We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love it !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Porte Rouge

Save Saved
You added Riad La Porte Rouge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad La Porte Rouge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
kuala lumpur
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“We love it !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We wish that our stay here was longer. The staff r friedly , very attentive and accommodating. They even served us breakfast at 4.30 am in the morning since we had an early flight! Room is spacious, beautifully decorated and clean. Thank you all if ur reading this !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much !

It was a pleasure and hope receive you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    308
    46
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
57
174
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were unsure where to stay, a 4/5 star hotel or a riad. Researching via trip advisor we found the Porte Rouge. We were not disappointed, thank you trip advisor!
Karen arranged a transfer from the airport, a 20 min experience! Arriving around 9.30pm we were greeted by friendly staff who immediately made us welcome with hot sweet Moroccan tea and pastries. A tour of the riad and three beautiful rooms allocated to us, each with an individual moroccan style, charm and luxury.
Tucked away down a side street a little oasis amongst a cacophony to the senses. Attentive staff Adil, Mufasa, Siead and the team (including Max the cat) worked tirelessly, nothing was too much trouble. Freshly made breakfast on the roof terrace to evening cocktails, restaurant bookings and taxis arranged.
A delightful place to stay where you are a valued guest. I highly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: We were a party of six ladies and the three rooms were equally excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review...

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay

Hope see you again .... Inchallah !!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

If you're trying to decide between a Riad or a hotel, opt for the former. If you're thinking 'new town or medina', why? Give yourself the authentic Marrakech experience to get the best out of this incredible city. In return, you'll be treated with the upmost hospitality - certainly at Riad La Porte Rouge. From the moment we arrived it felt like we were moving in with friends and family. Mint tea and top tips were served in equal measure, by attentive staff keen to please. Sa‘id and Mustafa are wonderful hosts and made an already enjoyable stay unforgettable. The Riad itself is impeccably decorated, spotlessly clean, and tucked away without being too remote; a safe 15min walk takes you to the main square via your local pit stop Kosybar, sought out by others from further afield. Follow Karen's insights from the Riad's welcome brief, the footsteps of others flocking to Djemaa El-Fna, and your instincts in the souqs, and you can't go far wrong. Stay here and you'll be off to the right start - the only regret we had was not staying for (much) longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a delightful 4 night stay at this riad. The staff are very friendly and super-helpful, nothing is too big or small for them and they went out their way to make us feel at home. Special thanks to Karen, Sayid and Mustafa who made our stay both comfortable and welcoming. Tucked away from the noisy and hectic streets of Marrakesh this is the perfect location to relax, unwind and take solace away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The food at the riad was beautiful, authentic morrocan cuisine and at a reasonable price. On arrival we were greeted with mint tea and morracan pastries, a lovely touch to re-fresh you after a long journey. I could go on about how lovely our stay was, but suffice to say we would go back and had such a wonderful time.

Room Tip: There are only 5 or 6 rooms at this riad - we have the smallest, and this was sufficient enough as y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

As soon as we got to the riad they took our suitcases and gave us mint tea and yummy Moroccan pastries to welcome us. Youseff gave us a map to help us navigate our way to the bustling main square. The riad is tucked away down an alley in a residential area just inside the medina walls. At first we struggled with navigation but soon found our way to the main attractions. On the way to the Jeema el Fna square we walked through the Jewish quarter, a quieter area with great shops and the sophisticated Kosybar- well worth a visit.
The raid itself is beautifully decorated with amazing attention to detail. We were lucky enough to stay in the rooftop "pink" room and enjoyed the direct access to the jacuzzi- fantastic after a long day haggling in the souks or relaxing on the sun-drenched terrace.
The food was the best we had whilst we were there. Marrakech was quite a culture shock for us, but having a nice riad to stay at where we felt comfortable and well looked after really helped us acclimatise and fully enjoy the experience. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review.

I'm very happy that you appreciate our Riad.

Very sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We cannot recommend this riad highly enough. Not only is it absolutely beautiful, you have an instant feeling of cool and calm when you walk through the door. You would never believe all the hustle and bustle going on a couple of alleyways away!

It's situated right by the palace, about 15 minutes walk away (if you don't get distracted by all the street vendors) from the main square and the souks.

The staff are really friendly and accommodating. When we arrived we felt like we were on honeymoon with all the petals strewn all over the room! We stayed in 3 rooms in total as we used it as a base while we traveled around a bit. Each has it's own identity and they all are equally beautiful, very clean and have powerful aircon which is much needed! We often had the roof terrace, including the sun-loungers and jacuzzi to ourselves which was great. You can happily have breakfast or supper up here too.

Breakfast was a great spread of things. Very traditionally Moroccan and fresh everyday.They also serve dinner which we had on a couple of nights. The food was great, some of the best we had whilst there and well priced too. Mustafa also makes a mean sangria which is unlimited.

Most importantly the staff dealt with an emergency very proficiently, and made a potentially stressful situation much easier to handle. My boyfriend had a bad accident whilst we were staying there (passed out and smashed his head up) the staff responded quickly and had good first aid skills. Karen called a good doctor to come and stitch his head up, which was much better than having to move him and go to the local medical center.

We cannot thank them all enough for a great stay and would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants a relaxing base in Marrakech.

Room Tip: Whatever room you are in you will be woken by the prayer call at around 4.30am! Chadia on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Recently stayed here with mum and sister. It was all our first time in Marrakesh and straight away they helped us with everything we needed to know. The Riad was beautiful and great place to relax away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh. The food was amazing from the breakfast to the wonderful tagines which were the best we tasted. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and really went out of their way to make you feel welcome in this fabulous Riad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad La Porte Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Porte Rouge

Address: 48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#35 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad La Porte Rouge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Palais Royal gardens and 15 minutes walk from the legendary Jamaa Lfna square.Recently restored in the respect for the traditional morrocan architectureHospitality, comfort and service, perfectly define the Riad La Porte Rouge.You can dream in its shady patio, sip tea with mint in its morrocan lounge or refresh yourself in its moorish pool.Very quiet, a magical place that will allow you to rest in peace in the lounge or the beautiful terrace with views of the atlas, or around the patio lively murmur of a fountain bathed in rose petals, tea mint at nap time, not to mention spicy tagine or a magical light candles and dance. Real sensations that will make you sway to moments of pure well-being!For your convenience, seven different rooms , all equipped with bathroom and air conditioning and a safe . and also a jacuzzi on the terrace.A helpful and attentive staff will accompany you during your stay, to make it unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad La Porte Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad La Porte Rouge Hotel Marrakech
Riad La Porte Rouge Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Porte Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.