We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham to your Saves list
Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 13, Route de Fes, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #284 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Just spent the most fantastic weekend at the Dar Ilham ... This place is just fabulous ... Everything is just beautiful from the beautifully designed interiors to the fantastic pool & gardens.. The wonderful hospitality offered by Imane and the whole team there completes a superb stay . Nothing is too much trouble .. We had everything we wanted , including champagne breakfast ( on my husbands birthday ) ... Delightful salads & BBQ lunch ... And a wonderful morrocan dinner served 'al fresco' beautifully set out on the terrace ...also belly dancers to complete our party one evening . I could go on & on as the list of positives is endless and we didn't experience any downsides at all !..we stayed in the Kasbah ... As there were 16 of us and i have previously stayed in the Riad in a smaller group. both highly reccomended

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    64
    14
    8
    1
See reviews for
169
356
17
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This hotel was a nice surprise because it had the personalized attention of a B&B with the quality of a luxury hotel. Spa and Hammam were very relaxing and the pool and "tent" were welcome additions to the retreat. The food was home-cooked and deliciously authentic.
The best part of this riad was the staff because I really felt like they catered to every one of our needs. We ate every meal here and I appreciated the way the cook was willing to share with me all of her details and secrets to dish preparation. I was impressed with how clean the hotel was kept, with people constantly working to take care of the hotel as well as the guests. I found the food and spa prices to be extremely fair (much lower than if we had stayed at a city hotel) and the service was so genuine. It is about 20 minutes from the Medina (with a free shuttle daily) and 40 minutes from the airport (again free shuttle with at least 2 nights stay). I highly recommend this place for a relaxing mini-break.

Room Tip: There are only 8 rooms. All rooms have a balcony, but one of them has a balcony that receives sun al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We arrived late at 1230 am thanks to Ryanair and were met efficiently by the hotel transport and as it is some 20 mins from the city it looked remote but once in we enjoyed the place immensely.
The staff are very helpful and the food was awesome from Nindia especially the dinners.
It is an idyllic setting very relaxed, clean and a really good place to chill out. Mohamed the regular driver will put himself out in order that you enjoy your stay including taking us for a day out in the Atlas mountains.There is a free shuttle to and from Marrakesh each day.
You can't walk out in the evening and need transport to go anywhere.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have south views of the Atlas Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at Riad Dar Ilham which I can only describe as perfect. We decided quite last minute to go on the trip, and as it was not peak season, were able to book a suite in the Riad at very affordable rates. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Mohammad in reception, who was very charming and helpful...in fact, all the staff we encountered at Dar Ilham were wonderfully polite and friendly. On our first day, we decided to go and explore the city so booked a driver through reception. En route to the city, we discovered that the driver (also Mohammad) was available as tour guide so we decided to book him for a few hours.

Mohammad the driver/tour guide ended up being so amazing and interesting that we booked him every day for three days! We explored the medina and kasbah the first day, day two we went on an excursion to Ourika valley in the Atlas Mountains, and on the third day we went to the industrial quarter and back to the medina. My husband and I grew very fond of Mohammad and were genuinely sad to say goodbye to him. He's a very learned man who speaks excellent English and taught us so much about the rich Moroccan culture. I really cannot recommend him enough!!

Overall, we had a really fantastic experience staying at Dar Ilham. We both loved the fact that it was outside the chaos of the city, our suite was beautiful with a view of the swimming pool and palm trees, and the food (especially dinner) was exceptional. We had the chicken tagine twice and the couscous was out of this world. All the food was fresh and served in large, healthy servings.

Thank you so much to all the staff at Dar Ilham - we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My family and I stayed 3 nights at Riad Kasbah Dar Ilham during a recent visit to Marrakech. This hotel really exceeded expectations, the rooms were in the same time very, traditional,modern and spacious. The service of the hotel staff was excellent- fantastic pool area with a heated swimming pool and a Jacuzzi It is true that the first day the jacuzzi was not working which is for me not a big issue. However I was surprised about how fast it get repaired. the bar is lovely for cocktails and the dinner was one of the best Moroccan meals I've ever eaten. The lunch was also excellent - I cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have just returned from staying at Dar Ilham with my wife. The trip was a surprise gift for her 30th birthday. She had been to Marrakech last year and loved it, although she stayed in central Marrakech. This time I wanted somewhere with a pool that wasn't too busy, and after reading all the different reviews decided on Dar Ilham. Most of the places in Marrakech itself had no pool or looked far too busy, so this looked perfect.
When arrived we were the only couple there, only to joined by another couple the following day. After emailing the hotel our flight details the driver was waiting for us on our arrival, which was very comforting, so we didn't have to negotiate with taxi drivers.
On arrival we greeted warmly and asked what time we would like dinner. The food was great, we ate their 3 evenings, and had lunch salads most afternoons. Although this wasn't included it was very reasonable for the quantity and quality. The evening meals were always traditional Moroccan. Breakfast was included and was extremely filling.
The whole team at the Dar Ilham were so friendly and helpful. Whilst we were there we went on one of the day trips, used the spa treatments and went into Marrakech several times. On one occasion the driver took us around several monuments for the day and waited for us. When we wanted to check out a couple of the bars in town they were happy to phone in advance for us. The main city center was around 20 minutes away which was not an issue, as it was nice to retreat to the calmness of the Kasbah after all the hustle and bustle of the city centre. I can't think of a bad word to say, considering it was towards the end of Ramadan the whole team made it the perfect get away.

Can't wait to return, with some friends of family!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boras, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We arrived at Kasbah Dar Ilham after spending 4 amazing days/nights, at a wonderful little Riad in the Medina. The reason why we booked this place, was so that our daughters (7 and 9 years old) would be able to swim and have fun in the swimmingpool. And they did! The pool is beautiful and perfect in every way.
The Hotel is nice and the rooms are ok, but a bit dark. I could not put our clothes in the closet, because there was no light in that part of the room...The closet was pitch black.
The balcony was great, overlooking the pool.
I would say that when we were at the hotel, all the staff were great and the food was very good.
But for us, I think the "not-so-good" part, was the location (20-30 minutes from the medina)...
We needed to be where the action was...
However, I would still recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a relaxing place, outside of Marrakesh! We didn't know until we were there, that we would have wanted to stay longer in the medina instead...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham

Address: Km 13, Route de Fes, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a stunning natural setting, facing the Atlas Mountains, the Kasbah Dar Ilham welcomes you to an unpretentious luxury that combines Moroccan knowledge with the modern comfort of the services provided. Alain and his devoted team, attentive and discreet, welcome you and will turn your stay into an unforgettable experience. Luxury and simplicity: The utmost luxury resides in life's simple things and happiness is the combination of all small pleasures, like relaxing by our wonderful swimming pool of 72 x 26 ft, heated in winter for your greater comfort, or enjoying your well-being in our Jacuzzi for up to 6 people. Enjoy a delicious breakfast under the arches or in the terrace and discover the wonderful cooking concocted by Aicha and her team. You can also choose between a numerous range of different additional activities available, like golfing (3 courses just 15 minutes away), horse riding, SUV riding, jet skiing, quad, kart racing and many others. Marrakech's well-being: Your stay wouldn't be complete without a special moment for yourself in which Nawal, our beautician/masseuse will make you discover the advantages of a traditional Hammam and the secrets of numerous cares and Oriental massages. Everything here is made for you to have pleasant moments, to discover the traditions and the culture of Morocco, and to make you leave full of charming memories... So that you come back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.