We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Porte Rouge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad La Porte Rouge to your Saves list
Riad La Porte Rouge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
1 review
“Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Beautiful riad and very friendly staff. Adil was incredibly attentive, genuine and caring. We arrived early in the am before check-in but this was no problem and we were welcomed with mint tea and a selection of tasty things to eat. Our room although small (selected personally) was immaculate and extremely clean. Superb deco and so much care goes into everything. The cleaner polished and cleaned everything, even the wooden shutters, and she laid rose petals for our arrival. We have just eaten a delicious beef, apricot and prune tagine and ate it on the roof top enjoying the quiet night (despite call to prayer from mosque next door which we love). Despite Ramadan, we were discreetly offered alcohol and we shared a lovely bottle of red called ksar. The resident cat feels at home here just like all the guests too. We spent our last evening here instead of going out and we have lived it. The hot tub is definitely a bonus and the cold shower. We used this both days in privacy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much !

It was a pleasure and hope receive you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    48
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
184
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My friend and I have just come back from a week here and we really loved it. The place is beautiful, the staff are so friendly and helpful, the food was delicious, the cocktails were good value, it is spotlessly clean...I genuinely can't think of a way that they could do much to make it better. The rooms were cleaned/beds made every day. It was very peaceful which came as a surprise considering how bustling it was outside. Karen was so lovely and helpful, our breakfast was varied and tasty and sometimes brought to us without us even having to ask. When we had a taxi ordered for us one night to go to Gueliz, the taxi driver didn't speak English so one of the guys from the Riad came in the taxi part of the way with us to make sure we got there OK. Unfortunately I'm rubbish with names but we nicknamed him 'slick' (not to his face) and we thought he was awesome.

I do have to point out that as an animal lover, I spent an awful lot of time petting Max the cat, who is a massive ginger gangsta of a cat. He is lovely. I recommend petting him as often as possible.

My only criticisms are things that actually the Riad can't help, these are just things you may want to consider: It is very close to a mosque, so if you're a light sleeper you will get woken by the call to prayer. Saying that, you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere that isn't close to a mosque. Also, it is very much not in an area that has a lot of tourists. This is absolutely fine for most people, but because my friend and I were 2 western girls on holiday alone, we did get quite a lot of looks and sometimes hassle from men when we would walk towards the souks, so we did end up spending more on taxis, particularly at night, than we would have liked. Don't let this put you off though, you just may want to budget a bit of extra money for taxis.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much !

It was a pleasure and hope receive you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elloughton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Me and Jackie stayed at the Riad La Porte Rouge in May 2013 and had a fabulous time!!The staff couldnt do enought for you, especially Mustafa!
Rooms are amazing and Jackie was in heaven with the nightgown.Food was fantastic and the Happy Hours were amazing(Have to try the Sangria!!)
Massage is a must and so is the hot tub!!!!
A Big thanks to Karen,Mustafa and the rest of the staff for an amazing time,cant wait to go back!!! Tania

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to make a review and thank you to those who I have not had time to answer.

We will continue to make the maximum to satisfy you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had a lovely time at this Riad. The decor is gorgeous, the food is good, and the staff is wonderful, especially Mustafa, the most experienced, but also they all have interesting personalities and are warm and inviting. We are a family of five with three teenage children and the kids were very comfortable there which was helpful as the two younger teens experienced some initial culture shock. The Riad helped us book a trip in the Atlas mountains for a day for a reasonable price. The owner is professional and inspiring. We feel that they treated us well and would go back.

Room Tip: Both of our rooms on the second floor were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much !

