We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful calm oasis and a place to recover from the madness of Marrakech !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham to your Saves list
Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 13, Route de Fes, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #284 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
brighton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful calm oasis and a place to recover from the madness of Marrakech !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The kasbah is so pretty! The pool and hot tub are great. The staff so attentive and helpful we could not fault the place. The tv in our room was not working and we were moved to a better room to make sure we could take advantage of all that is advertised as available. The food was utterly delicious! We ate every night we were here, we spent 4 nights here after spending 4 nights in the centre of Marrakech which is completely manic!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    64
    14
    8
    1
See reviews for
169
356
17
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The staff are pleasant and efficient but this is a very remote 20 minute drive out of the city and down dairy track, The Kasbah was closed and thus so was the large pool a d the hot tub, We were the only people there for most of our visit. The gym is very antiquated and the equipment mostly broken.
The rooms in the rind mat be authentic but for this read cold dark and damp, the cooking was excellent and the staff very friendly and attentive, We moved to a more modern hotel after 3 nights as we needed a touch of luxury by then!
Despite my telling the checkout that we had used a can from the minibar and being assured that this was added to our bill, it was not and we were 'pursued' for the 3 euros despite having paid a bill for over 600 euros for our stay.
Overall,authentic and remote and quiet but not as advertised with extensive renovations in progress and fairly primitive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darilham, Manager at Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Madame,

Thank you for the positive aspects you mention in your review. Concerning the other part of your comment, we would like to explain some points so that anyone can hear both sides of the story.

- The Kasbah was closed due to extensive renovations in progress. If we cannot organize this renovation in January, when the Kasbah is empty during our off-peak period when could we do? As far as I know you had a booking for the Riad Dar Ilham with its own heated swimming-pool, you did not booked the Kasbah since it was closed at this period.

- The guests’ experiences at Riad & Kasbah Dar Ilham are always seen as luxurious, nice and authentic and we are sorry that you found it as “fairly primitive”, we respect your point of view but we do not think that our gym is “very antiquated and the equipment mostly broken”, the gym is quite new and we fix the equipments every month.

- The drinks that you have been pursued for were taken after the check out and our staff does its job when asking you to pay something that has been actually consumed. Obsiously, we offer some extras to our guests but it is also normal to mention the drinks taken in the mini bar.

We hope to welcome you next time in our beautiful Kasbah after renovation so that our staff can offer you a beautiful, authentic, nice touch of luxury experience.

All the best,

Asma AMMOR – General Manager
Riad & Kasbah Dar Ilham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is a very quiet small hotel outside of Marrakech.
There is not anyone fighting for the sun beds, there are no fag butts all over the place or people getting drunk, it is delightful. Although you can have a nice bottle of wine around the pool if you wanted.
We chose it because of the reviews on trip advisor and the size of the pool, our 11 year old loved it. It did not dissapoint.
The Hotel is spotless and not a noisy hoover is sight, it is all done by hand. The room was decorated in the Moroccon style.
The staff were very helpful and because of the size could respond to queries almost immediatly
The food was very good and they would ask you every day what you wanted for the evening meal. Try the cous cous and the soup it was very tasty. I wish they had a menu to give you an idea of the food they can cook as you have no idea what to order when you first arrive.
We had a Tour of Marrakech with Jamal, we booked him through the hotel and had to give a few days notice. We took the complimentry 11am bus and met him in Marrakech. He spent the afternoon with us - wear some comfortable shoes as there is a lot of walking. I highly recommend him if it is your first time to marrakech and he was not too expensive, he was very knowledgeable. It is very easy to get lost in the back alleys. He gave us his number 00212611320874.
We also did the tour to the Atlas Mountains to the waterfalls - if your going to see waterfalls you will be dissapointed but the whole experience was very enjoyable and worth going on.
On both trips take change with you for tipping and money to pay a guide in the mountains.
The weather in October is very changeable, take a light rain mac even if the weather sites on the computer say its not going to rain. It did rain when we were there and I went onto about 10 sites all saying sunshine for the whole week.
We all had a very relaxing week.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

First of all I would like to thank all the staff there <Aisha Ali, Imane ...> this was our second visit to Dar Ilham because our first was so fabulous!

This time we are back with the big family, my daughter, my sister and her boyfriend, my brother and my elderly parents and they were looked after so well by the staff.

Honestly it is truly beautiful! As my last review says, they are a bit further and you do wonder where on earth you are going? Just take it easy; you will be in absolute heaven on earth!!!!

The hot tub is very relaxing, the pool was as clear as could be and the Spa was professional.

Food was fantastic, we stayed 7 nights, and we ask to have couscous 3 times, really is an exceptionally one.

