We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Ilham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Ilham to your Saves list
Dar Ilham
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 13, Route de Fes, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #277 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I might start by saying that this is the first time that I have ever written a review in respect of a holiday, however I felt compelled to express just how amazing our stay was with Dar Ilham.

We booked 6 nights in March after having read the reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. The hotel driver, Hamed, was waiting in arrivals to take us directly to Dar Ilham. Upon arrival we were seated by the pool and given a welcome drink whilst we were checked in. Despite arriving well before mid-day we were allowed into our room as soon as we were checked in. We stayed in the Kasbah which has about 11 rooms. Next door is the Riad which has about 4 rooms. There were 2 beautiful pools and a hot tub. There are more than enough sun beds around the pools to accommodate all guests at once if necessary, although we were often the only 2 people using them!

The staff were lovely and could not do enough to make our stay as special as possible. After 2 nights we were asked whether we would like to move to a suite as they had one that was not being used. There was no need for them to do this, as we were clearly impressed with the room that we were already using. Just another example of how the staff go out of their way to improve your visit.

We ate in the restaurant every evening as the food was amazing. At 25 euros per person it is not cheap, but we felt worth it. The breakfast was delicious and more than enough to keep us going until the evening. We had lunch by the pool on our last day before our flight, and unsurprisingly we were very impressed.

We booked two excursions through Dar Ilham during our visit. One was a half day trip around Marrakech with a guide. As this was our first time in Marrakech we wanted to make sure we saw all the highlights. Although it's clearly not necessary to have the guide, we felt it was definitely worth the extra 30 euros. Our guide, Jamal, was extremely knowledgable and took his time to explain the history and culture of Marrakech. We also found that having a guide meant that we were not "harassed" by locals trying to sell things, which quite a lot of people seem to highlight as one of the annoyances of Marrakech. Our second excursion was the day trip into the Atlas Mountains. Hamed was excellent and acted as driver/guide for the day. The scenery is simply stunning and well worth seeing.

Overall, a perfect stay. We really could not fault the facilities or service we experienced. A big thank you to all of the staff for a wonderful week. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    71
    15
    8
    1
See reviews for
176
370
17
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed in the Riad for three nights in March 2013...lovely peaceful hotel, great service, friendly and attentive staff who do anything to make your stay comfortable, helpful driver who wanted to make our stay in Morocco the best possible. Definitely one to come back to if I'm ever in Morocco again.

About 20 minutes from the hustle and bustle of the Medina which is a nice contrast to what can be slightly overwhelming as it is very busy. Great transport provided by the hotel to make this distance irrelevant.

Thanks to the staff (Aziz, Imane, Ahmed, Hamid, Adil and the lovely lady in the spa) for a lovely time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The kasbah is so pretty! The pool and hot tub are great. The staff so attentive and helpful we could not fault the place. The tv in our room was not working and we were moved to a better room to make sure we could take advantage of all that is advertised as available. The food was utterly delicious! We ate every night we were here, we spent 4 nights here after spending 4 nights in the centre of Marrakech which is completely manic!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The staff are pleasant and efficient but this is a very remote 20 minute drive out of the city and down dairy track, The Kasbah was closed and thus so was the large pool a d the hot tub, We were the only people there for most of our visit. The gym is very antiquated and the equipment mostly broken.
The rooms in the rind mat be authentic but for this read cold dark and damp, the cooking was excellent and the staff very friendly and attentive, We moved to a more modern hotel after 3 nights as we needed a touch of luxury by then!
Despite my telling the checkout that we had used a can from the minibar and being assured that this was added to our bill, it was not and we were 'pursued' for the 3 euros despite having paid a bill for over 600 euros for our stay.
Overall,authentic and remote and quiet but not as advertised with extensive renovations in progress and fairly primitive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darilham, Manager at Dar Ilham, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Madame,

Thank you for the positive aspects you mention in your review. Concerning the other part of your comment, we would like to explain some points so that anyone can hear both sides of the story.

- The Kasbah was closed due to extensive renovations in progress. If we cannot organize this renovation in January, when the Kasbah is empty during our off-peak period when could we do? As far as I know you had a booking for the Riad Dar Ilham with its own heated swimming-pool, you did not booked the Kasbah since it was closed at this period.

- The guests’ experiences at Riad & Kasbah Dar Ilham are always seen as luxurious, nice and authentic and we are sorry that you found it as “fairly primitive”, we respect your point of view but we do not think that our gym is “very antiquated and the equipment mostly broken”, the gym is quite new and we fix the equipments every month.

- The drinks that you have been pursued for were taken after the check out and our staff does its job when asking you to pay something that has been actually consumed. Obsiously, we offer some extras to our guests but it is also normal to mention the drinks taken in the mini bar.

