We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Oasis in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Porte Rouge

Save Saved
You added Riad La Porte Rouge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad La Porte Rouge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Letchworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hidden Oasis in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Although difficult to find at first the Riad is a delight the moment you walk through the door. Hidden away within the local community at first impressions you may not be expecting much from the surrounding area but the Riad is its own little world within the hustle and bustle of the city. The staff are polite, friendly and welcoming from the moment you walk through the door willing to help you with any planning on what to do in the days that you stay at the Riad. On top of being very hospitable they take pride in their jobs and do utmost to keep the place clean and tidy regularly throughout the day. The managers of the Riad speak French and English very well and possibly other languages too.

A great emphasis is made to cater to the individual and make the Riad a temporary home for your family, rather than a bigger hotel that may just see you as a number. This is evident by the décor giving off a homely, warming, Moroccan feel accompanied by ambient music and the great service by the members of staff.

Accommodation wise we stayed in Kaoutar (on the top floor) and Salwa (on the first floor) both of which are very spacious giving enough room to move around without feeling cramped. Both equipped with an air con unit which also blew out hot air for those chilly nights when you want to warm up. Plenty of storage space, a blanket is also provided as well as complimentary oranges, and water on arrival, alongside toiletries which not only smell delightful but leave your skin feeling silky smooth. A bonus of which you can buy from the Riad as well as various oils and incense that the they use. They accept both Dirham and Euros. Shutters on the rooms are very atmospheric giving the option to let lots or little to no light into your room. Although close by together, you will find that you're nights are not disturbed by noises from other rooms or guests.

The facilities the Riad provide allow for a comfortable stay and relaxation if you decide not to go out for the day. On the terrace you have a lounging area beside a dining area where you can have breakfast upstairs if you wish. There is also 3 sunbeds that are comfortable but situated so that you can get sun all throughout the day, as well as being right next to the hot tub, which is very comfortable and relaxing, enabling you to dry off quickly. Beside the hot tub you also have a massage parlour big enough for one person so you can treat yourself if you wish. Although not used in our stay there is a small pool on the ground floor in the reception area which during the hotter days will be a relief from the hot sun.

Food wise the Riad provided a free breakfast everyday between 8am - 11am as well as lunch and dinner that can be bought costing around 6-15 Euros a meal. Breakfast is different each day but you will always have a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice along side bread, butter, jam, honey, soft cheese, and a drink of your choice between coffee, English tea, or Moroccan tea. Some of the breakfast options we had included pancakes, crepes, yoghurt and fruit cocktails, sweet cakes and tarts.

For the duration of our stay we rented a car to get around, free parking on the main road by the Riad was very easily accessible. We never struggled to find somewhere to park. The roads are actually roads and not dirt tracks as some may expect, all very smooth as they wind around the nook and cranny's of the city. Driving in Marrakech however is not for the faint-hearted or nervous. You need eyes in the back of your head!

The Riad is situated 10mins or so by car from the airport and about a 15min walk from the main square, 25-30min walk to the new city centre (the oxford street of Marrakech!). Located just inside the city walls next to the Royal Palace every major attraction is within an easy reachable distance by car, carriage, or walking. There are kiosks for basic necessities and a pharmacy less that 5mins from the Riad on the main road.

A few things people looking to stay here may wish to note beforehand...The Riad is home to a very timid and friendly cat called Max. He doesn't, as far as I'm aware, enter the rooms however he has full run of the communal areas. Those that aren't cat or pet people may not appreciate this. For us, having cats ourselves, it was not a problem and reminded us of being home.
As there is a Mosque a minute away from the Riad, call to prayer can be heard at various times, noticeably at around 6am when most are still in bed.
Although the rooms are sound-proofed from each other, you can hear people talk on the terrace and in the communal areas. This could disturb if you wish to lie-in or have an early night. Having said that the Riad has been full during our stay and people are generally aware and respectful of their noise levels knowing that others are around.

On a personal note, we waited for 10 or more minutes for a taxi on one occasion, as empty taxis did not come by we went to ask the Riad if they could ring and order one for us. Instead they gave us a lift to the main square without any hesitation. This was very much appreciated. Also, on two mornings of our stay some of our party wanted to stay in the rooms for various reasons until 2pmish. The maids still came by after they had completed their initial
cleaning duties to make the bed and replenish toilet paper and fresh towels. again this was very much appreciated as was their singing as they worked!

The Riad is delightful as is Marrakesh and I would recommend it to anyone wishing to experience Moroccan culture with a quaint and comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooftop room gets more sunn and is on it's own by the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    279
    42
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
50
155
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thatcham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We were greeted at the airport by our taxi driver who took us to the riad. It was 10 euros for the journey which was very reasonable seeing as you would not be able to find the riad on your own from the main street without a little human offering their help in exchange for money!

The porte rouge opened into a beautiful hallway followed by the courtyard. It was lovely and quiet unlike the main street leading to it. We were greeted by Karen and her team. They were very welcoming and made us feel at home. We were shown the quickest route to the medina and to recommended restaurants which was very useful as the riad is not very central. You are also introduced to the popular mint tea which becomes a significant part of the trip! We arrived at around 8 pm and were given the choice of eating at the riad or venturing out into the square. We decided to stay at the riad and have our first tagine on arrival. Food was very good and value for money!

