We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marrakech March 2012” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Mogador Menzah

Save Saved
You added Ryad Mogador Menzah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ryad Mogador Menzah
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Mohammed VI, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #386 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Marrakech March 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Good:
Large room with gorgeous bed
Cleaning service was excellent! Hotel itself was generally very clean
Very nice décor throughout
Friendly and helpful staff
Nice breakfast buffet
Currency exchange at a good rate in reception

Bad:
Pool was much too cold to swim in (although we did go out of season...)
The restaurant's lunch and dinner menus were disappointing
We had a broken shower fitting which no one fixed because they didn't seem to know what we were talking about

Location-wise it is a 20-30 minute walk into town, which could be a positive or negative depending on your preference and it's a little bit hidden away from the main hustle and bustle which personally I found to be a plus.
There are several routes to be taken into the main city both the new and old parts with lovely shady boulevards lined with orange trees.
As it is situated so close to a main road there are lots of lovely restaurants and cafés close by and an endless stream of cabbies eager to take you anywhere (make sure to haggle before getting in... if they're stubborn walk away and the price drops dramatically).

The staff's English wasn't fantastic but they were always keen to help and very patient and generally very friendly and welcoming.

We didn't try any of the spa treatments as they were a bit pricey for our tightly budgeted holiday.

All in all a very pleasant hotel with a nice atmosphere. Would recommend for all types of holidaymakers except families as we did struggle to find a supermarket and the pool was far too cold for little ones (again though this could have been our bad luck and bear in mind we did go a year ago)

Not to mention we got fantastic value for money!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    42
    31
    21
    14
See reviews for
36
41
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Visit during Feb 2010

I visited in a group of 16 lads for a stag do and I only have praise for this hotel. It's not really a hotel, more like apartments. Granted we visited in Feb when it was warm us but cold for the locals so we didn't use the a/c as other have complained about, the kitchen was only used to clean cups, the cooker wasn't used once and the fridge was only used to keep drinks cold.

The price is amazingly cheap for what you get. We paid £40 per room per night for four guys sleeping per room. The bedroom had two singles, all clean and tidy, the bathroom was fine and the rooms were tidied daily. The other two guys can sleep in the massive lounge which has seating in a U-shape with tables, stools which comfortably held all 16 of us!

We left to go out clubbing very late at night and arrived early morning. We never had problems with coming and going. We ate together once in the restaurant and it was fine. The local Hammams were visited frequently by the group all within walking distance with shops and good restaurants close by.

We hardly saw the staff but didn't expect to as did not consider the place a hotel of any description, just apartments. The views were great, taxis cheap, market and nightclubs close by, Marrakech is great place to visit. No trouble from the locals either, in fact a local guide met us a few times.

In short, the venue is great for big groups going out but not suitable at all for families or if you intend to spend days or evenings at there.

Room Tip: The higher up the floors the better views you have
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
173 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel is off the main road so it's not easy to find. Taxi driver got us close enough so that a local resident pointed out the entrance. Menzah is a "condo hotel" - half of the building is the hotel, the other half, an apartment complex for middle class Moroccans. We liked being immersed in this neighborhood. Room was clean, spacious, comfortable. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very good value for what we paid. I recommend it for those who do not need to be pampered, who chose to spend their money on other things. I enjoyed my week at the Menzah and would definitely stay again.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just finished a tour in Morocco which had 3 separate nights stay at this hotel. Each time there was something wrong with airconditioning (which in over 30c heat, you can't sleep at night!), had no towels available at all (had to use bath mats), no toilet paper or an uncleaned bedroom. Not only did this mean 3 different room changes, the staff werren't particularly sorry at all. On the last night of stay took them over 2hours to find us a suitable room, with no proper working wifi at times made this an extremely long wait! They had a hotel shop which was never open & whenever you asked said 'no sorry lady is too busy'. The pool was far to small for the size of the hotel and was always overcrowded with no deck chairs available; however I did enjoy a massage from their beauty place. Would not recommend this hotel at all, do your homework and find a better one! Worst 3 nights of sleep throughout my whole tour!

Room Tip: Check rooms have working aircon, towels, toliet paper and clean sheets before unpacking, you may nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My family and I spent ten days at this hotel. I would highly recommend to stay as far away from this hotel as possible. The bedrooms are dirty, the staff are so unfriendly - we didn't see one of them smile once and to top it off the hotel is attached to private flats/apartments with dangerous people living in it. We got called 'pouts' which translates to 'prostitutes' for sunbathing in our bikinis by some extremist arabs living there which resulted to us being very insecure staying at the hotel as it lacks security and the hotels and private flats are seperated by a very short gate. One of the men who insulted us carried a bat in his hand because we argued back. Altogether there was 12 of us so as a result i can justify that ALL rooms are dirty. Bed sheets have stains all over them. The fridges have a bizzare smell as if a cat died in it. Theres no words to describe how terrible the breakfast was. Half the hotel had no lights on, i dont know if it was because they were trying to save energy or because they're stingy. Every night we had to ask for the pool area lights to be switched on so we could relax there at night. I generally had a good time because i was in good company atleast but services, location, hygiene, food etc etc were not acceptable atall.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Whorst hotel ever not acepptable staff, the rooms was dirty no pillows dirty sheets smell like the staff have been use the kichen to cook and dine, we check out after one night ! and we have book 3 rooms no service at all. Nothing was working no aircon in marrakech is like sleeping in hell. Dont ruine your vaccation on this hotel morgador Menzah. We check in at ryad morgador Agdal insted great hotel so nothing wrong with ryad morgador only this Mezah hotel was a terrible nigthmare..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohammedia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I truly enjoyed my stay at this apartment hotel situated in a quiet cull de sac off one of the main streets of Marrakech. The rooms offer an open plan lounge with comfortable modern Moroccan style sofa's where you can relax and watch tv, a small yet practical kitchenette and a balcony from where you can enjoy the view over the beautiful pool. The bedroom was spacious too with ample closet space. The bathroom with shower was clean and practical. The breakfast buffet has a good selection of bread, roles, fresh fruit, (scrambled) eggs and typical Moroccan extras. The rooftop terrace offers a spectacular view of the city and the mountains in the distance. When I thought I had a problem with my tv, reception sent a technician up in less than minutes. The hotel manager struck me as super attentive to all his customers! Good value for money!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryad Mogador Menzah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Mogador Menzah

Address: Avenue Mohammed VI, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#153 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ryad Mogador Menzah 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, CityZen, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Fastbooking so you can book your Ryad Mogador Menzah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Mogador Menzah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad Mogador Menzah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.