We hope to welcome you next time in our beautiful Kasbah after renovation so that our staff can offer you a beautiful, authentic, nice touch of luxury experience.

All the best,

Asma AMMOR – General Manager
Riad & Kasbah Dar Ilham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is a very quiet small hotel outside of Marrakech.
There is not anyone fighting for the sun beds, there are no fag butts all over the place or people getting drunk, it is delightful. Although you can have a nice bottle of wine around the pool if you wanted.
We chose it because of the reviews on trip advisor and the size of the pool, our 11 year old loved it. It did not dissapoint.
The Hotel is spotless and not a noisy hoover is sight, it is all done by hand. The room was decorated in the Moroccon style.
The staff were very helpful and because of the size could respond to queries almost immediatly
The food was very good and they would ask you every day what you wanted for the evening meal. Try the cous cous and the soup it was very tasty. I wish they had a menu to give you an idea of the food they can cook as you have no idea what to order when you first arrive.
We had a Tour of Marrakech with Jamal, we booked him through the hotel and had to give a few days notice. We took the complimentry 11am bus and met him in Marrakech. He spent the afternoon with us - wear some comfortable shoes as there is a lot of walking. I highly recommend him if it is your first time to marrakech and he was not too expensive, he was very knowledgeable. It is very easy to get lost in the back alleys. He gave us his number 00212611320874.
We also did the tour to the Atlas Mountains to the waterfalls - if your going to see waterfalls you will be dissapointed but the whole experience was very enjoyable and worth going on.
On both trips take change with you for tipping and money to pay a guide in the mountains.
The weather in October is very changeable, take a light rain mac even if the weather sites on the computer say its not going to rain. It did rain when we were there and I went onto about 10 sites all saying sunshine for the whole week.
We all had a very relaxing week.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

First of all I would like to thank all the staff there <Aisha Ali, Imane ...> this was our second visit to Dar Ilham because our first was so fabulous!

This time we are back with the big family, my daughter, my sister and her boyfriend, my brother and my elderly parents and they were looked after so well by the staff.

Honestly it is truly beautiful! As my last review says, they are a bit further and you do wonder where on earth you are going? Just take it easy; you will be in absolute heaven on earth!!!!

The hot tub is very relaxing, the pool was as clear as could be and the Spa was professional.

Food was fantastic, we stayed 7 nights, and we ask to have couscous 3 times, really is an exceptionally one.

Huge thank you to all the team

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I came to the Kasbah to celebrate finishing my degree so I wanted somewhere to wind down. The Kasbah was the perfect choice for us, very relaxing environment, charming and friendly staff with the right combination of attentiveness and respect for your privacy. The rooms are beautiful, we stayed in the Zagora suite and it was simply stunning. Whilst some may not like the fact that it is a 20 min cab ride into the medina, for us this was ideal as the hustle and bustle of Marrakech was a tad overwhelming so being able to return to the tranquility of the Kasbah was fantastic. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool and the salad and brochette lunches accompanied by some surprisingly good Moroccan wine were divine. On our first night we returned to our room to find it lit by candles and scattered with rose petals. There are some areas that could do with a little updating but on balance, I cannot recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Kasbah Agounsane
Kasbah Agounsane
#224 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kasbah Agafay
Kasbah Agafay
#187 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#96 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#105 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
9.2 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#11 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Ilham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Ilham

Address: Km 13, Route de Fes, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #277 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Ilham 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a stunning natural setting, facing the Atlas Mountains, the Kasbah Dar Ilham welcomes you to an unpretentious luxury that combines Moroccan knowledge with the modern comfort of the services provided. Alain and his devoted team, attentive and discreet, welcome you and will turn your stay into an unforgettable experience. Luxury and simplicity: The utmost luxury resides in life's simple things and happiness is the combination of all small pleasures, like relaxing by our wonderful swimming pool of 72 x 26 ft, heated in winter for your greater comfort, or enjoying your well-being in our Jacuzzi for up to 6 people. Enjoy a delicious breakfast under the arches or in the terrace and discover the wonderful cooking concocted by Aicha and her team. You can also choose between a numerous range of different additional activities available, like golfing (3 courses just 15 minutes away), horse riding, SUV riding, jet skiing, quad, kart racing and many others. Marrakech's well-being: Your stay wouldn't be complete without a special moment for yourself in which Nawal, our beautician/masseuse will make you discover the advantages of a traditional Hammam and the secrets of numerous cares and Oriental massages. Everything here is made for you to have pleasant moments, to discover the traditions and the culture of Morocco, and to make you leave full of charming memories... So that you come back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Ilham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Ilham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.