We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel with some needs for improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham to your Saves list
Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 13, Route de Fes, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #288 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely small hotel with some needs for improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter and I stayed here for four nights. The small hotel has just 8 rooms and it is half an hours drive from the centre of Marrakesh in quiet surroundings.There are some lovely relaxing rooms and the large outdoor heated pool is clearly an attraction especially on warm days.

Staff were friendly and helpful and the food was good.

I cannot give a 5 star rating, however, as there are several needs for improvements:

* On several occasions there was no water hot or cold in our room twice when coming in cold from the pool.
* The twin room we had needed a few more basic things as one would expect from a hotel at this level: a waste paper bin, a chair or a stool and somewhere to hand bath towels not just a hand towel.
* Some things are over priced especially the tour trips that can be arranged by the Kasbah, We were able to arrange the same trips for half the price from an agent in central Marrakesh and we were still picked up and returned to the hotel.
* Finally we were given a complimentary drive back to the airport, We were told this would take half an hour and worked out times accordingly. After that it was decided to do the journey via central Marrakesh in the middle of the rush hour to drop a family off for sight seeing. This meant that it took at least an hour to get to the airport and it was stressful wondering whether we would get there in time.Surely going to the airport must come before sightseeing or time should at least be allowed for the diversion especially at busy times.

We a few upgrades at the hotel,however, it could indeed be an outstanding place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    66
    14
    8
    1
See reviews for
171
359
17
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Let me start by thanking the lovely staff, all of them with no exceptions! all those who we met we very nice, very helpful and and always happy to help, so thank you for making our stay so nice (Aziz, Abdullatif, Jihad the driver, Khadija and her colleagues). We had booked two rooms, initially in the Riad, but after one night we moved to the Kasaba, on a B&B basis. The breakfast is basic traditional Moroccan, but was good enough to start the day. The best thing about the breakfast was the fresh orange juice. The food in general is not Morocco's strong side, which was reflected throughout the week we spent in Marrakech. The place itself is about 30 minutes from the city, although this can be a good thing as it provides some quiet atmosphere, but on the negative side there is no shops or restaurants nearby. You are simply trapped. In all of the hotels or B&B I stayed, a kitle, coffee bags and tea bags are provided as a standard item in the rooms, in this place there isn't and you will have to pay for any tea or coffee. I read that some gusts were offered a welcome tea, we have not been offered any welcome tea. Although the hotel provides free of charge pick ups and drop offs from and to the hotel/city, this option is available only once at 11am from the hotel and 6pm from the city, any other time is charged. For those who stay 2-3 nights, not a major issue, but for us who stayed a whole week with two rooms that after a discount cost us over a £1,000, we were expecting some gestures of good will. I understand that the staff is restricted to a certain rules, so I have no criticism against them whatsoever.
The rooms were ok, good night sleep (not in the first night in the Riad), but the rest of week was ok. The swimming pool, although a bit heated, the water was cold. I did not dare swimming, the kids had a one or two goes. Apart of that, the swimming pool is a very good size and I am sure in spring and summer times it can be great.
The bathrooms are basic and a bit old, but clean.
If you ask me whether I will stay again in the Kasbah Dar Ilham, sadly my answer is no.

Room Tip: If you want to come to a place and don't leave for your entire stay, then this is the place, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South west
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

We had a very relaxing stay at the Kasbar. The staff were very attentive and very welcoming. On one of the days we had the pool to ourselves which was great, even putting our own music on the sound system. The location is great if you want to escape from the Medina, and the free shuttle bus is an added bonus. My only niggle would have been that the pool needed to be de-bugged on one of the days, but I am sure had I asked this would have been done right away anyhow. We would return, and hope to in the future

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

My wife and I just came back from a 7 night stay at this hotel and we can both easily say this has been by far the best hotel we have stayed at, as far as service is concerned. In fact, it felt like we were in our own home. Whenever we needed something, the staff was quick to accommodate us (even if it was for a specific chocolate dessert at 10pm from a restaurant in Marrakech. The hotel driver went and got it for us)! The staff are like a family and they welcome you as one of their own. The hotel is great. The furnishings and the feel are genuinely Moroccan. The swimming pool is excellent. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. There is a real sense of security in the hotel. It is very private. It is perfect for relaxation. The hotel in the food is excellent and, if you ever want more choice, there is a free shuttle (hotel to town) every day at 11am. This is the perfect getaway for those who want to relax in a quiet place and who value excellent service. We visited Marrakech earlier in 2014 as well and stayed at the Four Seasons. That was excellent too and delivers what you would expect from a luxury hotel. But the service here feels a lot more personal which makes it better overall.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darilham, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham, responded to this review, January 15, 2015
Dear Leo,
It was a real pleasure to welcome you and serve during your stay with your spouse. We really enjoyed having a lovely guest like you. You will be welcomed anytime.
Khadija KORATI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