We booked the Narjisse which is on the ground floor however on arrival we were upgraded to a bigger room upstairs for the same price! Bonus! The rooms are beautifully decorated and very romantic! Our first night was an experience. You forget that Morocco is a muslim country and there is a mosque at every street corner. At 5.30am we were woken by the calling for prayer followed by the birds singing away! However the riad is still very peaceful and the staff do not rush you out the room to breakfast as there was no time to be at breakfast. We tended to slowly make our way downstairs for breakfast at 10.30am/11am. Breakfast consisted of fresh orange juice, coffee/tea, an assortment of sweet breads/cakes, yoghurt,jam,bread and a dash of rose water with most items! You get used to the floral tastes in moroccan food very quickly!

The riad has a terrace that is great for relaxing with a good book. There is also a lovely jacuzzi -definately recommended in the evenings after a long day of walking. Alcohol is also served at the riad and the staff are always available to serve you. Recommend trying moroccan wine - its cheaper than the foreign wines.

The riad was a great place to escape and hide from the hustle bustle of Marrakech and you certainly wind down when you return at the end of the day.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay despite the prayer calls and would recommend this riad to anyone wishing to experience the true Morocco!

Thank you to all the riad la porte rouge staff - we couldnt have asked for better service!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Beautiful Riad with extremely friendly and helpful staff.
Ideally located, a short walk from Marrakech centre and souks.
Will be going back!

Room Tip: Massage was disappointing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in this lovely Riad - 4 in the small but very nice Narjisse, and one night in a bigger double room. From the moment we arrived all the staff made us feel incredibly welcome, with mint tea and an introduction to what to do in Marrakech. The Riad is beautifully decorated, exceptionally clean, and warm despite the cold January nights! Breakfast is varied and very generous, and it was lovely to have it in the sunshine on the roof terrace. We ate in the Riad one evening, and had a very tasty tagine - the prices are very reasonable and the food is lovely.

There were so many little touches that made the stay here really special. The owner always took the time to wish us good morning, and made every effort to help us, from booking trips to dropping us to the main square in her car when it was raining! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Great team of staff who were always on hand to go the extra mile (such as phoning to reserve our bus tickets for the onward travel, providing us with a local map and giving recommendations).

Decor is fantastic, nice balcony and relaxed atmosphere which is like a haven of calm in the under-developed toilet that is Marrakech. Didn't want to leave it's calm for the blaring horns, smog, touts and misogynstic morons of the old town.

My only gripe was that the jacuzzi didn't work for the duration of our trip and there was building work going on next door, which was out of the management's hands and to be fair to them they did everything they could to make sure our stay was enjoyable in every other way.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Very lovely riad, beautiful inside. It's hard to find in the Medina so you'd need help. Don't be fooled by its surroundings - it's a very nice riad with beautiful rooms. Breakfast was included (pretty basic but most are in Marrakesh). The staff was very helpful. There is a hot tub on the rooftop terrace and lounge chairs to relax on! Water was hot, rooms were clean, and the location is great because it is within walking distance to everything you'd want to see in the Medina. The owner (Karen) is very lovely and helpful. I would recommend staying here for anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

I completely agree with the majority of the rest of these reviews. I booked this Riad off the back of Trip Advisor reviews and I wasn't disappointed. We were greeted very warmly by a friend of the owner as she was away (I never actually met her). Carolyn went over some things we could do on our stay and recommended a restaurant which we went to on our second night (Le Comptoir). Everything she recommended was great, and it's just a shame we didn't manage to do it all.

The room we had was excellent, very clean and there were rose petals on the bed and in the bathroom. The hot tub wasn't working whilst we were there but that's not really a deal breaker by any means. The food is fantastic and on a par with anything we had in a very high standard restaurant!

The real thing that stood out though was how friendly ALL the staff were. Every single person from the overnight security to the chef to the manager. We were given a lift to a restaurant which was a lovely gesture, and on leaving I was given a small puch of spices. When I ran out of cigarettes, Mustapha gave me his pack of Marquis! And when a tagine I bought wasn't as good as I had been led to believe ( I wanted one for cooking not decoration), I was told to wait a sec and they came out of the kitchen with one for me to take home! You'll NEVER get this sort of friendliness in any 'corporate' or commercial hotel in any country, I don't care where you are. I higly, higly recommend this Riad to anyone thinking of making a trip to Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad La Porte Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Porte Rouge

Also Known As:
Riad La Porte Rouge Hotel Marrakech
Riad La Porte Rouge Hotel
Riad La Porte Rouge Marrakech
Address: 48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#83 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad La Porte Rouge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Palais Royal gardens and 15 minutes walk from the legendary Jamaa Lfna square.Recently restored in the respect for the traditional morrocan architectureHospitality, comfort and service, perfectly define the Riad La Porte Rouge.You can dream in its shady patio, sip tea with mint in its morrocan lounge or refresh yourself in its moorish pool.Very quiet, a magical place that will allow you to rest in peace in the lounge or the beautiful terrace with views of the atlas, or around the patio lively murmur of a fountain bathed in rose petals, tea mint at nap time, not to mention spicy tagine or a magical light candles and dance. Real sensations that will make you sway to moments of pure well-being!For your convenience, seven different rooms , all equipped with bathroom and air conditioning and a safe . and also a jacuzzi on the terrace.A helpful and attentive staff will accompany you during your stay, to make it unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad La Porte Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Porte Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.