We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Riad! Warm welcome.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Porte Rouge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad La Porte Rouge to your Saves list
Riad La Porte Rouge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Riad! Warm welcome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Karen and Simi and the staff of Riad La Porte Rouge made our stay in Marrakech really good. They gave us such a warm welcome and were always on hand for advice. We were greeted with mint tea and morrocan pastries. The breakfast is excellent and the tangines are delicious if you fancy an evening meal. Gorgeous accommodation and perfect attention to detail in every way, our room overlooked the central courtyard and was quiet and cool. The roof terrace offers sun loungers and jacuzzi and is a perfect place to chill out. The location is good and is only a 15 minute walk to the Medina. We stayed three nights and would recommend this riad for your stay in Marrakech. I was given a bouquet of flowers for my birthday from the staff, this was such a nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    53
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
69
233
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Fantastic welcome with mint tea and nice rooms looking onto courtyard. Excellent breakfast and good service. Had a jaccuzzi on roof terrace and seating areas and loungers to chill out in the sun. Not right in the centre of the action - but only about 15mins walk away from the main square. Couple of small shops nearby. Would recommend for families or couples. Also served meals at 18Euros per head if you did not want to go out in the evening. A bowl of fruit in the room was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Most rooms faced central courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

We stayed at this riad for 4 days in march, and would advise anyone going to marrakech to stay here, the welcome you get when you arrive really makes you feel at home, and then whenever you go out, or get up in the morning either Youssef, Karen or 1 of the staff are there with the same friendly greeting. it is friendly,nice rooms,good food,and very comfortable. Thanks to Karen,Youssef and staff for all their help and service.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

Small Riad opened less than 3 years ago with excellent service, great room, amazing breakfast, extreme attention, a peaceful and charming accomodation. It made our experience in Marrakech really wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights. It is a good 25 minute-scooter-dodging-walk to Djemaa el Fna, not really an issue as taxis are plentiful and cheap. Our room was beautifully made up but the one we stayed in had no windows to the outside. I'm unsure whether or not the other rooms were the same. The showers did not drain either so this probably didn't help the cause. There was quite a bit of black mould spots on the ceiling and we didnt realise how bad it was until after we left we could smell it on our clothes! Plus sides - dinner was good and and the staff were friendly. Overall, I would not recommend until the damp problem is sort out .

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

Staff at the riad were extremely helpful and friendly. We emailed on the day of our stay to request accommodation for an extra friend and even though the riad was fully booked, they accommodated us with an extra bed in one of our rooms, and all this with a smile.
We were treated to mint tea and the riad had a relaxed and laid back feel.
Easy access from the riad to sights around the city.
Rooms were spacious enough and clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

I cannot recommend Riad La Porte Rouge enough. Youssef made our trip to Morrocco all the better by offering such an excellent standard of service and accommodation. There was nothing that was too much of a problem, and I mean nothing. The man was even up at 5am to serve us breakfast when we wanted it early so we could go out on a day trip. The breakfasts were great. The staff really friendly, and VERY helpful. Youssef conveniently organised a car hire for myself and my friend (two female travellers), which we collected from and then returned to the Riad. This was great as it meant no hassle trying to find one - and it was provided at a very reasonable rate. We used the car to drive to Essaouira one day, and through the Atlas to Ouarzazate & Ait Ben Haddou another day. In the evenings we would have a superb dinner waiting for us with a relaxing glass of wine back at the Riad. The rest of the time we spent wandering around Marrakech. Many here have commented on it being a tiny bit away from the main square - this suited us perfectly, particularly when driving. The location was superb for driving in and out of Marrakech, not being in the centre of the Medina made it easier to navigate to get out. It was still close to some lovely bars and restaurants in what I like to think of as 'Tin Pan Alley', the square close to the Palace that sells metal lamps and candle holders etc. I would go back to stay here again any time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.4 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#20 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#6 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#58 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#26 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 892 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#55 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#47 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad La Porte Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Porte Rouge

Address: 48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#21 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#31 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad La Porte Rouge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Palais Royal gardens and 15 minutes walk from the legendary Jamaa Lfna square.Recently restored in the respect for the traditional morrocan architectureHospitality, comfort and service, perfectly define the Riad La Porte Rouge.You can dream in its shady patio, sip tea with mint in its morrocan lounge or refresh yourself in its moorish pool.Very quiet, a magical place that will allow you to rest in peace in the lounge or the beautiful terrace with views of the atlas, or around the patio lively murmur of a fountain bathed in rose petals, tea mint at nap time, not to mention spicy tagine or a magical light candles and dance. Real sensations that will make you sway to moments of pure well-being!For your convenience, seven different rooms , all equipped with bathroom and air conditioning and a safe . And also a jacuzzi on the terrace.A helpful and attentive staff will accompany you during your stay, to make it unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad La Porte Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad La Porte Rouge Hotel Marrakech
Riad La Porte Rouge Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Porte Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.