We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Each Year Gets Better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham to your Saves list
Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 13, Route de Fes, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #284 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Each Year Gets Better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

3rd year running and I have no doubt that 2014 will be the 4th! Dar Ilham can not be beaten. This year we not only took my parents again but also my husbands. To say my Father in Law is fussy is a huge understatement and we were worried he would not enjoy as much as we did....how wrong we could be! not only did he love every minute of Marrakech, he loved Dar Ilham as much as we did.

My parents have travelled the world and my Dad said to me today (7th April) as we arrived home, that nowhere have they ever been treated as wonderfully as at Dar Ilham. The staff are truly amazing and Aziz is made for the job...Ladies, not only is he completely gorgeous but he has the personality to go with it and a fantastic sense of humour (and unfortunately, a girlfriend as beautiful as him !!)....he has definitely found his true vocation in life and they would be mad to EVER let him leave!

I cannot imagine anyone saying anything negative about the riad, the staff, nor the service, as everything is perfect.

We were a party of 8 - 6 adults, our son who is 12 and his friend who is 15.

Breakfast is a feast of home made pancakes, breads and cakes as well as yoghurts and cereal and you can have eggs cooked any way you want if you still have the room! Freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee and a variety of teas ! as well as hot milk to make hot chocolate if the mood takes you.

Nothing is too much of a problem - ever!

Fabulous - see you next year guys.

Alll our love

The Ebbrells

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    64
    14
    8
    1
See reviews for
169
356
17
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I spent four nights and five days in Kasbah dar Ilham and it was lovely; beautiful setting, gorgeous swimming pool and relaxing vibe. I deliberately chose a riad outside the centre of Marrakech as i wanted some down-time to chill out from a busy job - this place was perfect.

The first three nights i spent in the twin tangers room, which i had managed to book at a last-minute discount rate of £50 a night. This was excellent value, and the room was clean, with a nice bathroom, powerful shower and well-stocked mini-bar. The bed was extremely comfortable with the softest sheets i've ever felt. I had such a good nights sleep on my first night that i felt the most relaxed i had all year, and woke up slowly the following morning to the happy chattering of birds outside the window.

Over the next few days i was impressed by the cleanliness (and temperature) of the large pool, and by the provision of straw sun hats as well as clean towels on each sun lounger! Breakfast was not particularly imaginative, but perfectly OK, with delicious freshly squeezed orange juice. I ate supper in the Kasbah every night and the food was great. I was asked daily what i fancied eating that evening and every meal was delicious, with big servings.

The staff were friendly, and chatty when engaged in conversation, but never over-bearing or interfering. French and english were spoken fluently by most of the staff.

The only negative point i have to make about the Kasbah is the price of the rooms (when not available at discount rates). For my last night I moved to the junior suite, for which i paid the full price of £175. This room was larger than the twin, with an enormous double bed, and the added benefit of a south facing balcony and bath as well as shower. However, for that price I would expect everything to be perfect, and there were a few small flaws, such as an incomplete mini-bar, with a half-drunk bottle of water, and a tv with poor reception that made it unwatchable. Whilst these things werent really a problem, as drinks were available from the staff, and i hadnt come to marrakech to watch tv, i did feel that the price demanded slightly better. i dont think the junior suite offered value for money, and whilst i appreciate it would be more usual for a couple to stay in that room, and there is also a sofa-bed to allow it to become a family room, it certainly wasnt big enough for more than two people to stay there comfortably.

All in all however i thought this was a lovely riad and i really enjoyed my stay. I would certainly go back there, and will be keeping an eye out for any more last-minute deals that ensure good value for money.

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the pool, but i think only the twin tangers room doesnt have a balcony. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I might start by saying that this is the first time that I have ever written a review in respect of a holiday, however I felt compelled to express just how amazing our stay was with Dar Ilham.

We booked 6 nights in March after having read the reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. The hotel driver, Hamed, was waiting in arrivals to take us directly to Dar Ilham. Upon arrival we were seated by the pool and given a welcome drink whilst we were checked in. Despite arriving well before mid-day we were allowed into our room as soon as we were checked in. We stayed in the Kasbah which has about 11 rooms. Next door is the Riad which has about 4 rooms. There were 2 beautiful pools and a hot tub. There are more than enough sun beds around the pools to accommodate all guests at once if necessary, although we were often the only 2 people using them!

The staff were lovely and could not do enough to make our stay as special as possible. After 2 nights we were asked whether we would like to move to a suite as they had one that was not being used. There was no need for them to do this, as we were clearly impressed with the room that we were already using. Just another example of how the staff go out of their way to improve your visit.

We ate in the restaurant every evening as the food was amazing. At 25 euros per person it is not cheap, but we felt worth it. The breakfast was delicious and more than enough to keep us going until the evening. We had lunch by the pool on our last day before our flight, and unsurprisingly we were very impressed.

We booked two excursions through Dar Ilham during our visit. One was a half day trip around Marrakech with a guide. As this was our first time in Marrakech we wanted to make sure we saw all the highlights. Although it's clearly not necessary to have the guide, we felt it was definitely worth the extra 30 euros. Our guide, Jamal, was extremely knowledgable and took his time to explain the history and culture of Marrakech. We also found that having a guide meant that we were not "harassed" by locals trying to sell things, which quite a lot of people seem to highlight as one of the annoyances of Marrakech. Our second excursion was the day trip into the Atlas Mountains. Hamed was excellent and acted as driver/guide for the day. The scenery is simply stunning and well worth seeing.

