We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply fabulous & great hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Porte Rouge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad La Porte Rouge to your Saves list
Riad La Porte Rouge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 473 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Simply fabulous & great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at La Porte Rouge Riad from Fri 29 March - Wed 3 April and it exceeded all expectations. From initial contact via email Karen was very, very, helpful. I found it by going through all the TripAdvisor reviews & finding something within our tight budget!

We arranged a transfer with Karen (she offered this to us for free) but our flight was delayed by 2hrs. I emailed Karen before we took off to let her know and when we arrived at Marrakech airport our transfer was waiting at arrivals (we were scared they may not have realised!)

When we parked up on the main road we were dubious at first - it seemed very busy and we had to walk down 2 alleys to get to the Riad door. But as soon as we walked in our worries were over. The riad was simply beautiful and felt homey - the decor, the smell of incense burning etc. We were welcomed with fresh mint tea & Moroccan pastries (yummy!).

We were a group of 7 females looking for a relaxing and chilled break. On the first night there were 5 of us staying in 2 rooms - Hiba & Argana and the next night our 2 friends joined us so we had Hiba, Argana, Salwa and Chadia. The rooms were all decorated in different Morrocan styles & colours and they were perfect in size. No issues with dirt, beds being uncomfortable etc they really were great! The shower gel provided smelt very nice! Rooms were cleaned every day.

We had breakfast on the roof terrace almost every day - this was our fave part of the day as the sun shone on us and we had fresh pastries, mint tea, crepes, yoghurt etc. It was a very "sweet" breakfast and we would have loved to have had some cooked eggs or something savoury etc but this was not a major problem. You can see the Atlas Mountains from the rooftop. We also ate dinner at the riad twice and it was very nice - the tagines cooked fresh and only 8.50Euro for a main meal also great main + dessert/3 course meal deals. The riad also had a fab open bar for only 6Euro per person and this included unlimited sangria, caprinhas and mojitos. We loved the sangrias Moustafa prepared for us! Great value & way to unwind/start the evening!

We never got the chance to use the jacuzzi as we were so busy but we had massages - 30Euros for 1 hour and 20Euros for 30 minutes - the 1 hour massage did not last a full 1 hour (more 45 mins) but it was a good massage nonetheless.

We arranged a 1 day excursion with Karen to be taken upto the Atlas Mountains, Orika Valley, visit a Berber village, visit to the lake etc. This was 1600 dirhams for 7 of us which was good value. We were driven by Yassine for the whole day and it was a great trip. We wish we had known that the additional guide to the waterfalls was extra as we didn't have enough money for this...

The Riad is approx 15 mins walk from the main square. It's an interesting walk but once you have done it once it's very easy and a taxi is not needed. We actually preferred the location of our riad, away from the real hustle & bustle and more relaxing and peaceful.

On the first day Karen arranged a "green taxi" for us (metered & official) to Jardin Marjorelle. On the way back we tried to get a "normal" taxi but they were not metered and were saying extortionate prices! I called Karen and asked for her to arrange for 2 x green taxis to pick us up instead and she obliged.

The kindness and hospitality of Karen, Syed, Moustafa, the housekeeping team and Yassine was second to none. None of us would hesitate to visit again - it's perfect for groups of friends and couples (it's very romantic!) - i could imagine that it's possible to rent the entire riad which would also be great for a special occasion etc.

The riad has free wifi which is also a big plus :)

Room Tip: Take the Green Taxi number from Karen to avoid being ripped off by other taxi drivers. Take extra d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    51
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
67
222
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife & I have just spent 4 nights at Riad La Porte Rouge & enjoyed our stay very much.
We had the small bedroom on the ground floor out of choice because it was the cheapest,it was very nicely decorated as I believe are all the rooms, it may be a little compact for some but it suited us fine. It is a little noisy in the morning as you can hear breakfast being prepared but again you get what you pay for. All in all we thought the riad was great value, it has a lovely relaxing atmosphere with beautiful decor, soft music & soothing fragrances. We were lucky to have good weather & so ate our lovely breakfasts up on the roof terrace which is also a nice place to relax, the Jacuzzi being a nice extra. We ate at the riad a couple of times, the food is very good.
Karen is a very nice lady & very accommodating, we found all the staff friendly & helpful.
Location wise the riad is a little way out of the center but once we got used to the route we did not find it to much of a problem to walk, day or night, the staff will organize a taxi for you if you do not want to walk & they are very reasonable price wise. All in all we found all the other delights of La Porte Rouge far out weighed the location issue.
Once again we would like to thank Karen & all the staff at La Port Rouge for making our our first visit to Marrakech so enjoyable. Joe & Helen Jones.