It was a pleasure and hope receive you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My Daughter and I stayed at the Riad La Porte Rouge in March of 2013 We had such a fabulous time. It has taken me so long to review due to unforeseen events. Firstly the Riad is wonderful. especially the staff so lets start: Said: the consummate professional who administers the best of customer service, his knowledge and willingness to share about his culture and religion (only when asked as he is very respectful) is facinating We learned lots from Said and appreciated his amazing spirit and attention to detail especially when we asked about the times of call to prayer (which was the most amazing sound around the city) The lovely ladies who clean the rooms and prepare meals were so happy and welcoming (even though they didn't speak English ), we never felt like guests just part of the Riad. Karen who owns the Riad is so friendly and helpful, she organized and cancelled a trip for us without hesitation (we loved her) My early morning friend Moustaffa who when everyone was sleeping was still happy to serve me coffee and a warm smile (he is a gem)((I am an early riser 5 a.m), he also served us supper in the evening, he is a gentle soul and a true blessing to the Riad. Max the cat is a treasure, he cuddles with you and takes the empty seat beside you when you are alone. I could go on about the warmth of the Riad and the wonderful staff but I think you get it. Proximity to the souks is about 10 minutes walking distance...not to long but far enough away. The food at the Riad is amazing, we ate in a few restaurants on our trip (a few lunches and a dinner) however most of our dinners we ate at the riad (by choice, it wasn't part of our booking( as they were far superior to what we had experienced. My favourite dish at the Riad was the Rfissa it is delicious, I could have eaten this every night however you have to order in the morning if you want this dish as it takes quite a few hours to prepare (7 or 8 approx.) the tangines are delicious as is the royal couscous. The rooms are spacious and quite traditional (very quiet)with ensuite bathrooms. The roof top patio is a tranquil oasis from the bustle of the median(wish we could have spent more time there). I could probably go on for longer about this Riad however it sells itself, I am only hoping that when I want to book it again (which I will) they will find space for me.
Karen I hope you enjoyed your granddaughters visit.
Lots of love and great wishes, Janice and Cassie Hornby (Canada)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much !

It was a pleasure and hope receive you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Beautiful riad at the edge of the medina. Very kind and polite staff. Spacious, beatiful, romantic and hygienic rooms with rose petals on the bed and bathroom. Every room has his own colour. The breakfast is served at the time and place in the riad you want and is just as all the food the riad serves, like the couscous and several tajines, delicious.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much !

It was a pleasure and hope receive you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed in this riad for 2 nights. It is quite easy to find from the main road. We were warmly greeted by Natalie (the manager), the staffs and Max the friendly house cat. We arrived at 10am which was early for check-in, however were served delicious mint tea and cookies from the staff. Natalie was really helpful, advising us how to get around the places of interest (the souks, the camel ride places, the orchid garden, etc.)

Our room on the 1st floor was spacious, very clean, comfy and even decorated with rose petals. The amenities was sufficient, hairdryer, in room safe, even bath robes provided. There is a jacuzzi on the top floor however didn't get the chance to dip in as we spent most of our time during the day out at the souks.

There is a staff who works the night shift (i forgot his name), he really takes care of our needs and is very attentive. He even prepared breakfast at 4:30am as we had an early flight to catch! Nothing is too much a trouble for them.

I would definitely stay here again if we return to Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much !

It was a pleasure and hope receive you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad La Porte Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Porte Rouge

Address: 48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad La Porte Rouge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Palais Royal gardens and 15 minutes walk from the legendary Jamaa Lfna square.Recently restored in the respect for the traditional morrocan architectureHospitality, comfort and service, perfectly define the Riad La Porte Rouge.You can dream in its shady patio, sip tea with mint in its morrocan lounge or refresh yourself in its moorish pool.Very quiet, a magical place that will allow you to rest in peace in the lounge or the beautiful terrace with views of the atlas, or around the patio lively murmur of a fountain bathed in rose petals, tea mint at nap time, not to mention spicy tagine or a magical light candles and dance. Real sensations that will make you sway to moments of pure well-being!For your convenience, seven different rooms , all equipped with bathroom and air conditioning and a safe . and also a jacuzzi on the terrace.A helpful and attentive staff will accompany you during your stay, to make it unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad La Porte Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad La Porte Rouge Hotel Marrakech
Riad La Porte Rouge Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Porte Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;