We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Porte Rouge

Save Saved
You added Riad La Porte Rouge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad La Porte Rouge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife & I have just spent 4 nights at Riad La Porte Rouge & enjoyed our stay very much.
We had the small bedroom on the ground floor out of choice because it was the cheapest,it was very nicely decorated as I believe are all the rooms, it may be a little compact for some but it suited us fine. It is a little noisy in the morning as you can hear breakfast being prepared but again you get what you pay for. All in all we thought the riad was great value, it has a lovely relaxing atmosphere with beautiful decor, soft music & soothing fragrances. We were lucky to have good weather & so ate our lovely breakfasts up on the roof terrace which is also a nice place to relax, the Jacuzzi being a nice extra. We ate at the riad a couple of times, the food is very good.
Karen is a very nice lady & very accommodating, we found all the staff friendly & helpful.
Location wise the riad is a little way out of the center but once we got used to the route we did not find it to much of a problem to walk, day or night, the staff will organize a taxi for you if you do not want to walk & they are very reasonable price wise. All in all we found all the other delights of La Porte Rouge far out weighed the location issue.
Once again we would like to thank Karen & all the staff at La Port Rouge for making our our first visit to Marrakech so enjoyable. Joe & Helen Jones.

Room Tip: All rooms looked great, maybe upstairs rooms a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    304
    46
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
172
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Myself and 19 year old daughter have just returned from a four night stay at the riad.We both agree it is the most wonderful and relaxing place to stay.The traditional decor is beautiful and the smell from the incense in the courtyard is lovely .The owner and staff provide the best customer service that we have ever experienced and the food is excellent.The riad is just a short walk to the main tourist area and main square and the walk was always very interesting .This was our first visit to Marrakesh and and we normally stay in larger chain hotels on holiday but have to stay this is without doubt the best place we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your very nice review, it makes me very happy.

Our only desire is to satisfy our customer , I am delighted that this has been the case for you.

Looking forward to see you maybe a next time....... Inchallah !!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I had an amazing time at the riad. I stayed in the twin room on the ground floor by myself but they pushed the beds together so i had a double bed to myself all the same. Granted it may get slightly noisy if other guests talk loudly outside in the courtyard but my stay was lovely nonetheless.

The breakfasts were very delicious with slight variations each day so I got to try different Moroccan breads and pastries every day with a selection of honey and jams. The juice is very fresh and cool and even coffee was great.

The decor of the riad is absolutely beautiful and they also burn very pleasant smelling Moroccan incense in the courtyard which provided to the traditional Moroccan ambience.

I felt extremely welcome and well taken care of by the riad staff, being a solo female traveller. They gave me great advice upon arrival about sights to see and where to go and Moroccan food, and had all the necessary transport arranged for me personally catered to my needs.

The riad would be very difficult to find for any first-time visitors so I strongly recommend having airport transfer booked beforehand with the riad- it's the best way to get there.

Special heartfelt thank you to Karen and Saeed and the rest of the riad staff for such a fantastic time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review.

I m happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Riad.

It was a pleasure to receive you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed for seven nights at the beginning of March and just loved it. The Riad is traditional and comfortable and the staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. A special mention to Mustafa for whom nothing was to much trouble even serving us dinner undercover on the roof terrace in the gentle rain. The Riad is an 'interesting' 10 minute walk before you reach the first tourist traps and a further 5 or 10 minutes to the main square. We walked there and back every day even late at night with no problems.
If you are looking for a real Morrocan experience then this is the place to go. Great Value, good food and comfortable accommodation.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms can be noisy as they are situated off the main courtyard so first floor rooms pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a traditional Moroccan experience then this is definitely the place to go. We stayed here for four nights in may. The customer service the hotel provides is second to none. Nothing was too much trouble, staff were friendly and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. The food was excellent. We particularly loved the breakfast which was made up of yogurts,fruit,bread honey and small cakes which varied slightly every day - delicious!
The location is out of the way which added to our 'real' Moroccan experience and allowed us to see things we wouldn't have seen had we stayed in a large hotel chain. Overall an excellent place to stay.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The staff at Riad Lat Porte Rouge were cordial and patient and treated us like warm guest. They organized some one to pick up us at the hotel. Served us breakfast late in the day ANYWHERE we chose. Helped us organize day trips. Provided clean and gorgeous rooms. You name it.That is the Moroccan way.
However, they went beyond that. They made us feel like they were our family there: the special care they showed us had so much honesty it was heartwarming. We spent new years eve with the staff and I feel like they were so genuine and proud of their city, i wish I could go back already!
About the Riad, It is a 15min walk from the main square, it is a smoggy road on the day time and peaceful in the night. Did i mention only 15Euro carriage ride from the square at night? talk about feeling like a king. For the city itself I would suggest travelers to embrace the fact that everyone is tipped and that you will get scammed. Calculate that into your budget and enjoy this magical beautiful place.

Room Tip: There are very few rooms and I would definitely spend the little more to get bigger rooms. The reaso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Riad.

Hope see you maybe a next time....inchallah!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We are a couple in our mid-late twenties and found this place at the last minute. We loved it. The location is perfect. It's a short walk (about ten minutes) from the main square and a lovely route through the bustling streets. The Riad itself is beautifully decorated. Lanterns, furniture and even the bathroom sink are all stunning. The rooftop terrace is a great place to sit and relax, eat breakfast or enjoy the jacuzzi. The staff are also lovely. Thank you to Kazim for looking after us and answering out many questions about the city, not forgetting Max the friendly cat who was also good company throughout our stay.

Very sad to leave!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Manager at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
It was a pleasure to receive you in our Riad and thank you very much for your lovely review.

Greeting from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad La Porte Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Porte Rouge

Address: 48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#37 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad La Porte Rouge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Palais Royal gardens and 15 minutes walk from the legendary Jamaa Lfna square.Recently restored in the respect for the traditional morrocan architectureHospitality, comfort and service, perfectly define the Riad La Porte Rouge.You can dream in its shady patio, sip tea with mint in its morrocan lounge or refresh yourself in its moorish pool.Very quiet, a magical place that will allow you to rest in peace in the lounge or the beautiful terrace with views of the atlas, or around the patio lively murmur of a fountain bathed in rose petals, tea mint at nap time, not to mention spicy tagine or a magical light candles and dance. Real sensations that will make you sway to moments of pure well-being!For your convenience, seven different rooms , all equipped with bathroom and air conditioning and a safe . and also a jacuzzi on the terrace.A helpful and attentive staff will accompany you during your stay, to make it unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad La Porte Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad La Porte Rouge Hotel Marrakech
Riad La Porte Rouge Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Porte Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.