We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely 1st class relaxation and highly personal service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham to your Saves list
Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 13, Route de Fes, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #288 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
uk
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely 1st class relaxation and highly personal service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

The centre of marrakech is altogether full on, I really advise you to find a hotel outside of the centre, and then plan your excursions into town on your own terms. Riad and kasbah dar ilham, provide the perfect way to do this, and to make sure you get to relax, and enjoy the very best in terms of moroccan hospitality. The riad itself is stunning in design, and authentically morrocan in every aspect. The location, approx 15 mins from the centre, is really tranquil, and the lush green gardens and fantastic pool, provide the perfect setting to relax. Alain and his team specialise in personal service and will care for your every need to make sure your stay is memorable. The food in the hotel is typically Moroccan, and very high quality, the lovely breakfast certainly gets you off to a great start!! In short, if your looking for an incredibly relaxing base from which to visit marrakech, for highly attentive personal service, and an authentic morrocan experience in terms of both accommodation and food, this really is for you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    64
    14
    8
    1
See reviews for
169
355
17
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol. England
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Hi all,

Just returned from a really lovely, excellent stay at the Hotel Kasbah Dar IIham - we went for 3 days and didnt want to come home!! From the moment we got there until we left we had really lovely time and i am definately going to go back next year and take a group of us to celebrate my wedding anniversary. I was worried at first that the hotel was too far away from Marrekech but it only took 20 minutes and i was so glad that i had booked the hotel on the recommendation from all the positive reviews on trip advisor. It was such a welcome oasis after the craziness of Marrekech and from hearing from other travellers/holiday makers we had the best hotel!! : ) The hotel runs you back and forth to marrekech (i can't remember how much it was but it was very reasonable - the trips to and fro the airport are included but all other taxi journeys in their people carrier are charged)

We were three girls, 2 of us shared the superking double bed and one slept on the sofa bed (if i had one negative thing to say it was that the sofa bed needed to be upgraded as it was a bit uncomfortable but this was the only negative from the whole stay).

Our room overlooked the pool and had a balcony where you could sit out.

The room was lovely and cleaned daily to within an inch of its life (the whole hotel was really clean) as i say a big double bed, tv, dvd (there are lots of DVD's which you can borrow - they are kept in reception - it was nice one evening to stay in, eat and lounge in the white fluffy robes and watch a dvd!), the bathroom was lovely, very morrocon, mosaic tiles, really pretty. Shower and bath.

On our first night we ordered a meal in the hotel - by the end of it we were pretty much lying down as we had eaten so much! Lots of dishes, all so flavoursome, all fresh ingrediants, we had a chicken tagine and lots of small dishes to go alongside it and then pancakes with this lovely orange sauce for desert. The wine also tasted good - after tasting the wine in Egypt i was a bit worried about Morrocco but it tasted good.

The food overall was amazing, the breakfast just goes on forever, everything fresh and lovely. The breakfast was included and we had it by the pool in a lovely tent.

All three of us girls had treatments in the spa, one had a hammam which i would recommend for the first day of your stay (just in case you get a bit sun burnt!) its basically a full body scrub and my friend who had it came out feeling really clean! I couldnt have that unfortunately as i was pregnant but i had a pedicure (as did my other friend) which was done really well.

The staff couldnt do enough for you, when we stayed there the place wasn't full, which was do with the recent bombings : ( The DVD in our room broke down, and we were kindly offered another room which was free to go and use and have for the night. So that meant that the third girl staying with us could sleep in the double bed to herself (lucky girl) this was with no extra charge. Faultless.

The hotel itself has one large restaurant and then a large lounge which was just beautifully decorated.

As i say, i can't rave enough and i will be going back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

I was very satisfied with my stay. The hotel was Gorgeous. The Moroccan decoration made it very mysterious . The service was wonderful thanks to the great staff. The heated pool definitely made my stay more relaxing especially after long days of site seeing. I totally recommend the guest house

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Dar ilham is a beautifully designed Moroccan villa, the rooms beautifully decorated and authentically designed with candle lit mood lighting throughout providing a more intimate feel for the evenings.

The Staff are incredibly welcoming, nothing seemed too much to ask for.

Large swimming pool and great Moroccan cuisine for our evening meals.

All in all it was a good location for chilling out

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

I must admit Kasbah Dar Ilham was not my first choice when I was choosing a hotel for our holiday in Marrakech but the large pool and the breathtaking views that I saw from the photos were quite a good draw. However, my main concern set in when we arrived... it was far from the city/medina (about 30 minutes away). But after spending the day in Jeema L Fna, this proved to be a good thing. The location was a welcome rest from the dizzying adventure you'll get lost into as you experience the culture and people of Marrakech.

The villa is a dream. The rooms exudes character and the views... the views, breathtaking as the pictures that I saw. The difference between the atmosphere is so daunting that once you exit its gates, you're quickly submerged to the madness as there is a marketplace just outside of the villa's gates.

But perhaps the best thing about Dar Ilham are the gracious people behind it who try to cater to the client's every need.

