We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty and quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Porte Rouge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad La Porte Rouge to your Saves list
Riad La Porte Rouge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pretty and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay in this quiet Riad in August. A driver came and picked us up at the airport around 2am and brought us directly to the Riad and we were able to check in seemlessly, despite our late arrival. The room was gorgeous, nicely decorated and with an amazing bathroom and it was peacefully quiet. We had a lovely breakfast with fresh orange juice and some rolls and jam. It was a convenient 15-20 minute walk from the Riad to the heart of the Central square which we were able to navigate pretty easily (using the map). The guys were very helpful with helping us arrange our itinerary, even booking us an afternoon cooking class and taking me to the local hamam for an authentic bathing experience (keep your underwear on, it was clean and quite adventure!!). We also had dinner on the roof top terrace one night and the beef with prunes and apricots was absolutely superb! My friend's chicken filo pie was also good. I think this would be a great spot for a couple, though it worked for friends as well. My only complaint is that the pool is really small and there is no space for sun lounging, so you should not plan a pool-side holiday here. The pool is only really for giving the courtyard another lovely addition.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    51
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
62
198
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Comfortably placed on the edge of busy Medina making it equally comfortable for getting to Jemaa-el-Fnaa or souks as well as catching taxi to drive to Menara, Gueliz or Hivernage. Staff was great. They kept trying to match our expectations by these little things that make your stay really nice. In response to our inquiries they offered freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast or open bar with snacks in the evening. Good occasion to try home-like Morrocan cuisine to be served on a very nice roof terrace or guest room. Design of this riad is really great - a trully traditional Morrocan home experience packed with handmade Morrocan furniture and decors. Even though I stayed in much more posh places like Four Seasons before this was one of the best hotel experiences ever. Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you very much for for your review.

We are very pleased that our Riad leave you a good memory.

Our only goal is the customer leaves happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a two-week package on the Moroccan coast of Agadir but wanted to explore Marrakech alone & booked a two-night stay in this beautiful Riad some months before our departure.

Communications before our stay were answered extremely prompted & efficiently leaving us with complete confidence that we would be in safe hands during our stay. We were not disappointed.

Upon our arrival we were taken into a air conditioned sitting area where we were given a large map of the city & the places of interest were pointed out (perfect if you hadn't done any research or were coming here last minute). Whilst our room was being prepared we were given biscuits/cakes & mint tea.

The riad is a twenty minute walk away from the main square of Jemma el Fna & we were shown the best way of going to & from here.

Breakfast was filling, varied & can be eaten wherever you chose. Despite it being further out than we thought (hoped), it made an excellent base & a relaxing place to kick back after long days out in the heat of the Red City.

If we were returned to Marrakech again, we wouldn't look at staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
thank you for your comment, it's been fun to see that you enjoyed your stay.

Looking forward seening you a next time soon ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Booked in here on the 13th August, and stayed for 3 nights. I was in the Salwa room, which was really nice. I was by myself, but I would recommend this room for couples.

I booked very last minute (on the morning before arriving), and I went with La Porte Rouge because the speed of their response and the information in their e-mail was both helpful and personal. Adil, who works in the office, was a superstar in this respect.

My flight arrived an hour late, but the airport transfer was smooth and the guy who picked me up was in great spirits despite hanging around. I'd recommend this option as it's only 10euros, and you'll get ripped off by the airport taxis paying more.

I arrived, was greeted with some orange juice and given an orientation of the city - very helpful.

So, plus points:
- great food (better value that a lot of places in town), good alcohol selection, great caretakers (Mustafa and Said will ensure you're not lost for anything), nice plunge pool, great jacuzzi, and excellent management. Karen, the owner, was extremely helpful in arranging another location for me to stay due to the Riad being fully booked when I wanted to extend a night.

Any negative points?
- maybe the rooftop terrace could be larger, but this wasn't at all a limiting factor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you very much !

It was a pleasure for us to make your stay a nice souvenir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We loved staying at the Porte Rouge! Said was the most welcoming host, and immediately made us feel at home. He offered us tea upon our arrival, and gave us a fantastic overview of the city. His recommendations were excellent, and he answered all of our questions. He helped us book taxis as well as bus tickets, and made sure we had everything we needed. The rest of the staff was also wonderful- everyone was accommodating, helpful, and so hospitable. The riad is beautiful and spacious, with a lovely courtyard, living room, and beautiful rooftop terrace. It is peaceful, quiet and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was delicious- coffee/tea, fresh orange juice, pastries, breads, etc. There is also a jacuzzi on the roof, which was a lot of fun. We stayed in the Narjisee room for the first night, and then they upgraded us for the second night to the Kaoutar room! Both rooms were clean, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. The Kaoutar room was especially nice, with a spacious bathroom, a couch, and a big closet. All rooms have air conditioning and a safe. The riad is located right off the main road by Bab Hmar, but it is very quiet. It is about a 15 minute walk into the main square (or an inexpensive taxi), and the riad is very close to the Bahia and Badi palaces. We had such an amazing stay at the Riad Porte Rouge, and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Marrakech!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you very much !!

You are welcome at anytime .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

It was a family holiday. We felt at home right from the beginning. Sayeed was there whenever we needed anything. Korina and Maalika were such darlings; Karen was also very helpful. The Tagine we had in the RIad was probably the best in Marrakesh. It was a very sweet gesture on the part of the Karen to provide the airport transfer.
The location of the Riad is very central to the old city. It took a 25 minutes walk to the Medina.
Staying in the Riad gave a very authentic feel ; Dont spend money staying in a hotel.The breakfast prepared by the staff WAS mouth watering

Room Tip: Rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlingen, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

On our arrival Karen offered a sumptuous breakfast and welcomed us with the words: " consider this your home in Marrakech". Said and Mustafa made us feel exceptionally welcome. Our every wish was realized with a smile making us feel like very special, pampered guests. Our room on the roof terrace was beautiful. We also had the roof terrace virtually to ourselves for relaxing, tea or dinner.Breakfast is included in the price and always offers some delicious new surprises. A good selection of tasty local dinner specials is also available and having dinner served on the roof terrace under the stars is a romantic treat. The staff attention to making guests feel welcome is truly exceptional and makes this Riad stand out of the crowd.

Room Tip: The room on the roof terrace is the one to choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much !

It was a pleasure and hope receive you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad La Porte Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Porte Rouge

Address: 48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad La Porte Rouge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Palais Royal gardens and 15 minutes walk from the legendary Jamaa Lfna square.Recently restored in the respect for the traditional morrocan architectureHospitality, comfort and service, perfectly define the Riad La Porte Rouge.You can dream in its shady patio, sip tea with mint in its morrocan lounge or refresh yourself in its moorish pool.Very quiet, a magical place that will allow you to rest in peace in the lounge or the beautiful terrace with views of the atlas, or around the patio lively murmur of a fountain bathed in rose petals, tea mint at nap time, not to mention spicy tagine or a magical light candles and dance. Real sensations that will make you sway to moments of pure well-being!For your convenience, seven different rooms , all equipped with bathroom and air conditioning and a safe . And also a jacuzzi on the terrace.A helpful and attentive staff will accompany you during your stay, to make it unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad La Porte Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad La Porte Rouge Hotel Marrakech
Riad La Porte Rouge Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Porte Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.