We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Secret Hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Porte Rouge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad La Porte Rouge to your Saves list
Riad La Porte Rouge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 472 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Secret Hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My Daughter and I stayed at the Riad La Porte Rouge in March of 2013 We had such a fabulous time. It has taken me so long to review due to unforeseen events. Firstly the Riad is wonderful. especially the staff so lets start: Said: the consummate professional who administers the best of customer service, his knowledge and willingness to share about his culture and religion (only when asked as he is very respectful) is facinating We learned lots from Said and appreciated his amazing spirit and attention to detail especially when we asked about the times of call to prayer (which was the most amazing sound around the city) The lovely ladies who clean the rooms and prepare meals were so happy and welcoming (even though they didn't speak English ), we never felt like guests just part of the Riad. Karen who owns the Riad is so friendly and helpful, she organized and cancelled a trip for us without hesitation (we loved her) My early morning friend Moustaffa who when everyone was sleeping was still happy to serve me coffee and a warm smile (he is a gem)((I am an early riser 5 a.m), he also served us supper in the evening, he is a gentle soul and a true blessing to the Riad. Max the cat is a treasure, he cuddles with you and takes the empty seat beside you when you are alone. I could go on about the warmth of the Riad and the wonderful staff but I think you get it. Proximity to the souks is about 10 minutes walking distance...not to long but far enough away. The food at the Riad is amazing, we ate in a few restaurants on our trip (a few lunches and a dinner) however most of our dinners we ate at the riad (by choice, it wasn't part of our booking( as they were far superior to what we had experienced. My favourite dish at the Riad was the Rfissa it is delicious, I could have eaten this every night however you have to order in the morning if you want this dish as it takes quite a few hours to prepare (7 or 8 approx.) the tangines are delicious as is the royal couscous. The rooms are spacious and quite traditional (very quiet)with ensuite bathrooms. The roof top patio is a tranquil oasis from the bustle of the median(wish we could have spent more time there). I could probably go on for longer about this Riad however it sells itself, I am only hoping that when I want to book it again (which I will) they will find space for me.
Karen I hope you enjoyed your granddaughters visit.
Lots of love and great wishes, Janice and Cassie Hornby (Canada)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much !

It was a pleasure and hope receive you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    51
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
67
220
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful riad at the edge of the medina. Very kind and polite staff. Spacious, beatiful, romantic and hygienic rooms with rose petals on the bed and bathroom. Every room has his own colour. The breakfast is served at the time and place in the riad you want and is just as all the food the riad serves, like the couscous and several tajines, delicious.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much !

It was a pleasure and hope receive you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed in this riad for 2 nights. It is quite easy to find from the main road. We were warmly greeted by Natalie (the manager), the staffs and Max the friendly house cat. We arrived at 10am which was early for check-in, however were served delicious mint tea and cookies from the staff. Natalie was really helpful, advising us how to get around the places of interest (the souks, the camel ride places, the orchid garden, etc.)

Our room on the 1st floor was spacious, very clean, comfy and even decorated with rose petals. The amenities was sufficient, hairdryer, in room safe, even bath robes provided. There is a jacuzzi on the top floor however didn't get the chance to dip in as we spent most of our time during the day out at the souks.

There is a staff who works the night shift (i forgot his name), he really takes care of our needs and is very attentive. He even prepared breakfast at 4:30am as we had an early flight to catch! Nothing is too much a trouble for them.

I would definitely stay here again if we return to Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much !

It was a pleasure and hope receive you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here at this lovely, homely riad. It is an oasis from the hustle and bustle of Marrackech and a pleasure to come back to after a busy day in the souks. Good hearty breakfast served too! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much !

It was a pleasure and hope receive you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely one-night stay in late May. It would have been tricky to find but the owner booked a taxi for us from the airport. The riad itself was full of character and beautifully presented. We even had rose petals on our pillows - a first for us!

We had excellent service throughout, starting the moment we entered when we received mint tea and delicious Moroccan nibbles. The staff were all too happy to advise on local attractions and gave us a map with directions so we could start exploring the city straight away. We had a leisurely breakfast on the terrace in the morning which was excellent.

Perhaps the only thing we weren't expecting was to be woken by harsh guttural Arabic summoning us to prayer at 4.55 am from a nearby Mosque. The riad can hardly be criticised for this however. Overall we had a brilliant stay!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much !

It was a pleasure and hope receive you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We wish that our stay here was longer. The staff r friedly , very attentive and accommodating. They even served us breakfast at 4.30 am in the morning since we had an early flight! Room is spacious, beautifully decorated and clean. Thank you all if ur reading this !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much !

It was a pleasure and hope receive you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were unsure where to stay, a 4/5 star hotel or a riad. Researching via trip advisor we found the Porte Rouge. We were not disappointed, thank you trip advisor!
Karen arranged a transfer from the airport, a 20 min experience! Arriving around 9.30pm we were greeted by friendly staff who immediately made us welcome with hot sweet Moroccan tea and pastries. A tour of the riad and three beautiful rooms allocated to us, each with an individual moroccan style, charm and luxury.
Tucked away down a side street a little oasis amongst a cacophony to the senses. Attentive staff Adil, Mufasa, Siead and the team (including Max the cat) worked tirelessly, nothing was too much trouble. Freshly made breakfast on the roof terrace to evening cocktails, restaurant bookings and taxis arranged.
A delightful place to stay where you are a valued guest. I highly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: We were a party of six ladies and the three rooms were equally excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review...

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay

Hope see you again .... Inchallah !!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad La Porte Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Porte Rouge

Address: 48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad La Porte Rouge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Palais Royal gardens and 15 minutes walk from the legendary Jamaa Lfna square.Recently restored in the respect for the traditional morrocan architectureHospitality, comfort and service, perfectly define the Riad La Porte Rouge.You can dream in its shady patio, sip tea with mint in its morrocan lounge or refresh yourself in its moorish pool.Very quiet, a magical place that will allow you to rest in peace in the lounge or the beautiful terrace with views of the atlas, or around the patio lively murmur of a fountain bathed in rose petals, tea mint at nap time, not to mention spicy tagine or a magical light candles and dance. Real sensations that will make you sway to moments of pure well-being!For your convenience, seven different rooms , all equipped with bathroom and air conditioning and a safe . And also a jacuzzi on the terrace.A helpful and attentive staff will accompany you during your stay, to make it unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad La Porte Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad La Porte Rouge Hotel Marrakech
Riad La Porte Rouge Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Porte Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.