We stayed in Meknes suite for 5 days and it was very comfortable except for the one day that there was an ongoing maintenance and for some reason, there was a smell that kept us away from the room. It was all in all a memorable holiday for me and my wife who really wanted the holiday to be a balance of culture and a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

We got married at Dar Ilham, with our guests coming in from 4 continents (Asia, America, Australia, and Europe) and everybody unanimously agreed that Dar Ilham was a gem of a find, with excellent service from Alain, the owner, Asmah, the manager, and their team of friendly and helpful staff.

We picked Dar Ilham as our wedding site because we had visited before, and stayed once, and we felt it would be a great place for guests which ranged widely in ages (6 months to 70 years old) and interests. They exceeded our expectations - they helped us find a babysitter for our guests with young kids, they were responsive to our guests varying needs like meals, car transfers, spa requests, and late night drinks request in the lounge. Specifically for the wedding, they were tremendously helpful in a lot of logsitics that we could not handle because we were not in Morocco, eg finding the type of musicians that we liked even though it was new to them (we gave them the name of the restaurant where we had heard the music and they followed up and hired the musicians for us), and ensuring the event ran smoothly. It was important to us that the food was excellent, and they delivered on that as well - different guests have told us that they had their favorite beef or chicken tagine in Morocco at our wedding. They also do a mean chicken pastilla, tabouli salad, and beef keftas. Not to be discounted is the trustworthiness of the staff - our room was in the 4-room riad, which have no door locks, and we left our room unlocked for our entire stay without any incident. Last but not least, they also have excellent local contacts that helped us with organizing events outside of Dar Ilham, eg they managed to get us reservations at a popular restaurant in Guéliz (new town) when we couldn't get in touch, and they had an excellent transport agency that handled our very complicated transport needs because we had guests staying in various riads in the medina as well as at Dar Ilham.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Dar Ilham was the keystone of a superb week in Marrakech for me, my wife and 6-year-old daughter. I recommend it fully to anyone wishing to visit Marrakech while staying outside the city for an extra measure of calm relaxation.

You never quite know what you are going to get when researching and reserving entirely on line for a place you have never visited, but everything about Dar Ilham was not only just what we were hoping for, but also exactly what we expected based on their web site and the photos and reviews on Trip Advisor.

We were looking for a comfortable, quiet resort for a week of holiday during the US public school spring break, and needed enough space for ourselves and our very active daughter. A pool was critical, as we planned to let her swim during a large part of each day to store up energy and goodwill for touring the medina and other sites not likely to hold the attention of a kindergartener indefinitely.

The pool, grounds, and gestalt of Dar Ilham were just the thing...what you see is what you get, and you get quite a lot. There are two buildings...the Kasbah and the Riad...on the property. We stayed in the Riad, in two different rooms, both excellent, though by my standards the beds were too firm. Both were very comfortable...en suite toilet and shower, minifridge, A/C, moroccan decor, open windows, the sound of birds in the morning. Each building has its own pool and dining tent right nearby (the pool at the Kasbah is heated, the pool at the Riad not) , so you can tumble out of bed in the morning, wander into the tent for your breakfast (traditional Moroccan fare, quite good), and, in our case, let your daughter swim, ramble freely around the property and make friends with the other children. Stay all day and have lunch and dinner too, or go into town (about 20-25 minutes by car to the Medina, Gueliz, less to Palmeraie), visit the Atlas mountains, golf, go quadding or riding, etc. There is also a very interesting Berber market literally just outside the walls of the property on Saturday, btw, well worth a trip.

Though I don't believe Dar Ilham caters specifically for families, it is perfect for them. There were mostly other families with kids from 3-16 years old during our stay, which as I mentioned was during the school holidays.

The staff speak mostly French, but also fairly good English. Hassan was particularly helpful, and his English was excellent. The property is very well maintained, clean and comfortable, and also feels very secure. Though we did not use it, the exercise room is pretty well-equipped, in a separate building on the property. There are also lots of sitting areas, 2 with large screen TV, videos to borrow and satellite tv. As an added bonus, laundry service is included.

Room Tip: Consult with Hassan
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham

Address: Km 13, Route de Fes, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a stunning natural setting, facing the Atlas Mountains, the Kasbah Dar Ilham welcomes you to an unpretentious luxury that combines Moroccan knowledge with the modern comfort of the services provided. Alain and his devoted team, attentive and discreet, welcome you and will turn your stay into an unforgettable experience. Luxury and simplicity: The utmost luxury resides in life's simple things and happiness is the combination of all small pleasures, like relaxing by our wonderful swimming pool of 72 x 26 ft, heated in winter for your greater comfort, or enjoying your well-being in our Jacuzzi for up to 6 people. Enjoy a delicious breakfast under the arches or in the terrace and discover the wonderful cooking concocted by Aïcha and her team. You can also choose between a numerous range of different additional activities available, like golfing (3 courses just 15 minutes away), horse riding, SUV riding, jet skiing, quad, kart racing and many others. Marrakech's well-being: Your stay wouldn't be complete without a special moment for yourself in which Nawal, our beautician/masseuse will make you discover the advantages of a traditional Hammam and the secrets of numerous cares and Oriental massages. Everything here is made for you to have pleasant moments, to discover the traditions and the culture of Morocco, and to make you leave full of charming memories... so that you come back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kasbah Dar Ilham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.