Overall, a perfect stay. We really could not fault the facilities or service we experienced. A big thank you to all of the staff for a wonderful week. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed in the Riad for three nights in March 2013...lovely peaceful hotel, great service, friendly and attentive staff who do anything to make your stay comfortable, helpful driver who wanted to make our stay in Morocco the best possible. Definitely one to come back to if I'm ever in Morocco again.

About 20 minutes from the hustle and bustle of the Medina which is a nice contrast to what can be slightly overwhelming as it is very busy. Great transport provided by the hotel to make this distance irrelevant.

Thanks to the staff (Aziz, Imane, Ahmed, Hamid, Adil and the lovely lady in the spa) for a lovely time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The kasbah is so pretty! The pool and hot tub are great. The staff so attentive and helpful we could not fault the place. The tv in our room was not working and we were moved to a better room to make sure we could take advantage of all that is advertised as available. The food was utterly delicious! We ate every night we were here, we spent 4 nights here after spending 4 nights in the centre of Marrakech which is completely manic!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The staff are pleasant and efficient but this is a very remote 20 minute drive out of the city and down dairy track, The Kasbah was closed and thus so was the large pool a d the hot tub, We were the only people there for most of our visit. The gym is very antiquated and the equipment mostly broken.
The rooms in the rind mat be authentic but for this read cold dark and damp, the cooking was excellent and the staff very friendly and attentive, We moved to a more modern hotel after 3 nights as we needed a touch of luxury by then!
Despite my telling the checkout that we had used a can from the minibar and being assured that this was added to our bill, it was not and we were 'pursued' for the 3 euros despite having paid a bill for over 600 euros for our stay.
Overall,authentic and remote and quiet but not as advertised with extensive renovations in progress and fairly primitive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darilham, Manager at Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Madame,

Thank you for the positive aspects you mention in your review. Concerning the other part of your comment, we would like to explain some points so that anyone can hear both sides of the story.

- The Kasbah was closed due to extensive renovations in progress. If we cannot organize this renovation in January, when the Kasbah is empty during our off-peak period when could we do? As far as I know you had a booking for the Riad Dar Ilham with its own heated swimming-pool, you did not booked the Kasbah since it was closed at this period.

- The guests’ experiences at Riad & Kasbah Dar Ilham are always seen as luxurious, nice and authentic and we are sorry that you found it as “fairly primitive”, we respect your point of view but we do not think that our gym is “very antiquated and the equipment mostly broken”, the gym is quite new and we fix the equipments every month.

- The drinks that you have been pursued for were taken after the check out and our staff does its job when asking you to pay something that has been actually consumed. Obsiously, we offer some extras to our guests but it is also normal to mention the drinks taken in the mini bar.

We hope to welcome you next time in our beautiful Kasbah after renovation so that our staff can offer you a beautiful, authentic, nice touch of luxury experience.

All the best,

Asma AMMOR – General Manager
Riad & Kasbah Dar Ilham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is a very quiet small hotel outside of Marrakech.
There is not anyone fighting for the sun beds, there are no fag butts all over the place or people getting drunk, it is delightful. Although you can have a nice bottle of wine around the pool if you wanted.
We chose it because of the reviews on trip advisor and the size of the pool, our 11 year old loved it. It did not dissapoint.
The Hotel is spotless and not a noisy hoover is sight, it is all done by hand. The room was decorated in the Moroccon style.
The staff were very helpful and because of the size could respond to queries almost immediatly
The food was very good and they would ask you every day what you wanted for the evening meal. Try the cous cous and the soup it was very tasty. I wish they had a menu to give you an idea of the food they can cook as you have no idea what to order when you first arrive.
We had a Tour of Marrakech with Jamal, we booked him through the hotel and had to give a few days notice. We took the complimentry 11am bus and met him in Marrakech. He spent the afternoon with us - wear some comfortable shoes as there is a lot of walking. I highly recommend him if it is your first time to marrakech and he was not too expensive, he was very knowledgeable. It is very easy to get lost in the back alleys. He gave us his number 00212611320874.
We also did the tour to the Atlas Mountains to the waterfalls - if your going to see waterfalls you will be dissapointed but the whole experience was very enjoyable and worth going on.
On both trips take change with you for tipping and money to pay a guide in the mountains.
The weather in October is very changeable, take a light rain mac even if the weather sites on the computer say its not going to rain. It did rain when we were there and I went onto about 10 sites all saying sunshine for the whole week.
We all had a very relaxing week.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham

Address: Km 13, Route de Fes, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a stunning natural setting, facing the Atlas Mountains, the Kasbah Dar Ilham welcomes you to an unpretentious luxury that combines Moroccan knowledge with the modern comfort of the services provided. Alain and his devoted team, attentive and discreet, welcome you and will turn your stay into an unforgettable experience. Luxury and simplicity: The utmost luxury resides in life's simple things and happiness is the combination of all small pleasures, like relaxing by our wonderful swimming pool of 72 x 26 ft, heated in winter for your greater comfort, or enjoying your well-being in our Jacuzzi for up to 6 people. Enjoy a delicious breakfast under the arches or in the terrace and discover the wonderful cooking concocted by Aicha and her team. You can also choose between a numerous range of different additional activities available, like golfing (3 courses just 15 minutes away), horse riding, SUV riding, jet skiing, quad, kart racing and many others. Marrakech's well-being: Your stay wouldn't be complete without a special moment for yourself in which Nawal, our beautician/masseuse will make you discover the advantages of a traditional Hammam and the secrets of numerous cares and Oriental massages. Everything here is made for you to have pleasant moments, to discover the traditions and the culture of Morocco, and to make you leave full of charming memories... So that you come back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.