A small hotel that is really a large French Villa dressed up with Moroccan draperies and furnishings. I knew it was different when we arrived and they asked if we wanted mint tea to relax...or to check in immediately (we chose the tea). The grounds within the compound walls are beautiful and the service is impeccable (although it is better to think of this as a B&B with Lunch or Dinner available) so it isn't service like a Four Seasons in NY...although the furnishings are getting there. It is a bit out of town (maybe 5 miles or 8 Km) but they have a free shuttle to take you to and from the AP/Train station and as well as an 11 AM shuttle into town and 6PM back from town. It will cost you 200Dh if you want to shuttle to pick you up after hours. The staff will accommodate almost anything you ask for and are very attentive. Eating in the (very fancy) breakfast tent was great and you can ask omelets with cheese and such rather than having the standard Moroccan breakfast if you so desire. We also had a Moroccan dinner (255Dh/$30 for a fixed menu) there in the dining room and were quite pleased by the quality of the freshly prepare meal (don't miss out on the Moroccan soup...it was wonderful). There is a large farmers market (maybe 300M) from the entrance to the hotel that is open on Saturdays that is worth a tour (not so many foreigners there so it can be fun or harrowing depending on what you like/dislike). Overall, the hotel provides an amazing experience for a westerner.

Room Tip: A room with a pool view is the best..but it is hard to go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for 4 days the first week in September. I had been to Marrakech before but this was her first time. The hotel staff in particular Abdel, were excellent in answering all our queries in advance of the trip, we asked for a kettle and hairdyer and in the room and these were provided with no problem. Our transfer driver was waiting for us when we landed and gave us lots of useful information and tips on our journey to the hotel which was about 40 mins due to busy traffic (on a Saturday night). As we were just out of season, there were only 2 other couples/families staying there which meant we practically had the hotel and pool to ourselves! All meals are authentically cooked from fresh and portion sizes are more than sufficient. The staff seem to carry out multiple roles, the cleaner was also the lady who does treatments and the cooking. The Hammam and massages we had were 10/10 and the prices so reasonabvle, it was a shame we could not fit more in. We had a suite with 4 poster bed and a balcony overlooking the pool and could not have asked for better accommodation.To sum up, we had the "perfect holiday" made "stress free" due to the hospitality and provided by Abdel and his team.

Room Tip: we originally chose a twin however when we got there and saw the suites we asked to be upgraded to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

We have just returned from staying in dar ilham for 1 week. We choose it because of the favourable reviews on TA. And we were not disappointed. It is an oasis away from the craziness of the city. Beautifully kept grounds, amazing pool, very comfortable room and wonderful local food. We ate at the hotel several times and were never disappointed. The fish tagine was to die for! Staff were so friendly and helpful, the assess to a driver and good rates saved and lot of hassle when going into the city. The whole hotel was spotless. The breakfast which is included was plentiful, I would just recommend maybe adding some fruit. We were looking to chill out and relax but still be able to get into the city easily and that it just what we got in kasbsh dar ilham. Would love to return with a group of friends so day.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham

Address: Km 13, Route de Fes, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a stunning natural setting, facing the Atlas Mountains, the Kasbah Dar Ilham welcomes you to an unpretentious luxury that combines Moroccan knowledge with the modern comfort of the services provided. Alain and his devoted team, attentive and discreet, welcome you and will turn your stay into an unforgettable experience. Luxury and simplicity: The utmost luxury resides in life's simple things and happiness is the combination of all small pleasures, like relaxing by our wonderful swimming pool of 72 x 26 ft, heated in winter for your greater comfort, or enjoying your well-being in our Jacuzzi for up to 6 people. Enjoy a delicious breakfast under the arches or in the terrace and discover the wonderful cooking concocted by Aicha and her team. You can also choose between a numerous range of different additional activities available, like golfing (3 courses just 15 minutes away), horse riding, SUV riding, jet skiing, quad, kart racing and many others. Marrakech's well-being: Your stay wouldn't be complete without a special moment for yourself in which Nawal, our beautician/masseuse will make you discover the advantages of a traditional Hammam and the secrets of numerous cares and Oriental massages. Everything here is made for you to have pleasant moments, to discover the traditions and the culture of Morocco, and to make you leave full of charming memories... So that you come back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.