We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham to your Saves list
Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 13, Route de Fes, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #290 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
White Plains, New York
1 review
“An Amazing Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

A small hotel that is really a large French Villa dressed up with Moroccan draperies and furnishings. I knew it was different when we arrived and they asked if we wanted mint tea to relax...or to check in immediately (we chose the tea). The grounds within the compound walls are beautiful and the service is impeccable (although it is better to think of this as a B&B with Lunch or Dinner available) so it isn't service like a Four Seasons in NY...although the furnishings are getting there. It is a bit out of town (maybe 5 miles or 8 Km) but they have a free shuttle to take you to and from the AP/Train station and as well as an 11 AM shuttle into town and 6PM back from town. It will cost you 200Dh if you want to shuttle to pick you up after hours. The staff will accommodate almost anything you ask for and are very attentive. Eating in the (very fancy) breakfast tent was great and you can ask omelets with cheese and such rather than having the standard Moroccan breakfast if you so desire. We also had a Moroccan dinner (255Dh/$30 for a fixed menu) there in the dining room and were quite pleased by the quality of the freshly prepare meal (don't miss out on the Moroccan soup...it was wonderful). There is a large farmers market (maybe 300M) from the entrance to the hotel that is open on Saturdays that is worth a tour (not so many foreigners there so it can be fun or harrowing depending on what you like/dislike). Overall, the hotel provides an amazing experience for a westerner.

Room Tip: A room with a pool view is the best..but it is hard to go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    64
    14
    8
    1
See reviews for
169
356
17
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for 4 days the first week in September. I had been to Marrakech before but this was her first time. The hotel staff in particular Abdel, were excellent in answering all our queries in advance of the trip, we asked for a kettle and hairdyer and in the room and these were provided with no problem. Our transfer driver was waiting for us when we landed and gave us lots of useful information and tips on our journey to the hotel which was about 40 mins due to busy traffic (on a Saturday night). As we were just out of season, there were only 2 other couples/families staying there which meant we practically had the hotel and pool to ourselves! All meals are authentically cooked from fresh and portion sizes are more than sufficient. The staff seem to carry out multiple roles, the cleaner was also the lady who does treatments and the cooking. The Hammam and massages we had were 10/10 and the prices so reasonabvle, it was a shame we could not fit more in. We had a suite with 4 poster bed and a balcony overlooking the pool and could not have asked for better accommodation.To sum up, we had the "perfect holiday" made "stress free" due to the hospitality and provided by Abdel and his team.

Room Tip: we originally chose a twin however when we got there and saw the suites we asked to be upgraded to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from staying in dar ilham for 1 week. We choose it because of the favourable reviews on TA. And we were not disappointed. It is an oasis away from the craziness of the city. Beautifully kept grounds, amazing pool, very comfortable room and wonderful local food. We ate at the hotel several times and were never disappointed. The fish tagine was to die for! Staff were so friendly and helpful, the assess to a driver and good rates saved and lot of hassle when going into the city. The whole hotel was spotless. The breakfast which is included was plentiful, I would just recommend maybe adding some fruit. We were looking to chill out and relax but still be able to get into the city easily and that it just what we got in kasbsh dar ilham. Would love to return with a group of friends so day.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We spent just 1 day here organised by the Riad Dar Beldria where we stayed for 3 nights (also great) We wanted a relaxing last day away from the bustle of the markets and we had an organised package to visit this hotel for the day. It included transfers to the Kasbah and then afterwards to the airport, a massage, pool use, lunch and a room to shower afterwards. Brilliant! lovely 3 course lunch, helpful staff and what we saw of the rooms they looked lovely with a four poster bed and a large balcony.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Just spent the most fantastic weekend at the Dar Ilham ... This place is just fabulous ... Everything is just beautiful from the beautifully designed interiors to the fantastic pool & gardens.. The wonderful hospitality offered by Imane and the whole team there completes a superb stay . Nothing is too much trouble .. We had everything we wanted , including champagne breakfast ( on my husbands birthday ) ... Delightful salads & BBQ lunch ... And a wonderful morrocan dinner served 'al fresco' beautifully set out on the terrace ...also belly dancers to complete our party one evening . I could go on & on as the list of positives is endless and we didn't experience any downsides at all !..we stayed in the Kasbah ... As there were 16 of us and i have previously stayed in the Riad in a smaller group. both highly reccomended

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This hotel was a nice surprise because it had the personalized attention of a B&B with the quality of a luxury hotel. Spa and Hammam were very relaxing and the pool and "tent" were welcome additions to the retreat. The food was home-cooked and deliciously authentic.
The best part of this riad was the staff because I really felt like they catered to every one of our needs. We ate every meal here and I appreciated the way the cook was willing to share with me all of her details and secrets to dish preparation. I was impressed with how clean the hotel was kept, with people constantly working to take care of the hotel as well as the guests. I found the food and spa prices to be extremely fair (much lower than if we had stayed at a city hotel) and the service was so genuine. It is about 20 minutes from the Medina (with a free shuttle daily) and 40 minutes from the airport (again free shuttle with at least 2 nights stay). I highly recommend this place for a relaxing mini-break.

Room Tip: There are only 8 rooms. All rooms have a balcony, but one of them has a balcony that receives sun al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We arrived late at 1230 am thanks to Ryanair and were met efficiently by the hotel transport and as it is some 20 mins from the city it looked remote but once in we enjoyed the place immensely.
The staff are very helpful and the food was awesome from Nindia especially the dinners.
It is an idyllic setting very relaxed, clean and a really good place to chill out. Mohamed the regular driver will put himself out in order that you enjoy your stay including taking us for a day out in the Atlas mountains.There is a free shuttle to and from Marrakesh each day.
You can't walk out in the evening and need transport to go anywhere.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have south views of the Atlas Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham

Address: Km 13, Route de Fes, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #290 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a stunning natural setting, facing the Atlas Mountains, the Kasbah Dar Ilham welcomes you to an unpretentious luxury that combines Moroccan knowledge with the modern comfort of the services provided. Alain and his devoted team, attentive and discreet, welcome you and will turn your stay into an unforgettable experience. Luxury and simplicity: The utmost luxury resides in life's simple things and happiness is the combination of all small pleasures, like relaxing by our wonderful swimming pool of 72 x 26 ft, heated in winter for your greater comfort, or enjoying your well-being in our Jacuzzi for up to 6 people. Enjoy a delicious breakfast under the arches or in the terrace and discover the wonderful cooking concocted by Aicha and her team. You can also choose between a numerous range of different additional activities available, like golfing (3 courses just 15 minutes away), horse riding, SUV riding, jet skiing, quad, kart racing and many others. Marrakech's well-being: Your stay wouldn't be complete without a special moment for yourself in which Nawal, our beautician/masseuse will make you discover the advantages of a traditional Hammam and the secrets of numerous cares and Oriental massages. Everything here is made for you to have pleasant moments, to discover the traditions and the culture of Morocco, and to make you leave full of charming memories... So that you come back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.