommend this Riad.

Room Tip: We had a double room which was draped with orange and red curtains. It had a Moorish style ensuite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    46
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
172
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I stayed at the Riad with my sister for three nights. Our stay was a fantastic experience from start to end. We were expecting to stay at a budget b&b for the very reasonable price we paid. However, this hotel turned out to be fantastic.

The staff are very friendly and attend to your every need, they really can't do enough! We ate at the hotel on three occasions and the tagines cooked by Moustaffa were very nice :) I would recommend the shoulder of lamb which was out of this world. The breakfast are also very nice ans included in the price!

Karen the hotel manager is very nice and helpful and arranged a days excursion into the atlas mountains for us. This trip was fantastic and our tour guide Yazine made it very special. He was very knowledge and couldnt do enough for us. He is a very good driver too as I am fearful of heights.

Thank you all at the riad for our excellent stay including Max the cat and a special thank you to Yazine for making our trip to the mountains one to remember.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldswil, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

After a good research on TA, we decided to stay here. looking forward to a day of hammam, massage and whirlpool at the roof, once arrived we got informed that all the above is under rebuilt..there was no info either on the website or in the booking confirmation and no price reduction….the rooms were ok, bit clam and smelly humid. not so happy!! the reception guy, adi was very friendly and helpful, with restaurant reservation and shuttle organizing…

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Gérant at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Sir,


1- We informed all our gusts that we are making a renovation of the hot tub , we are removing the old one and making a new bigger and more beautiful one during January 2014 , and it was clearly mentionned , in french and in english , on the website and on booking.com before you made the reservation .

2- You paid the room 63€ , wich is normally at 85€ .

3-We offered you and your friend a cocktail.

4- I offered to pick you up at the airport after you have returned your car loacation at the airport, it did make you save 120 dirhams.

5- The room you booked has a huge window and another one in the bathroom , there is no humidity in it , you had that impression maybe only because you entered to the room 5 min after the cleaning was finished.

So I think that we did more than the necessary to compensate for the inconvenience of renovation, especially when you're stayed only one night.


Kind regards

ADIL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Me and my partner stayed at the Riad last September and had a beautiful time. The staff were very friendly and helpful all the time, and also the cook was fantastic cooking an array of traditional delights. On our last night he even cooked us a special lamb dish that was off the menu. After several weeks travelling Morocco, it was a lovely place to end our journey, in wonderfully relaxing surroundings. The riad was the perfect tranquil place to relax after a hectic days exploring the medina. This riad comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, null, Brunei
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The decor is lovely and eclectic yet homely and intimate at the same time. The rooms were spacious and had all the amenities you could ever hope for there (except for a TV but I didn't mind because I didn't travel so far to watch TV. If you still want TV, there's a TV room on the ground floor). The staff was friendly as well and I never felt like I was inconveniencing them when I asked for anything. The hotel also provides a brochure of some really helpful services and tours if you want and I thought that was fantastic because they didn't pressure you into buying it or anything but if you wanted it,it was there. The cleanliness and housekeeping was top-notch and made the whole place look unbelievably spotless & neat. The rooftop terrace was lovely as well and we had our breakfasts under the sun and I absolutely enjoyed it (plus the breakfast itself is always changing and delicious and MORE than enough for one person). The beds were comfortable, the sofa was comfortable. It's a cosy, beutiful, lovely, quiet place to stay in. The only drawback it had was that it was difficult to find if your taxi driver couldn't go all the way to the entrance (like what happened to us as the King was in town that day and the road leading to the Riad passes by the Palace entrance so it was blocked off) although the plus side is that it is located quite near to the centre of the Medina. You could practically walk to the Koutobia Mosque in 25minutes, if you don't mind walking. But besides that this is the best place you could stay in. I also felt like it was value for money too. Better service than Hilton or wherever. I enjoyed my stay immensely. My heartfelt thanks to Karen, Said and the rest of her staff (sorry I forgot your names) for your warmest hospitality, kindness and welcoming spirits. Also, thank you, Max the cat, for brightening up our stay even more.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

My wife and I stopped in this hotel last week. It is a charming place and I would certainly recommend to any traveller. The owner Karen and her staff were very accommodating. The inclusive breakfasts were traditional and a delight to eat! We also booked via hotels.com and got a great discount, making the cost, great value for money. We are hoping to get back to the Atlas Mountains for a long weekend in the summer and depending on flights times, will definitely look to stop here again. The hotel is 15 minutes away from the airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review.

All the best

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed at Riad La Porte Rouge for 3 nights this weekend, 3 of us on a girls break. The staff were incredibly accommodating, looking after us, feeding us (the most amazing breakfasts), suggesting places to visit and where to eat. We were staying over a friends birthday and they gave her flowers with breakfast on the morning which was really thoughtful.

Room Tip: We stayed in the only 3 bed room - plenty of room to sleep all 3 of us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Gérant at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad La Porte Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Porte Rouge

Address: 48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad La Porte Rouge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Palais Royal gardens and 15 minutes walk from the legendary Jamaa Lfna square.Recently restored in the respect for the traditional morrocan architectureHospitality, comfort and service, perfectly define the Riad La Porte Rouge.You can dream in its shady patio, sip tea with mint in its morrocan lounge or refresh yourself in its moorish pool.Very quiet, a magical place that will allow you to rest in peace in the lounge or the beautiful terrace with views of the atlas, or around the patio lively murmur of a fountain bathed in rose petals, tea mint at nap time, not to mention spicy tagine or a magical light candles and dance. Real sensations that will make you sway to moments of pure well-being!For your convenience, seven different rooms , all equipped with bathroom and air conditioning and a safe . and also a jacuzzi on the terrace.A helpful and attentive staff will accompany you during your stay, to make it unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad La Porte Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad La Porte Rouge Hotel Marrakech
Riad La Porte Rouge Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Porte Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.