We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Traditional Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Porte Rouge

Save Saved
You added Riad La Porte Rouge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad La Porte Rouge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Value Traditional Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed for seven nights at the beginning of March and just loved it. The Riad is traditional and comfortable and the staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. A special mention to Mustafa for whom nothing was to much trouble even serving us dinner undercover on the roof terrace in the gentle rain. The Riad is an 'interesting' 10 minute walk before you reach the first tourist traps and a further 5 or 10 minutes to the main square. We walked there and back every day even late at night with no problems.
If you are looking for a real Morrocan experience then this is the place to go. Great Value, good food and comfortable accommodation.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms can be noisy as they are situated off the main courtyard so first floor rooms pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    46
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
172
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a traditional Moroccan experience then this is definitely the place to go. We stayed here for four nights in may. The customer service the hotel provides is second to none. Nothing was too much trouble, staff were friendly and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. The food was excellent. We particularly loved the breakfast which was made up of yogurts,fruit,bread honey and small cakes which varied slightly every day - delicious!
The location is out of the way which added to our 'real' Moroccan experience and allowed us to see things we wouldn't have seen had we stayed in a large hotel chain. Overall an excellent place to stay.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The staff at Riad Lat Porte Rouge were cordial and patient and treated us like warm guest. They organized some one to pick up us at the hotel. Served us breakfast late in the day ANYWHERE we chose. Helped us organize day trips. Provided clean and gorgeous rooms. You name it.That is the Moroccan way.
However, they went beyond that. They made us feel like they were our family there: the special care they showed us had so much honesty it was heartwarming. We spent new years eve with the staff and I feel like they were so genuine and proud of their city, i wish I could go back already!
About the Riad, It is a 15min walk from the main square, it is a smoggy road on the day time and peaceful in the night. Did i mention only 15Euro carriage ride from the square at night? talk about feeling like a king. For the city itself I would suggest travelers to embrace the fact that everyone is tipped and that you will get scammed. Calculate that into your budget and enjoy this magical beautiful place.

Room Tip: There are very few rooms and I would definitely spend the little more to get bigger rooms. The reaso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Riad.

Hope see you maybe a next time....inchallah!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We are a couple in our mid-late twenties and found this place at the last minute. We loved it. The location is perfect. It's a short walk (about ten minutes) from the main square and a lovely route through the bustling streets. The Riad itself is beautifully decorated. Lanterns, furniture and even the bathroom sink are all stunning. The rooftop terrace is a great place to sit and relax, eat breakfast or enjoy the jacuzzi. The staff are also lovely. Thank you to Kazim for looking after us and answering out many questions about the city, not forgetting Max the friendly cat who was also good company throughout our stay.

Very sad to leave!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Manager at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
It was a pleasure to receive you in our Riad and thank you very much for your lovely review.

Greeting from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The riad was a bit difficult to find for the taxi driver but it is actually at a great location. It is located just near the medina so that you can walk to Jemaa-el-Fna easily.

As soon as we arrived we were totally impressed by the beautiful decor of the Riad. It seems like an oasis in the desert. We were served nice Moroccon tea and one of the staff member, Qasim, gave us all the information needed for accessing the different parts of Marrakech.

The staff at La Porte Rouge are really helpful and accommodating. Special thanks to Saeed and Qasim for making our stay comfortable and enjoyable.

Overall, it is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Manager at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very very much and we are really happy to see that you enjoyed your stay in the Riad.

Hope receive you for your next vacations in Marrakech.

Greeting from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed in the Riad La Porte Rouge for several days and enjoyed every moment of it.

The owner Karen and her team are always around to care for their guests. They kindly help you by organizing trips, reserving tables at restaurants, making phone calls and answering all possible questions you may have.

The heart of the building is the courtyard which is beautiful and comfortable. While most of the rooms are located on the first floor, the rooftop offers some nice tables to sit as well as a jacuzzi.

The first evening we also had dinner in the riad and did not regret this decision. The Tajine we had was delicious and had the quality one can expect from a good restaurant. The price was fair, too, like the prices for service and the rooms. The breakfast was great with tasty coffee and fresh orange juice. There is also yoghurt, bread, the traditional local pancake and different kinds of jam.

The rooms are very clean and the colorful interior design fits the picture one would expect from the tales of Scheherazade.

We would kindly recommend the Riad La Porte Rouge to everyone who wants a relaxing and calm base to discover the beautiful town of Marrakech.

Room Tip: The small room downstairs has the best wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Manager at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very very much and we are really happy to see that you enjoyed your stay in the Riad.

Hope receive you for your next vacations in Marrakech.

Greeting from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My friend and I have just come back from four wonderful days in Marrakech. After reading excellent review after excellent review I was looking forward to our stay at La Porte Rouge, and we were not disappointed. Firstly, all the staff at La Porte Rouge will do anything to make your stay more comfortable. We were greeted by the charming Kassim who was always polite and ready to help us. Karen, the manager, is also wonderful and gave us some great advice about hammams and restaurants. Karen even suggested one of her staff taking us to the local hammam for a traditional experience - amazing service! In the end we did choose the more touristy Les Bains de Marrakech, but still, lovely to have the offer. Said the night porter was extremely polite and let's not forget the Riad's darling cat Max! Going back to food, when at La Porte Rouge, you MUST sample the delights of the house chef. We ordered a three course meal for 15 euros and it was superb. The beef tagine was one of the best dishes we ate in Marrakech.

The Riad itself is exquisitely decorated, with traditional Marrakshi furnishings and a large central courtyard area. We particularly liked the roof terrace to chill out on after long days exploring the souks in the north of town. Our room was beautifully furnished, we couldn't ask for anything more. As other reviewers have said, the riad is located in the south of the city, but once we knew the walk we could easily do it in 10-15 minutes. Taxis are very cheap too - never more than about £5. I can't recommend this Riad enough, if you want a few days exploring the delights of Marrakech, head straight here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put your opinion and I'm really glad you loved the Riad and that you keep good memories of your stay with us.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad La Porte Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Porte Rouge

Address: 48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad La Porte Rouge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Palais Royal gardens and 15 minutes walk from the legendary Jamaa Lfna square.Recently restored in the respect for the traditional morrocan architectureHospitality, comfort and service, perfectly define the Riad La Porte Rouge.You can dream in its shady patio, sip tea with mint in its morrocan lounge or refresh yourself in its moorish pool.Very quiet, a magical place that will allow you to rest in peace in the lounge or the beautiful terrace with views of the atlas, or around the patio lively murmur of a fountain bathed in rose petals, tea mint at nap time, not to mention spicy tagine or a magical light candles and dance. Real sensations that will make you sway to moments of pure well-being!For your convenience, seven different rooms , all equipped with bathroom and air conditioning and a safe . and also a jacuzzi on the terrace.A helpful and attentive staff will accompany you during your stay, to make it unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad La Porte Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad La Porte Rouge Hotel Marrakech
Riad La Porte Rouge Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Porte Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.