We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at this Riad in Morocco ♡” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 13, Route de Fes, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #297 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay at this Riad in Morocco ♡”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed in the Riad for three nights in March 2013...lovely peaceful hotel, great service, friendly and attentive staff who do anything to make your stay comfortable, helpful driver who wanted to make our stay in Morocco the best possible. Definitely one to come back to if I'm ever in Morocco again.

About 20 minutes from the hustle and bustle of the Medina which is a nice contrast to what can be slightly overwhelming as it is very busy. Great transport provided by the hotel to make this distance irrelevant.

Thanks to the staff (Aziz, Imane, Ahmed, Hamid, Adil and the lovely lady in the spa) for a lovely time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    64
    14
    8
    1
See reviews for
169
353
17
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The kasbah is so pretty! The pool and hot tub are great. The staff so attentive and helpful we could not fault the place. The tv in our room was not working and we were moved to a better room to make sure we could take advantage of all that is advertised as available. The food was utterly delicious! We ate every night we were here, we spent 4 nights here after spending 4 nights in the centre of Marrakech which is completely manic!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The staff are pleasant and efficient but this is a very remote 20 minute drive out of the city and down dairy track, The Kasbah was closed and thus so was the large pool a d the hot tub, We were the only people there for most of our visit. The gym is very antiquated and the equipment mostly broken.
The rooms in the rind mat be authentic but for this read cold dark and damp, the cooking was excellent and the staff very friendly and attentive, We moved to a more modern hotel after 3 nights as we needed a touch of luxury by then!
Despite my telling the checkout that we had used a can from the minibar and being assured that this was added to our bill, it was not and we were 'pursued' for the 3 euros despite having paid a bill for over 600 euros for our stay.
Overall,authentic and remote and quiet but not as advertised with extensive renovations in progress and fairly primitive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darilham, Manager at Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Madame,

Thank you for the positive aspects you mention in your review. Concerning the other part of your comment, we would like to explain some points so that anyone can hear both sides of the story.

- The Kasbah was closed due to extensive renovations in progress. If we cannot organize this renovation in January, when the Kasbah is empty during our off-peak period when could we do? As far as I know you had a booking for the Riad Dar Ilham with its own heated swimming-pool, you did not booked the Kasbah since it was closed at this period.

- The guests’ experiences at Riad & Kasbah Dar Ilham are always seen as luxurious, nice and authentic and we are sorry that you found it as “fairly primitive”, we respect your point of view but we do not think that our gym is “very antiquated and the equipment mostly broken”, the gym is quite new and we fix the equipments every month.

- The drinks that you have been pursued for were taken after the check out and our staff does its job when asking you to pay something that has been actually consumed. Obsiously, we offer some extras to our guests but it is also normal to mention the drinks taken in the mini bar.

We hope to welcome you next time in our beautiful Kasbah after renovation so that our staff can offer you a beautiful, authentic, nice touch of luxury experience.

All the best,

Asma AMMOR – General Manager
Riad & Kasbah Dar Ilham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is a very quiet small hotel outside of Marrakech.
There is not anyone fighting for the sun beds, there are no fag butts all over the place or people getting drunk, it is delightful. Although you can have a nice bottle of wine around the pool if you wanted.
We chose it because of the reviews on trip advisor and the size of the pool, our 11 year old loved it. It did not dissapoint.
The Hotel is spotless and not a noisy hoover is sight, it is all done by hand. The room was decorated in the Moroccon style.
The staff were very helpful and because of the size could respond to queries almost immediatly
The food was very good and they would ask you every day what you wanted for the evening meal. Try the cous cous and the soup it was very tasty. I wish they had a menu to give you an idea of the food they can cook as you have no idea what to order when you first arrive.
We had a Tour of Marrakech with Jamal, we booked him through the hotel and had to give a few days notice. We took the complimentry 11am bus and met him in Marrakech. He spent the afternoon with us - wear some comfortable shoes as there is a lot of walking. I highly recommend him if it is your first time to marrakech and he was not too expensive, he was very knowledgeable. It is very easy to get lost in the back alleys. He gave us his number 00212611320874.
We also did the tour to the Atlas Mountains to the waterfalls - if your going to see waterfalls you will be dissapointed but the whole experience was very enjoyable and worth going on.
On both trips take change with you for tipping and money to pay a guide in the mountains.
The weather in October is very changeable, take a light rain mac even if the weather sites on the computer say its not going to rain. It did rain when we were there and I went onto about 10 sites all saying sunshine for the whole week.
We all had a very relaxing week.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