Huge thank you to all the team

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I came to the Kasbah to celebrate finishing my degree so I wanted somewhere to wind down. The Kasbah was the perfect choice for us, very relaxing environment, charming and friendly staff with the right combination of attentiveness and respect for your privacy. The rooms are beautiful, we stayed in the Zagora suite and it was simply stunning. Whilst some may not like the fact that it is a 20 min cab ride into the medina, for us this was ideal as the hustle and bustle of Marrakech was a tad overwhelming so being able to return to the tranquility of the Kasbah was fantastic. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool and the salad and brochette lunches accompanied by some surprisingly good Moroccan wine were divine. On our first night we returned to our room to find it lit by candles and scattered with rose petals. There are some areas that could do with a little updating but on balance, I cannot recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayedhere for 5 nights end of June. The hotel is very nice; it's clean, spacious room, beautiful swimminpool and garden area, and a nice relaxing atmosphere. The staff is very helpful and kind. We really appreciated being able to check in early, and also t keep our room all day the day when we checked out. This rarely happens in any hotel, or at least they will ask you to pay for another night. needles to say, this was for free here. The only thing we liked less was the food. We found it to be quite expensive for what it was. You did not have a choice but only one dish was available per day, and eating both lunch and dinner in the hotel became a bit boring as the food was almost identical. A wider choice would have been appreciated, and prices should really go down a bit to reflect the quality. We ate out in a few very nice restaurants in the neighbourhodd of Hivernage, at the pirces were very simialr to the prices att he hotel - but the diference in choice and quality was huge. All in all, I would still warmly recommend this hotel. It is a veery nice place to return to after a couple of hours in the crazy mess which Marrakech is!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

As always, I chose the Riad Dar Ilham after reading other user’s comments made on Trip Advisor, I was not disappointed. The Riad was quick to respond to my e-mail regarding airport pick up which was a great relief, our taxi driver Hamid was welcoming and had a good sense of humour. We arrived late but they organised a meal for us (I would suggest the salad only if you arrive late, the portions are very big).

They had also responded to my request of a room on the first floor in the Riad, which was a little small but stunning and full of charm. We found the fact the rooms safe was not attached to the wall and the Riad rooms didn't have locks just beautiful brass sliding locks a little disconcerting, however we realised it was us bringing our Western anxieties on holiday with us and our belongings remained safe, you can ask the receptionists to leave any money in their safe should you so wish.

The room had one of the biggest beds I have ever seen and I’ve stayed in the states. The shower room was fab although the shower was a little unpredictable but it was part of its charm. You will get to know your partner very well in the room, with quaint little wooden doors to the toilet, lol. A tip would be if you don't want little birds in your room close the shower room window, leave it open if you do, they do fly out again.

For the majority of the time we had the Riad to ourselves including the pool, however you can use the other pool attached to the Kasbah accommodation.

We decided to use the taxi service a lot (didn't use the free bus shuttle, too early) we booked a half day tour, which can be flexible if you wish to look at other sites on the itinerary (be wary of buying too many spices) This was a wise option until we got our bearings and could venture in on our own.

Just arrange things the night before and if you book things a couple of days in advance just confirm the night before.

I would recommend going to the Ensemble Artesanal on Ave Mohammed by the town hall it was beautiful with little workshops and all the goods you could wish to buy at fixed prices.

I would suggest organising a trip on a Saturday, as there is a weekly food market with loud speakers with traders selling their stock all day so if a quiet day by the pool is what you want you wont get it on Saturdays. Venture over to the market it’s an eye opening experience and better than Tesco…!

There is a trip for a camel ride, I would wait until you go on camels in a more authentic environment as this felt a bit like riding a camel in a car park with palm tree’s.

In relation to food, we quickly found out portions are huge. The food is expensive but tasty. We never ordered Lunch as it was too hot and in the evening we ordered the tagine for one, which was plenty for two. I normally don't eat meat when in Africa but I did here and no tummy problems at all.

Another suggestion if you staying in the Riad you can ask to use the seating there to eat your meal if you want a more romantic private setting.

I think there is enough documented in other travellers accounts about the food, however I would suggest that you get a taxi into town and the hotel can book a restaurant of your choice (buy a good guide) we also found out they will open early for you too.

It may be a tad more expensive but a little variety was good, and then you can wander into the city square then just call the hotel to arrange to be picked up which takes up to 30 mins.

We found a fabulous Sushi and Thai restaurant Katsura 1 Rue Oum Errabia (0524434358) and I know your thinking ‘sushi in Africa’ but trust me im a sushi snob and this was wonderful, we went twice.

The Dar Ilham staff especially Layla, Iman and Hamid the driver made our stay easier and were all very helpful, courteous yet not intrusive. I would highly recommend this Riad for lush peaceful relaxation and reflection yet an opportunity to dive into the wonderful hectic madness that is Marrakech centre is available too.

Ps look up at night ☺

Pps if you buy dh’s at the airport keep the receipt or they will not change them back (lesson learnt the hard way, or you can just sell them on e-bay) ☺

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor in the Riad, people use downstairs to sit. The Riad rooms dont hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham

Address: Km 13, Route de Fes, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a stunning natural setting, facing the Atlas Mountains, the Kasbah Dar Ilham welcomes you to an unpretentious luxury that combines Moroccan knowledge with the modern comfort of the services provided. Alain and his devoted team, attentive and discreet, welcome you and will turn your stay into an unforgettable experience. Luxury and simplicity: The utmost luxury resides in life's simple things and happiness is the combination of all small pleasures, like relaxing by our wonderful swimming pool of 72 x 26 ft, heated in winter for your greater comfort, or enjoying your well-being in our Jacuzzi for up to 6 people. Enjoy a delicious breakfast under the arches or in the terrace and discover the wonderful cooking concocted by Aicha and her team. You can also choose between a numerous range of different additional activities available, like golfing (3 courses just 15 minutes away), horse riding, SUV riding, jet skiing, quad, kart racing and many others. Marrakech's well-being: Your stay wouldn't be complete without a special moment for yourself in which Nawal, our beautician/masseuse will make you discover the advantages of a traditional Hammam and the secrets of numerous cares and Oriental massages. Everything here is made for you to have pleasant moments, to discover the traditions and the culture of Morocco, and to make you leave full of charming memories... So that you come back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.