Room Tip: All rooms looked great, maybe upstairs rooms a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Myself and 19 year old daughter have just returned from a four night stay at the riad.We both agree it is the most wonderful and relaxing place to stay.The traditional decor is beautiful and the smell from the incense in the courtyard is lovely .The owner and staff provide the best customer service that we have ever experienced and the food is excellent.The riad is just a short walk to the main tourist area and main square and the walk was always very interesting .This was our first visit to Marrakesh and and we normally stay in larger chain hotels on holiday but have to stay this is without doubt the best place we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your very nice review, it makes me very happy.

Our only desire is to satisfy our customer , I am delighted that this has been the case for you.

Looking forward to see you maybe a next time....... Inchallah !!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I had an amazing time at the riad. I stayed in the twin room on the ground floor by myself but they pushed the beds together so i had a double bed to myself all the same. Granted it may get slightly noisy if other guests talk loudly outside in the courtyard but my stay was lovely nonetheless.

The breakfasts were very delicious with slight variations each day so I got to try different Moroccan breads and pastries every day with a selection of honey and jams. The juice is very fresh and cool and even coffee was great.

The decor of the riad is absolutely beautiful and they also burn very pleasant smelling Moroccan incense in the courtyard which provided to the traditional Moroccan ambience.

I felt extremely welcome and well taken care of by the riad staff, being a solo female traveller. They gave me great advice upon arrival about sights to see and where to go and Moroccan food, and had all the necessary transport arranged for me personally catered to my needs.

The riad would be very difficult to find for any first-time visitors so I strongly recommend having airport transfer booked beforehand with the riad- it's the best way to get there.

Special heartfelt thank you to Karen and Saeed and the rest of the riad staff for such a fantastic time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review.

I m happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Riad.

It was a pleasure to receive you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed for seven nights at the beginning of March and just loved it. The Riad is traditional and comfortable and the staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. A special mention to Mustafa for whom nothing was to much trouble even serving us dinner undercover on the roof terrace in the gentle rain. The Riad is an 'interesting' 10 minute walk before you reach the first tourist traps and a further 5 or 10 minutes to the main square. We walked there and back every day even late at night with no problems.
If you are looking for a real Morrocan experience then this is the place to go. Great Value, good food and comfortable accommodation.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms can be noisy as they are situated off the main courtyard so first floor rooms pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a traditional Moroccan experience then this is definitely the place to go. We stayed here for four nights in may. The customer service the hotel provides is second to none. Nothing was too much trouble, staff were friendly and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. The food was excellent. We particularly loved the breakfast which was made up of yogurts,fruit,bread honey and small cakes which varied slightly every day - delicious!
The location is out of the way which added to our 'real' Moroccan experience and allowed us to see things we wouldn't have seen had we stayed in a large hotel chain. Overall an excellent place to stay.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The staff at Riad Lat Porte Rouge were cordial and patient and treated us like warm guest. They organized some one to pick up us at the hotel. Served us breakfast late in the day ANYWHERE we chose. Helped us organize day trips. Provided clean and gorgeous rooms. You name it.That is the Moroccan way.
However, they went beyond that. They made us feel like they were our family there: the special care they showed us had so much honesty it was heartwarming. We spent new years eve with the staff and I feel like they were so genuine and proud of their city, i wish I could go back already!
About the Riad, It is a 15min walk from the main square, it is a smoggy road on the day time and peaceful in the night. Did i mention only 15Euro carriage ride from the square at night? talk about feeling like a king. For the city itself I would suggest travelers to embrace the fact that everyone is tipped and that you will get scammed. Calculate that into your budget and enjoy this magical beautiful place.

Room Tip: There are very few rooms and I would definitely spend the little more to get bigger rooms. The reaso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Riad.

Hope see you maybe a next time....inchallah!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad La Porte Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Porte Rouge

Address: 48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad La Porte Rouge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Palais Royal gardens and 15 minutes walk from the legendary Jamaa Lfna square.Recently restored in the respect for the traditional morrocan architectureHospitality, comfort and service, perfectly define the Riad La Porte Rouge.You can dream in its shady patio, sip tea with mint in its morrocan lounge or refresh yourself in its moorish pool.Very quiet, a magical place that will allow you to rest in peace in the lounge or the beautiful terrace with views of the atlas, or around the patio lively murmur of a fountain bathed in rose petals, tea mint at nap time, not to mention spicy tagine or a magical light candles and dance. Real sensations that will make you sway to moments of pure well-being!For your convenience, seven different rooms , all equipped with bathroom and air conditioning and a safe . And also a jacuzzi on the terrace.A helpful and attentive staff will accompany you during your stay, to make it unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad La Porte Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad La Porte Rouge Hotel Marrakech
Riad La Porte Rouge Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Porte Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.