First of all I would like to thank all the staff there <Aisha Ali, Imane ...> this was our second visit to Dar Ilham because our first was so fabulous!

This time we are back with the big family, my daughter, my sister and her boyfriend, my brother and my elderly parents and they were looked after so well by the staff.

Honestly it is truly beautiful! As my last review says, they are a bit further and you do wonder where on earth you are going? Just take it easy; you will be in absolute heaven on earth!!!!

The hot tub is very relaxing, the pool was as clear as could be and the Spa was professional.

Food was fantastic, we stayed 7 nights, and we ask to have couscous 3 times, really is an exceptionally one.

Huge thank you to all the team

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I came to the Kasbah to celebrate finishing my degree so I wanted somewhere to wind down. The Kasbah was the perfect choice for us, very relaxing environment, charming and friendly staff with the right combination of attentiveness and respect for your privacy. The rooms are beautiful, we stayed in the Zagora suite and it was simply stunning. Whilst some may not like the fact that it is a 20 min cab ride into the medina, for us this was ideal as the hustle and bustle of Marrakech was a tad overwhelming so being able to return to the tranquility of the Kasbah was fantastic. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool and the salad and brochette lunches accompanied by some surprisingly good Moroccan wine were divine. On our first night we returned to our room to find it lit by candles and scattered with rose petals. There are some areas that could do with a little updating but on balance, I cannot recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayedhere for 5 nights end of June. The hotel is very nice; it's clean, spacious room, beautiful swimminpool and garden area, and a nice relaxing atmosphere. The staff is very helpful and kind. We really appreciated being able to check in early, and also t keep our room all day the day when we checked out. This rarely happens in any hotel, or at least they will ask you to pay for another night. needles to say, this was for free here. The only thing we liked less was the food. We found it to be quite expensive for what it was. You did not have a choice but only one dish was available per day, and eating both lunch and dinner in the hotel became a bit boring as the food was almost identical. A wider choice would have been appreciated, and prices should really go down a bit to reflect the quality. We ate out in a few very nice restaurants in the neighbourhodd of Hivernage, at the pirces were very simialr to the prices att he hotel - but the diference in choice and quality was huge. All in all, I would still warmly recommend this hotel. It is a veery nice place to return to after a couple of hours in the crazy mess which Marrakech is!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham

Address: Km 13, Route de Fes, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #297 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a stunning natural setting, facing the Atlas Mountains, the Kasbah Dar Ilham welcomes you to an unpretentious luxury that combines Moroccan knowledge with the modern comfort of the services provided. Alain and his devoted team, attentive and discreet, welcome you and will turn your stay into an unforgettable experience. Luxury and simplicity: The utmost luxury resides in life's simple things and happiness is the combination of all small pleasures, like relaxing by our wonderful swimming pool of 72 x 26 ft, heated in winter for your greater comfort, or enjoying your well-being in our Jacuzzi for up to 6 people. Enjoy a delicious breakfast under the arches or in the terrace and discover the wonderful cooking concocted by Aïcha and her team. You can also choose between a numerous range of different additional activities available, like golfing (3 courses just 15 minutes away), horse riding, SUV riding, jet skiing, quad, kart racing and many others. Marrakech's well-being: Your stay wouldn't be complete without a special moment for yourself in which Nawal, our beautician/masseuse will make you discover the advantages of a traditional Hammam and the secrets of numerous cares and Oriental massages. Everything here is made for you to have pleasant moments, to discover the traditions and the culture of Morocco, and to make you leave full of charming memories... so that you come back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.